We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Convenient to where we were staying and reasonable for the Beach"”

The Garden Grille & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Garden Grill is located inside the Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island. This South Padre restaurant features wide variety of menu items for breakfast, lunch and dinner, from a huge breakfast buffet in the morning to everything from seafood to pizza and pastas for lunch and dinner hours.The breakfast buffet features a huge selection of breakfast items: fresh omelets made-to-order, bacon, sausage and roast potatoes, a wide selection of breads and baked items, breakfast cereals and juices.The lunch and dinner is served after 11am and features excellent burgers and steaks, Tex-Mex and Italian cuisines, a wide array of fresh seafood dishes and pizzas in family and individual sizes. Guests at the Hilton Garden Inn can enjoy room service from the Garden Grill as well as food and food and beverage service to the ocean-side swimming pool and beachside deck! The in-house bar and lounge features a world-class selection of beers and cocktails.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Convenient to where we were staying and reasonable for the Beach"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The restaurant was clean and the service was good. The food was average, but not terrible. They have specials for $7.95 served all day that were a decent value, especially when staying nearby.

They do have a pricier menu, but the food is not good enough to warrant the price (a short drive will get you better food, atmosphere, and price).

Very convenient of you are staying at the Hilton garden or the LaQuinta Suites - especially with children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikep1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    79
    34
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad..just not blown away”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Liked : Food was hot(daughter thought the waiter was, too)
It's not that anything was awful ,it's just my food tasted like typical food you could get at Denny's ; husband and daughter loved the fries.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHRALR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient Breakfast”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food was good and service attentive.. Easy location if you are staying at the hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank arazzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good price for hotel food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, and the cafe was on the first floor. We had dinner on Saturday, and breakfast on Sunday.

After checking in around 3p that Saturday afternoon, we went out to the beach and pool until dinner time. As the kids were quite hungry by then, we decided to see what they have at the hotel. Looking at the menu, it was quite reasonable as they had dinner specials of $7.99 for several selections. As such, we decided to just stay as everyone was tired after an afternoon of being outside in the sun.

The food was no more than 4 stars, but the location was perfect for us as we didn't have to drive anywhere. My older son and I had a burger, which was good. Can't recall what my other 2 kids and wife had, but it was decent overall.

Next morning, we at at the cafe again as we had breakfast vouchers for it. It was a buffett, so there were plenty of everything. Especially like the made to order omelet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank T_Rex_Toyota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Clean with great amenities”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved the pool area and large Oceanside deck. Rooms were clean. Great deal during the off season. Beautiful entrance, full restaurant, and rentable bikes for the street and the beach are available. The location is perfect! The last hotel on the beach and directly across the street from the Laguna Madre Nature Trails and 300 yards to the Turtle rescue center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank susannewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Grille & Bar also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Garden Grille & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing