We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 5 star but the lobster tail was not good”

Liam's steakhouse & oyster bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost a 5 star but the lobster tail was not good”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were so impressed with the stuffed mushroom appetizer and the delectable filet Mignon. However, the lobster tail on the side was way overcooked and uneatable, had to send it back. I had a stuffed flounder which was very good, The service was good, but had to remind him to take off the cost of the lobster tail ( add-on item). Overall was still the best dinner we had on the island. Not cheap by any means, even after the lobster tail was removed, $160 before tip for two people. Included a bottle of wine, appetizer and 2 entrees.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catman3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    57
    27
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hondo, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine dining, food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We arrived about 7:00 pm without a reservation, but they were able to seat us right away. My first impression was what a nice restaurant this was. The hostess and waiters were very helpful and friendly explaining everything on the menu. The menu consisted of steaks and seafood dishes. Everyone was pleased with their meals stating that they were all very good. When we sat down the hostess explained that they wanted us to enjoy our dining experience and that we would not be rushed and could spend as long as we wanted. It was also very quiet in the restaurant making it nice to carry on a conversation with the others in your party. We had a nice bottle of red wine for $34 recommended by our waiter. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryGal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Run by some Europeans! Excellent meal, exemplary service, great wine, not too expensive. White cotton napkins for goodness sakes! Go there! New place! Try the unbelievable desserts made in house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ffmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner on SPI”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Who says the hostess can make or break a visit? We had reservations and the hostess STILL seated a urgent part ahead of us because she thought they arrived before us. She apologized after I told her what she did. Our waiter was nice and attentive. The appetizer-spinach dip- was subpar. The bread was a warmed roll I can find in any supermarket 3 for $1. My husband ordered a ribeye-subpar for the price. I ordered shrimp-asked ahead of time were they Gulf shrimp. Oh yes they are-NOT. Butterflied shrimp...at least they were hot and fresh. Definitely have had better from other upscale steakhouses.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsUMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Waited over an hour and a quarter after appetizers for main course which was mediocre at best.Bathroom did not have towels.Hostess was incompetent.This restaurant is part of a group of restaurants owned by the same individual.This particular place is supposed to be the flagship of their chain.The restaurant is supposed to be "fine dinning".If more upscale dinning is desired try Scampi''s with a very nice
bay view with beautiful sunsets ,excellent non greasy dishes and a good wine selection.Another wise choice for a more discriminating palate is the Sea Ranch restaurant with excellent service and a great menu.





  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PocoPaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liam's steakhouse & oyster bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Liam's steakhouse & oyster bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing