We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sapphire Condominiums(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Grand Beach Resort(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Inn & Suites(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites at Sunchase(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Padre South Hotel(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gulfview II(South Padre Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
216
158
82
40
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
158
82
40
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkindoor waterparkseaside grilltorrent rivermain parkswim up barheated poolshrimproom keybreakfast tacosfamily vacationice chestoff seasoncarouselloblollybeachisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 540 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Treated granddaughters to fun trip & stay. So memorable. They were sooooooo happy and pleased.. Then granddaughters & their mom and dad went home......I stayed behind and had two sisters join me for one extra day of just grown-up fun...sunbathing, having lunch and drinks at beachfront restaurant there @ Schlitterbhan.....then we actually did the water slides at the hotel....crazy sisters having a great time ! loved the whole day, and ended with great dinner @ the Shrimp Haus. Trying to get reservations to get back there!

Room Tip: be honest in your needs/expectations at time of getting your room...they accommodate your needs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marikita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

There is always plenty to do for all ages here at the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write such a remarkable review. You can call 956-761-1160 for direct reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel view is great, the waterpark is fantadtic we really had good time there.the staff are freindly and we you need room service they come fast.they have a free playing area for kids.also there is a restaurant at the roof top of the building named sun 4 ever, the food is good, the dessert is super nice and the view is marvelous. We would definitely repeat this trip

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The water park is ok if you have very young kids... up to 9 or maybe a couple years older if they can't swim... The slides are not as cool as the location in New Braunfels.... But it's the beach and it's wet.... Now the hotel rooms... We stayed in a Deluxe, Ocean View -- the room is OK, but the bathroom is very small and there are no balconies which I think is a must at the beach (for drying your wet items) especially if you pay more for the ocean view ... hard to enjoy the view and breeze without a balcony... Service was just OK... 3 stars at best.

Room Tip: Any room is OK... don't pay the upcharge for the ocean view... No Balconies available to enjoy the view or breeze
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gap F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a response and will use your feedback accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the beachfront rooms. There is an amazing roof top restaurant and bar here; the only one on the island. This hotel is the best of both worlds: schlitterbahn and the beautiful beach on south padre. The water is beautiful and clean. The kids can do the water park for a while
And then go to
The beach. The rooms were excellent size and design. Brand new last year and very clean and tidy. There are four restaurant on premise, so you really don't have to leave unless you choose to. We will go again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holliharrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you and family back with us on your next visit to South Padre Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first stay at the resort. I urge you to read the website very carefully! Check the calendar to make sure the outdoor water park is open on the days you want to go. I found the website tricky especially since initially it charged me full water park prices for indoor and outdoor parks (a mistake later corrected) leading me to believe that we would be able to attend both indoor and outdoor parks, when in reality only the indoor park would be open during 2 of our 3 days there. Also keep in mind that the price for the parks (per person) will be added on to your rate, and you have to pay that wether you actually go to the park or not.

We have a 10 year old son, and while the Torrent river and the two slides in the indoor park are really fun, they are not enough to keep you entertained for a day. The indoor water park is about 1-2 hours of fun for school-aged kids, so keep this in mind when you plan your trip. Also, we thought the early access to the park promised to resort guests was for both the indoor and outdoor parks, but it's just the indoor park. It would be really nice if guests also got an hour extra at the outdoor park. The outdoor park is fun, but not as large as the New Braunfels park. The staff and lifeguards in the water parks were not as friendly as they are at the New Braunfels Schlitterbahn, but most of the rides feed directly off the lazy river and that's a neat design.

The hotel itself is in good shape, especially since it's pretty new. I'm not sure how well it will age. I really appreciate that they made a lot of effort to keep the construction green, reusing water slides from other parks, reclaimed wood from around the country, and even light fixtures from old hotels in Vegas. There's a nice explanation of these things in the welcome packet. Because of our confusion and disappointment about the outdoor park hours, and since the hotel was not crowded when we were there, the management switched us to an ocean view room. We appreciated that customer service. The view from the room was beautiful! But I don't understand why they made it so the window would not open - so no listening the the waves or feeling the ocean breeze. Also, there are no balconies. Either or both would have been nice. The room had a king bed with a sleeper sofa, and the room was a large size with plenty of room for the three of us. The bed was comfy with many pillows. There is a large mini fridge and microwave in the room so you can bring your own snacks and light meals. There's also a large flat screen tv. One complaint about the room is what others have pointed out, the shower/toilette room was absurdly small! You can barely open the door!! The sink it just outside that room. The room would really benefit from some extra hooks on the wall by the sink to hang towels and suits to dry. Since there's no balcony, it would help to have some place to hang wet suits and towels besides the shower rail, which may already have bath towels on it. The "key" is a handy wristband that works on all the security doors. That's a smart touch so you don't have to worry about your keys in the water park.

While we found the staff responsive to any requests we had (like sending security to quiet the sudden loud music that came blasting from the bar below us at 10:30 at night long after the bar had closed) in general the staff was stoic and unsmiling, except at the front desk where they were always friendly. Maybe it had been a long season? I can only compare it to the New Braunfels staff who is super friendly in our experience. I'm sure these folks deal with a lot of hassle, but we were a bit surprised. One other thing to note is that check out time is noon and you are welcome to continue enjoying the park until closing time, but they have no place to store your luggage. We had driven so we could put our bags in the car and then rent a locker for valuable and electronics, but if you have flown in, I'm not sure what you'd do. Also, it would be nice if there were some outdoor showers so you could rinse off before changing and leaving. We walked over to the beach access and showered off there.

The beach outside the hotel is beautiful, and if you walk south it's pretty undeveloped. They rent chairs and umbrellas. The resort is located to the south end of the town, and it's a short drive to lots of restaurants. We didn't eat in the resort so I can't comment on the food.

Overall, this is a decent choice if you have kids and the water park is your priority. But do look over that calendar carefully to make sure the hours suit your schedule, and remember to add on the price of water park tickets per person to your room total.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruvkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for the feedback about our Hotel. We do urge everyone to consult our park calendar when they make reservations. We are installing a clothes dryer line in the restrooms for our guests to hang their swimwear on to dry. We do also have several washers and dryers our guests to use as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews