We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to go to this place in the 90's. Not so great anymore!”

Blackbeard's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockwall, Tx.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Used to go to this place in the 90's. Not so great anymore!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thought while we were on a nostalgic trip back to S. Padre Island we would visit one of our old faves froms years back. We were terribly disappointed. Service was okay but all of the food was mediocre at best. Even the onion rings were greasy and overbattered so it was kinda like eating concrete. Come on guys, hard to mess up onion rings. None of the other entrees we ordered were competently done, just a tourist trap now I hate to say.
Also it was sooooo cold in there we were all miserable, even my husband. If it hadn't been so terribly windy we would have eaten outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockwallnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    489
    237
    75
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pollok, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice restaurant, great food, kind of pricey but well worth it. Need to beat the rush and get there early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianaPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“about what you'd expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant so in the event that you have to wait there is a very lovely waiting area out front. The service was good and the ambiance is kitschy island deco that is well done. The food was just okay but the menu is quite diverse and the prices aren't ridiculous. The burgers ordered were okay....nothing special. My steak was ordered well done and was still VERY pink but what was cooked was alright. The chicken fried steak was HUGE and the member of our group that ordered popcorn shrimp said it wasn't awful.
It's a fun place that won't break the bank but if you're looking for that change-your-life tasting meal look elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stuffed shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We eat here every year when we come, on the first night of our arrival to set the stage for the rest of the week. I almost always get the stuffed shrimp, which are excellent--very large shrimp, tasty stuffing, comes with all the trimmings. It can get loud here, but that is because it is so popular. While waiting, you can drink from the outside bar, and Amazin' Walter makes balloon animals for the kids. An island tradition . . .We love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun beach restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Always fun - food is not fancy but good and plentiful. Fish was fresh. Nice waitress - good service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachmommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blackbeard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing