We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLEEP? YEAH RIIIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
“SLEEP? YEAH RIIIGHT”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

After all the fun we had during the day, all we wanted was a good night's sleep. ha! the beds SUCK. for as much as a night's sleep costs, you'd think they'd havr better mattresses. we heard kids running through the hallway ALL.NIGHT.LONG. the neighbors sounded as if they were letting the door just bang on the metal door latch (the one that secures the door when it's closed) over and over. When the sun finally came up, I went to the bathroom hoping for some peace and quiet. ... NOT SO FAST!! I could hear the OTHER neighbor doing his business. #s 1 AND 2.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2cem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
My apologies for you not liking the comfort of our beds, that is actually one of our highest rated items in our rooms. We have a high end Denver Mattress in all of our rooms. I will look into your other issues as well, and again apologize for you not having a wonderful experience here in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    140
    74
    36
    41
See reviews for
313
47
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I'll be honest, we came here as plan B, for our 15th wedding anniversary and were not expecting this to be the romantic getaway we had previously planned that had fallen through the day before ....we had always viewed schitterbahn to be a family vacation place, not a romantic get-away, but we had a groupon and thought we would check it out!
The entire staff went way out of their way to accommodate us!!! We had some neighbor issues and things and they bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable.
They made our anniversary special, and we will be forever grateful to them. We are still staying here, but we are already looking forward to coming back to this very clean, well maintained and highly kind staff.
We came during winter season, and would have loved to try some of the restaurants that were closed, especially like the roof top grill(but it could be very cold in the winter! Depending on the weather!) and the swim up bar, ( I think they may be open on weekends) but were very pleased with the sea-side restaurant! I am allergic to gluten and dairy and was able to find a variety of things on the menu I could eat! The drinks were really good (I liked the regular margarita not the sweet blue one and the Mai tai was the best I've had!) everything here was better than we planned. We have visited a few of the nearby resorts for lunch and dinner and feel the staff and cleanliness here far surpassed anything else on this Island. We have yet to try the shrimp Haus but we will!
If you want a fun and relaxing vacation with a staff that cares, come here!

Room Tip: Beach front rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had such a great time on your anniversary. We do our best to make every guest experience a memorable one. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sublette, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel part, only went to the indoor water park. Since the outdoor weather was so cold, we ended up going three times with the kids. They had a pretty decent promotion going where if you brought in a few cans of food they let you in for half price after three PM. The park was clean and well staffed with lifeguards who were paying attention. They have stuff for all ages with slides, river, little kids area. Definitely go here if the weather doesn't permit outdoor activities.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jasruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the great comments. We do supply indoor activities when the weather is not cooperating and also fun times when the weather is nice outside as well. The Torrent River is my favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Schlitterbahn beach resort as a start to our new year. We had difficulty finding the entrance to the hotel. There is not good signage and the entrance, once you find it, is not welcoming. What is with the silly fake chopped trees?! The reception area felt a bit like a cave with very low ceilings and there was no lobby area to speak of. That being said, the staff was very friendly. They initially put us in the wrong room (king instead of the 2 queens) and quickly upgraded us to the deluxe queen to fix the problem. The rooms very nicely appointed. Bathrooms were too small but the rest of the space was very good for a traveling family. Beds were very comfortable and we had a great view. I was disappointed that they didn't have a fitness center because it was really too cold to run outside

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txbucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are a new hotel so our foliage in the those trees that you speak of has not been able to grow in completely yet. When fully grown those tree will look like giant real trees holding up our entry way. They were masterfully built by one of our artists that we have on staff in New Braunfels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and a great place to stay! We had a blast at the water park! Loved the concept of using wristbands for keys! Never had to worry about leaving the key in the room or losing the key!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a great time and look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Love staying at Schlitterbahns SPI Resort. Clean rooms, beautiful view (I've always stayed in an ocean view room here), very friendly staff, great food and drinks, relaxing waterpark w/a short walkway to the beach. My favorite spot has got to be the Sea Forever view: it's an amazing open area on the 5th floor overlooking the ocean: it is just mesmerizing; if the kitchen is open at the time, that is a plus, if not just order something downstairs and take with you. The history of the wood used in this facility is fascinating: how a devastating situation brought about such beauty. I think it is a must see and must experience place on South Padre Island. Everyone should stay and play at least once: let your inner kid come out and play. This is also the best sleep I ever get as the beds are so comfortable.

Room Tip: I prefer ocean side rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slybass15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We love having you stay with us! Sea4Ever is a great spot and just FYI, it is available for rent for private functions including Holiday Parties. Thank you for the wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family of 4 really enjoyed the property. The rooms was nice and being onsite was awesome. Enjoyed being on the beach and being able to wade fish/swim in addition to the water resort. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4x496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are glad to hear that your stay was so great, and we look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
610 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing