We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A popular spot”

Blackbeard's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver
Level Contributor
204 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A popular spot”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The first visit was for the steak special. While the price for a filet mignon was only $16.95, the quality of the beef was not that exceptional. Also, wine is NOT included in happy hour prices. The meal is large enough to feed two people, so if you can share, go ahead. Our second visit was for lunch and while the fried shrimp was very good, the cole slaw was too sweet for me. It seems, again, the portions are too big. Our servers both times were very good and we would probably go back, but we need to explore other places.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrettyPickyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    498
    242
    77
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Especially love their Monday Steak Night!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Blackbeards is a tradition on the island. Other places come and go, but Blackbeards is there and remains the same. It does not try to be fancy! I've never had a bad meal there..especially love the bourbon marinated steak! Calamari is good too! Grilled vegetable side is very tasty, house salad is okay. This is a big place and it can get crowded, especially when the winter Texans are in town.
Prices are very reasonable; there are specials every night, as well as a happy hour with reduced prices on drinks and apps.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical large fried seafood place with some atmosphere”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is an island icon, apparently, so we tried it. Excellent fried shrimp, mostly fried other items. Okay fries, great little cornbread poofs Great for lunch. Casual, informal, nothing to write home about, but worth eating here. .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nah”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

There are so many other place to choose from with awesome seafood and better choices. This place felt rushed, pricey and the food was just not very good nor was the service. Skip this one!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cahaden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Indiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch on a beautiful island”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Four us had relaxing, delightful meal for reasonable price. Service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurry so no big deal. Food was tasty and hot when served. Certainly would eat there again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blackbeard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing