We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, so-so food”

Padre Island Brewing Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "The gastropub movement is well-represented on South Padre Island at Padre Island Brewing Company. Rotating draft selections include several styles of handcrafted suds; Texas Long Board Lager, Tailing Red Amber, and Speckled Trout Stout are among my favorites, when available. If you can’t make up your mind, get the “Sampler Tray,” a tasting of all five beers currently on tap. The menu is extensive—“peel and eat” shrimp, spicy wings, and fried calamari are popular appetizers, as are the chips-and-guacamole combo, ceviche, and nachos. The bar has won an award for its pizza, but I recommend the burgers. If you’re really hungry, order the Texas Burger, a double-patty, one-pound monster topped with jalapenos, mushrooms, and cheese. From the seafood menu, beer-battered shrimp is an obvious choice, and the tuna and flounder are also excellent." From Texas Highways Magazine, June 2015
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great beer, so-so food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went for the beer, and weren't disappointed. I had the Tidal Wave Wheat, and my wife the Pelagic Porter. Top marks for both. Also had the happy hour appetizers and shrimp tacos, but we weren't as thrilled with these. The appetizers were really deep fried (calamari, crab stuffed mushrooms, and crab cakes), though the red pepper dip was lethal! The shrimp tacos were far from the best we've had on the island (small shrimp, fried tacos), and when er go back we'll stick to their burgers! The beer is definitely worth a return engagement, and the service was good. We left at around 5:45pm, and there was already a line-up, on a Wednesday. Go early!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bankerboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    235
    108
    35
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Cheap prices and great food!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had their specialty soups and I had a shrimp taco and a local beer. We found everything delicious and the prices were really reasonable! The waiter wanted everything perfect and brought out samples to make sure that we were pleased with both our beer choice and soup!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard, Colorado
Level Contributor
273 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Speckled Trout Stout is the best”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The wife and I enjoyed a great evening at the Padre Island Brewing Company. I always do my research before I go to a restaurant. This restaurant did not let us down. We had the shrimp basket and the combo basket. The fries were fabulous and plenty of shrimp to take home for another day. I chased my meal with a Speckled Trout Stout that had a chocolate/coffee taste which really complimented the deep-fried fish filets. Max did a great job working our table and took time to describe some local info. He particularly took time to answer some questions about the magnificent bridge to the island. You have to try the brews and food at the Padre Island Brewing Company - we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beer and ribs!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great night, happy hour beers, ribs melting in my mouth. The local beer was great! It was a unanimous 5 from all four of us!

Helpful?
Thank Pharvey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, IA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best fresh cooked fish ever”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times over the last 15 years. Every time I have visited Padre Island I ate at this restaurant at least once. It has always been my favorite place on the Island for food and microbrewed beer. On my most recent visit in December 2012, it was a good as ever and is still my favorite restaurant on the Island. On the last visit I was here with my husband and mom and dad and sister and her husband and eight-year old daugher. We took fresh fish that we caught that day to this restaurant and they cooked it 3 different ways and offered each of us 2 sides of our choice. We also had a couple of beer samplers. The fish was seasoned and cooked perfectly. It was the best fish we have ever had. Even my husband who does not like fish actually would eat the fish the way they cooked it here. The side dishes and beer were also very good. The service was also good, especially considering the restaurant was very busy (it was a Saturday night). The atmosphere was a little loud because it was busy and crowded that night. I love this restaurant and can't wait to return the next time I visit South Padre Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drwlaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Island Brewing Co. also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Padre Island Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing