We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

The Garden Grille & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Garden Grill is located inside the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. This South Padre restaurant features wide variety of menu items for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from a huge breakfast buffet in the morning to everything from seafood to pizza and pastas for lunch and dinner hours.The breakfast buffet features a huge selection of breakfast items: fresh omelets made-to-order, bacon, sausage and roast potatoes, a wide selection of breads and baked items, breakfast cereals and juices.The lunch and dinner is served after 11am and features excellent burgers and steaks, Tex-Mex and Italian cuisines, a wide array of fresh seafood dishes and pizzas in family and individual sizes. Guests at the Hilton Garden Inn can enjoy room service from the Garden Grill as well as food and food and beverage service to the ocean-side swimming pool and beachside deck! The in-house bar and lounge features a world-class selection of beers and cocktails.
Chatsworth, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn on South Padre Island is a lovely spot to visit. Everyone from the charming Kami at the front desk, Fransisco, Jesus, Rosylana and staff in the Grille restaurant, to the maids were helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet offered everything you could want including custom ordered eggs, limited fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, juice and pastries, the wait staff continually circle the room offering coffee, clearing plates and making sure you have everything you need.
We tried a number of restaurants on the island but found the best value for an evening meal was here at the Grille. The monthly specials were hard to beat and everything we tried was good. We knew it was one of the best spots to eat when we started meeting folks who were staying at other hotels coming here for dinner. The only down side is that at times you had to wait for a table, especially on the nights when there was live entertainment.
Would definitely recommend this resort, great location, wonderful staff and good food, you can't beat it for the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wedecorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Greetings,

We are honored to have received such a thoughtful positive review of our restaurant! Every staff member mentioned will be ecstatic to hear they have served you well. We’re overjoyed you loved everything from breakfast to dinner. It truly has been a pleasure having you and we will look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    80
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coaldale, Canada
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet very much. The variety was wonderful, the only thing that disappointed us was the lack of fresh cut up fruit. (the pineapple was canned variety)
The suppers were very cheap, $7.95, tasted good, but there was a limited menu to order from. Ironically the appetizers were more than an entire meal. Would come back here, it is well worth it if you are staying for an extended period of time.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Thank you Montoya!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to share your restaurant experience! We’re pleased you found our cuisine very appetizing and fulfilling. Also glad to hear Mr. Montoya took care of you; he is one of our finest members of our team. Overall, we’re delighted you loved our food, prices, service, and atmosphere. It has been fun having you!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Times, I think I'll become a Winter Texan!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stop searching,,,, this place has it all value, quality and authenticity! Food was great, service excellent, ambience casual yet classic! Stay at Hilton Garden Inn and Dine at the Garden Grille & Bar. Jocelyn is a lovely server, Francesco anticipates our every need and Phil is cranking out great drinks and local info,,,,,Great Times! I think I'll become a "Winter Texan".

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear T C,

We are flattered by your fabulous feedback you have left! We’re thrilled you had enjoyed our restaurant and our service. Jocelyn, Francesco, and Phil will be overjoyed to hear that they took good care of you and assisted you in your winter Texan lifestyle. Thank you for writing this wonderful review it was a pleasure reading it. Well see you the next time!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Breakfast!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Getting up with the roar of the waves, walking on the beach, a wonderful breakfast!!! What a vacation! Not only was the food great, the service was outstanding. From the greeting smiles to the quick delivery of a specialized omelet the breakfast was delicious. The bountiful breakfast included omelets, bacon, sausage, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, biscuits and gravy plus a variety of cereals, breads, and rolls. Your choice of juice or fresh fruit with yogurt completed the menu.

And Miydaleder Montoya does a wonderful job!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoey9887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Zoey,

Thank you for visiting us. It's always nice to learn that we have exceeded expectations and especially on such an important occasion as was your event. We never lose sight that you, as all consumers, especially now due to the wonders of the web, have a range of options available to them when seeking out a business to meet your needs. Therefore, your praise today means more than ever.

Thanks,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“good Food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

the food was great we had enchiladas for 5.95 more than enough for one our waiter was fantastic his name was Morrlay always refilling our water the regular price is 6.95 we had a coupon from the SPI coupon book so it was 5.95

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shooter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking to the time to share your experience of The Garden Grille. We’re glad you like our enchiladas and the wonderful service provided by Mr. Morrlay. Please come see us again for another great time with good food.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grille & Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Garden Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing