We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient, great happy hour prices, good variety!”

Blackbeard's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Very convenient, great happy hour prices, good variety!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited Blackbeards restaurant for dinner. We went early to take advantage of the happy hour drink specials. Happy hour is from 4 PM to 6 PM daily. They offer a variety of drinks and a few Various appetizers on the happy hour menu. We Ordered the margaritas on the rocks and thought they were very good, Especially since they were only $3.50 per drink!

Blackbeards is handicap accessible With both both indoor and outdoor seating. There is plenty of Convenient parking at Black beards. Dress code is casual. The hostess and our server were very friendly and efficient.

They offer multiple specials each night in addition to the regular menu which offers many choices. All prices seemed very reasonable and the quantity was very generous.

We ordered the pearl sandwich, Which is a fried oyster poorboy.
The oysters were small but very tasty and there were many oysters on the large hoagie bun. I definitely recommend this sandwich. All sandwiches come with a choice of sides.

If you are looking for a casual dining spot with good food and good prices I recommend you stop into Blackbeards! We enjoyed our visit there and we do plan to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bargainbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    499
    242
    77
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Red Snapper”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Wife and I ate at Blackbeard's on January 22, 2013; our 42nd Wedding Anniversary.
I had the Parmesan Crusted Red Snapper, and my Wife had the Chicken Sandwich. I loved the Red Snapper, best meal I have eaten in about a year. My wife who normally eats about half, or a little over of a sandwich, ate her entire Chicken Sandwich. The meal was simply awesome. The service was great; and we really enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We ate here while attending a conference on Padre Island. The food was good with a large selection and "all you can eat" options. There was nothing outstanding about the place, but it's worth eating there. I had the grilled shrimp and it was very tasty. We had a rather large group and they quickly accommodated us. The portions were ample and nobody at our table complained.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanw956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ridiculously huge portions”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had Chicken friend steak which was pretty good,. ordering from the lunch menu and received enormous servings, two huge chicken fried steak patties with potatoes and gravy. easily enough for two meals in one. Service was good. Waitress was very attentive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nurse-Nette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had relatives come visit us in South Padre Island, and the wanted to go to Blackbeard's because they had fond memories from previous visits. However, we were not very impressed.

While there, we tried blackened shrimp, sauteed shrimp, fried shrimp, and crab stuffed shrimp. The waitress said they were all fresh gulf shrimp, but I found the shrimp at Pier 19 to be fresher at about half the price. Only the blackened shrimp were above average. The fried shrimp were very ordinary, and the crab stuffed shrimp were kind of soggy with very little crab and too much stuffing. Everything there was kind of pricy compared to other options in the vicinity. We also had a crabby waitress. I would give the food 2-3 stars, and the value and service two stars. I wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackbeard's Restaurant also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blackbeard's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing