We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick with what you like”

Padre Island Brewing Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "The gastropub movement is well-represented on South Padre Island at Padre Island Brewing Company. Rotating draft selections include several styles of handcrafted suds; Texas Long Board Lager, Tailing Red Amber, and Speckled Trout Stout are among my favorites, when available. If you can’t make up your mind, get the “Sampler Tray,” a tasting of all five beers currently on tap. The menu is extensive—“peel and eat” shrimp, spicy wings, and fried calamari are popular appetizers, as are the chips-and-guacamole combo, ceviche, and nachos. The bar has won an award for its pizza, but I recommend the burgers. If you’re really hungry, order the Texas Burger, a double-patty, one-pound monster topped with jalapenos, mushrooms, and cheese. From the seafood menu, beer-battered shrimp is an obvious choice, and the tuna and flounder are also excellent." From Texas Highways Magazine, June 2015
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stick with what you like”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

First time the cheeseburgers were fantastic. Decided to give them a second try and experience different items. Ceviche (with cooked shrimp) was overpriced & tasteless, making it way too spicy doesn't hide the fact that it is bad. Then ordered their Calzone with peppers and pepperoni. Pepperoni was stacked like cheap turkey...kind of sickening. Crust was obviously prepared in advance and microwaved or something to make it soggy...Marinara sauce not too bad, but too sweet for my taste. NO RICOTTA CHEESE! It's not a calzone unless it has ricotta cheese. On the plus side they have neat pint glasses for their overpriced microbrewery beers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UltraKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    231
    105
    35
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Good beers, excellent pizza. Waitress had to come back twice to ask us what we ordered on our pizza (maybe she should have written it down instead of just trying to remember it). However, the food was good enough that we came back a second time for their shrimp basket. The shrimp was suppose to be beer battered but it seemed more like just an ordinary breading. The shrimp itself was tasty however. Service seemed a little slow, but they were busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tskuziej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice Selection of Beers; Amazing Crab Cakes”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Cos was our server and he was great. Very personable and accommodating.
We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer. Two cakes, very tasty and just the right amount to start the meal.
I ordered a flight of their five top beers, a bock, an India pale ale, a light ale, a wheat and a stout. All sat very nicely on my palate, even the wheat which I don't usually care for. My favorites were the light ale and the stout, both of which had a great taste without being overpowering.
For lunch, Peggy had the chicken wrap, which came with a very tasty ham and bean soup. The wrap was good, and a good-sized portion.
I had the fish basket, deep-fried pollack with sides of garlic mashed potatoes and cole slaw. The fish was good. Not my favorite batter but properly cooked. Potatoes were quite good, garlicky but not overpowering. The slaw was ok.
Nice atmosphere in the place, with gunny sacks from the hops nailed to the ceiling and the beer brewing tanks behind the bar.
Peggy and I both enjoyed it and would easily go back. There's lots more to try on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This menu needs help!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I recently visited SPI and we decided to try the Padre Island Brewing Co. We were NOT impressed with their menu!! Very basic pub fare!!! With that said they could not cook my husband's burger correctly and it needed to be sent back twice!!! I had finished my salad by the time the second burger was brought out...
We were totally disapointed!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
207 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Beer”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stopped for lunch and stayed for a few excellent micro brewws -- frindly staff and great food made this a memorable experience

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viking226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Island Brewing Co. also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Padre Island Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing