We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Bang for your Buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Roma, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big Bang for your Buck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have chosen this resort the last four times we have been to South Padre with our four children ages 1-5. When comparing to other hotels based on price, you definitely get a big bang for your buck! This has options for family fun with so many different areas to enjoy! For this visit, at first we were concerned about the weather. It was in the low seventies, and I feared the kids would be too cold. Well, the indoor fun pools were enclosed in a climate controlled area which made it perfect for the kids. The swim up bar also has a heated pool that the kids really enjoyed as well. The room was very clean, and I am picky with cleanliness. The check in lines have always been a bit long for my taste. All the times we have been there, it takes a good fifteen to twenty minutes plus of waiting time to get the room. It's a little stuffy when you first walk into the lobby. I know when you first walk in, it is not impressive. However, the clean room and the different fun pools make it worth the experience. I also like that they allow coolers near the pool areas. This is a big plus cause we are able to carry our food and drinks for the kids (and for us). At other area hotels, coolers are not allowed and that's terrible for the little ones who constantly need snacks and hydration. There is so much fun from carousel to ball shooter game to great pools; your kids will be happy! The staff is not overly friendly; they keep to themselves which is pretty good too cause you know they will help you if you need them, but they are not smothering you. Oh, I needed extra blankets cause some of us needed to sleep on the floor and within minutes from calling front desk, they brought us warm blankets. It was so clean that sleeping on the floor was not yucky, amazingly. It is a GREAT place for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you sooo much for the kind words and being a frequent visitor!

Our indoor, year-round indoor waterpark keeps everyone entertained (along with the MegaBlast and Carousel) and the outdoor park opens for the summer season on April 18th!

Our family-friendly philosophy (free parking, outside food allowed, free use of tubes) are part of our culture at the resort as well.

Diverse food options sure to satisfy all tastes are here for you to choose from.

We look forward to seeing you this summer where you will really appreciate the two dozen attractions while saving the 40% or more that resort guests save off their waterpark admission.

Thanks again!!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    136
    70
    33
    37
See reviews for
296
46
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My kids truly enjoyed this resort and water park! Rooms were clean and comfortable, the only thing that I wasn't completely satisfied with was the time it took to check out. I waited for 45 minutes to check out. This is something they really need to work on! Other than that it's a great place to visit with the family

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bery A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for commenting on your stay and glad you enjoyed the experience and quality/cleanliness of our property. The Loblolly Pines used throughout the property lend a unique ambience to the resort that cannot be found anywhere else.

I have also shared your comments regarding the check-out procedure to try and ensure an expedited procedure in the future.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

A popular place over President's weekend. Coming from cold Colorado, the temperatures were great for February. The "resort" is nice. Everything seemed to be scaled down because it was off season. The indoor water park was ok, probably a lot more fun when the whole facility is available. The lazy river moves really fast, not for Grandma's with bad backs. The kids loved it.
The room (king) was better than average. The bed was great! Lots of pillows. The pull out coach served the grand kids fine. No freezer in the fridge. The resort really is in walking distance of the beach. If you stay in the back part of the resort, you can literally walk out the door and take two right turns and be heading down the walk to the beach. It is a long way from the major southern Texan cities. 3 hrs from Corpus Christie, 6 from Austin. At least stay two nights. The service was great. This is a nice place, especially for families.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, king bed, accessible. The bathroom was big. Others in our party had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsodie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for spending some of your winter time away from the Colorado chill and soaking up some South Texas sun!

Being on the beach and providing some Texas hospitality will hopefully lead you back to us soon. Thick Denver mattresses and high thread count linens are just some of the small differences that actually make a BIG difference in guest comfort.

We hope to see you down in part of the country again real soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

well.. we did not know the waterpark is only open during the weekends in off season . the indoor park closes at 5pm and the checkin is not until 4pm , so even though the park is included in the room price , it was hard to make it to the park.
the outdoor pool is open and it was really fun .

Room Tip: room facing the beach is very nice to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minchu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your visit.

During the winter, our indoor, heated waterpark is open at 10am on Saturday and Sunday. During the summer season, both our indoor AND outdoor waterparks are open and part of your Stay-n-Play package that provides discounts of 40% or more on your stay.

While check-in is at 4:00 pm, you are more than welcome to come to the waterpark at 10:00am and enjoy the park while you wait for check-in. On day of check-out, you can even stay and play that whole day as well (even after your check-out)! It is an extra day we offer for no extra charge for resort guests!

Thanks again for coming and we look forward to seeing you this summer so you can enjoy both the indoor and outdoor parks!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
228 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited for the 3 day President's Day weekend. Resort was a little tricky to find. We arrived early but they gave us our park tickets to enjoy the park before check-in time. Indoor portion of the park is quite small, but plenty of fun and not too crowded this time of year. Two slides, a not-so-lazy river, a kiddie pool, carousel, jungle-gym/ball room, bar, diner and pool provided plenty to do. The slides while not thrill seeker level were plenty of fun, and the river flowed at a fairly quick pace. The lines for the slides were short and moved fairly quickly. The room, Good sized TV, decent microwave oven, refridgerator cooled well, AC unit was relatively quiet. Room was clean, smelled fresh, fairly large. Only down side is that the bathroom was quite small, but otherwise, a very good room. Staff was friendly and efficient. Resort is convenient to the beach, easy access on and off the island and there is a good restaurant nearby. I would recommend this for a day trip or a weekend. Probably the most entertainment for a family in the off-season on South Padre Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nontexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review. I appreciate your comments and am glad to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the Resort. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel. I wouldn't define it as a "resort", however it is a fun, family-oriented hotel with an indoor waterpark. Check-in is not until 4 pm. We arrived at 2, hoping for an early check in...but no such luck. The employee, Dora, who was checking us in was not helpful or friendly in any way. Yes, it was a busy weekend, but nothing extraordinary...maybe about 6 people in line. She gave us our waterpark bracelets, which we could use even though our room wasn't ready yet. She gave us only 2 of our 4 bracelets because only myself and my husband got off to check in. She would not give us the 2 other bracelets until my 70 year old mother and mother in law got off the truck and entered the building....by the way, we were parked no where near the entrance because the parking lot was full. This was very frustrating because we could see that the other receptionists were giving out the bracelets to the other hotel guests. Then, I ask if we can receive a phone call when our room was ready and she said no! She stated that they were too busy to do that! Astonishing when this service is provided by any regular hotel, and of course resorts! Anyway, we came back 2 hours later and checked in about 4:20 with a much nicer and friendlier receptionist, Melissa. Other than the above mentioned, we enjoyed our stay. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The restroom was on the small side. The hotel is off the beach, so location is great. They have a heated pool outside and a very cool indoor waterpark. It includes: 2 slides, a big kiddie pool, and a very fast river. They also have a bar with the best pina coladas. Overall, it was a fun stay. Just wish they had better service upon checking-in..as this can set the mood for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I am glad that you ended up having a great time at the Hotel. I will speak to the staff to address your concerns and make sure they are addressed. Thank you for writing a review about our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went for an overnight Valentine's get-away. The staff was excellent. The property was very clean. Even though this is a new resort (last year) it definitely has seen use. Lots of families for the water park, swim up bar and the Gulf of Mexico beach. There is an old fashioned carrousel off the lobby. They say "beach front" property but the beach is hard to see from the main building. It is a walk down the side of the property (about 1/2 block) and then you have beach access. There is shopping on South Padre Island but you need a car. The resort has two restaurants and is connected with the Shrimp Haus Restaurant which has excellent food in a casual atmosphere. This is a good choice for active families and young adults. Would we go back? Maybe. Maybe not.

Room Tip: The higher up the floor the better the view, such as it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Director of Sales at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks for your stay and complimentary words...as the largest hotel property on the Island we feature rooms in our river tower which overlooks the waterpark and another building which is directly on the beach with fantastic beach and gulf views.

The Shrimp Haus is one of our restaurants and has won awards for its shrimp, bought directly from local shrimpers!

Keep an eye out for our special packages that offer discounts to not only the waterpark but also many of the wonderful things that South Padre has to offer: golfing, dolphin watches, fishing, etc.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back real soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing