We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value on South Padre Island”

The Garden Grille & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Garden Grill is located inside the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. This South Padre restaurant features wide variety of menu items for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from a huge breakfast buffet in the morning to everything from seafood to pizza and pastas for lunch and dinner hours.The breakfast buffet features a huge selection of breakfast items: fresh omelets made-to-order, bacon, sausage and roast potatoes, a wide selection of breads and baked items, breakfast cereals and juices.The lunch and dinner is served after 11am and features excellent burgers and steaks, Tex-Mex and Italian cuisines, a wide array of fresh seafood dishes and pizzas in family and individual sizes. Guests at the Hilton Garden Inn can enjoy room service from the Garden Grill as well as food and food and beverage service to the ocean-side swimming pool and beachside deck! The in-house bar and lounge features a world-class selection of beers and cocktails.
Washago, Ont. Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Value on South Padre Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This Restaurant is the one of the best value for money venues on South Padre Island. Located in the Hilton Garden Inn this place has excellent food and prompt and attentive service. Our waiter, Montoya checked on our needs without being intrusive. Overall a very good experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for giving us your thoughts about your recent visit. We’re ecstatic you named us one the best value for your money restaurants on South Padre Island. I’m glad to hear Mr. Montoya had served you; he is one of our best. Overall, we’re glad you enjoyed everything and hope to see you back soon for another great meal in SPI.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    79
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexia, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In a Bind”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the hotel and had meals here when the weather kept us from leaving. I did eat breakfast here every morning, and it was absolutely wonderful. The breakfast buffet includes omelets made to order (real eggs), scrambled eggs, pancakes, real bacon, sausage, french toast, waffles, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, milk, coffee, soft drinks, etc. If you don't see it, you can ask for it. Seating can be a problem, as I had people trying to take my seat when I would get up to get something else from the buffet. We also ate two evening meals here, and were not impressed. The service was wonderful, but the food was mediocre at best. The hotel has a Ben E. Keith truck in the parking lot, if that says anything to you. There are $6.95 meal specials that are probably done well, but they were so heavy that we did not order them. Ordering from the menu appeared to confuse the wait staff, but they did their best. It is apparent that they are used to filling orders for the specials due tot he high number of Snow Birds in residence at the hotel. I had a Caesar chicken salad one night that came without any dressing on it, and the wait staff were confused when I asked for it to be dressed. They were able to provide cups of ranch dressing on the side. We ordered margaritas from the bar one night, and they were very light on the alcohol. It is convenient, but that is the most I can say for it, except for the wonderful breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flamingos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Grille & Bar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of The Garden Grille on South Padre island. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our endless breakfast buffet with everything you could possibly need. However, we do apologize if you felt our food wasn’t up to par. We will consider your concerns and address them as soon as possible. Overall, I hope this experience doesn’t damper your perception of The Garden Grille and give us another chance to prove why we have the best food on the island.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff was wonderful. The good was mediocre. We had the veggie and chicken fettuccine alfredo. There was pepper but no salt and the alfredo sauce was very thin and not very creamy- but I added salt and that helped alot, the green beans in the veggie were good- I don't even like green beans, but the zucchini was boiled and just tasted like water. We ordered cheesecake to go and it was not worth the price. Two slivers of cheesecake that cost $10. You can buy two single pieces that are bigger for $1 at walmart and they taste about the same. It isn't the most terrible place to eat but it isn't the best I have eaten on this island.

Helpful?
Thank Ashtin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
274 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good food. Great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Every single person in the Grill and Bar was friendly. The bartender was a cool guy. Our waiter was very friendly as well. Even the room service waiter did a good job. We had food twice from the restaurant. We ordered room service once, and ate in the restaurant once. I ate the nachos, and they were very good. Girlfriend liked her burger. In the restaurant, I ate chicken alfredo. It was ok. Girlfriend had another burger. The onion strings were well worth the $5. Make sure you get those. They had lunch and dinner specials as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steelchess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Meals All Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

In a meeting with 30 people and our food and service was great. In a banquet with over 200 people the next evening and the food and service was great! I had dinner one evening by myself and enjoyed that one too. Thanks for great food and friendly staff!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grille & Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Garden Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing