We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Poisoning on 6/19/09”

Blackbeard's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have eaten there every year for the past four years. Quality of food and service has declined rapidly for the past two years. We were very disappointed last year. This year my son in law got severe food poisoning from fried clams or oysters he ate there on 6/19/09. We ended up in the ER in Brownsville on 6/21 after he had spent all of 6/20 vomiting violently. We will NEVER go back to Blackbeards.
I will say in 2006 and 2007, I would have highly recommended this restaurant. I'm not sure if they changed cooks or what, but it is an entirely different level of quality now.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cora5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for Blackbeard's Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,580 - 1,584 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

This place is a must when visiting South Padre Island :) great food, great atmosphere, I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spaceturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Food was great and during our trip we did eat their four times lunch,dinner great lunch specials had the pan broil flouner,then another day had the blacken flounder also had the stuff crab shrimp and the crab cakes. Their is nothing that I can say bad about this place service was good and always refilled drinks with out having to ask.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suellen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The food was excellent. i try the fried shrimp. It had 9 jumbo shrimp, I asked fro rice and cole slaw. It was delicious! Huge cole slaw and my plate also had the biggest onion ring ever. My kids try the amrican hamburger and chicken strips they didn't complain so it was very good. The desserts were also great, we try the chocolate cake and brownie with ice cream. The chocolate cake was ok but the brownie was really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nascar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Great food all the way around! We ate at Blackbeard's twice (one for lunch, another for dinner). The seared tuna on the appetizer menu is exceptional! Daily specials are not to be missed. Overall a great experience, good service and value meals on the island. Worth a repeat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blackbeard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing