We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yalla Habibi - CLOSED

Yalla Habibi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Habibi has been open a little over 6 months as of the time of this review, 06 Jan, 2014. The fare is Mediterranean and is superb. I have traveled extensively in that region and found the offerings to be very authentic and most appetizing. The Spinakopita is made fresh in the bakery and is the best I have ever had! For afters you must try the pecan dessert with a hint of bacon, again made fresh in the bakery. The prices are very reasonable and where else can you get a superb bottle of Merlot for $10. Spring breakers will love Habibi as will the winter Texans who come to South Padre Island to get away from the cold. A sister restaurant called the Taco Factory will open shortly and feature authentic Mexican dishes. Two thumbs up to Carlos Melhem and his staff. (I would give them 3 thumbs up if I had another hand).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good change of pace from island fried food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Someone said this restaurant was pricy. I think one review said $100 for four people. You can easily spend $50 a person at a chain restaurant with two drinks, so to me this place is average priced. We (two people) split the Lebanese plate for one $18, had a bowl of soup $5, and the baba ghannouj appetizer $9. We split their baklava (two small pieces) for $3. Much cheaper than the $10 we spent on dessert at another island restaurant. While the food was not cheap, we enjoyed it. The service was fine. The wine was a bargain. We had a bottle of average wine for $10. That's a bottle, not a glass. I put the price below at $$. It's really $$$ for the food, but I consider wine food and that brought the price down. The place is casual.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trancheNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointment and Pricey...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The food was horrible and pricey. The food had no taste and the rice was old and no flavor. It was a rip off 4 people for 100.00 dllrs..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dalia306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“HUGE Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped specifically for some sweets and "take-out" tabbouleh. The tabbouleh was too lemony for our taste and otherwise pretty flat. It seemed overpriced at $12.00 for a "serving" which appeared to be about 1.5 cups of take out salad. But the sweets were the big disappointment. The staff was obsequious and quick with offering samples. The samples were pulled from the plastic boxes there were out on a sales table! It didn't seem that the staff was offering samples from a "sample tray" but any old box they picked up! We purchased an overpriced assortment of cookies and several very small pieces of baklava. The cookies were marginally acceptably -- the pineapple stuffed cookies had the barest smidgen of jam - no real fruit. All of the cookies were dry and fairly tasteless other than mildly sweet. It was the baklava that was horrible. Greasy -- not buttery, but greasy ... like really old vegetable oil; the "nut filling" just didn't taste right or have the expected texture; the phyllo was ... chewy. We have had excellent baklava (In Greece); we've had acceptable baklava (locally); we have never had WORSE. This baklava was inedible and went into the trash.
Save your time, your money. This place just isn't worth the bother!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcscrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Service was very good as was everything we tried. Servings larger than expected. Will try them again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yalla Habibi also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing