We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for families.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the resort. The extra hour in the morning and evening was a great time to ride the indoor slides and river. The beach was clean and beautiful. Overall it is a great place for families to enjoy time together for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. The "Exclusive RIde Time" for resort guests only is a great benefit. We also keep the World Famous Boogie Bahn open for an extra hour at the outdoor park for Resort Guests only to ride. We look forward to having you and your family return to us on your next vacation to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    150
    79
    38
    42
See reviews for
348
47
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frisco, tx
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed here four nights. We got here a little before 4:00, and we were able to check-in and go to our room right-a-way. We didn't have to wait for check-in, but it would have been nice if the front desk could give you a little information about the resort, restaurants, services, etc... Basically, she swipes your credit cards, puts on your bracelets, and sends you on your way. Nothing more. They look too busy to do anything else. The lobby is relatively small, and there is a constant flow of people. I know Schlitterbahn isn't Disney World, but, at Disney, they give you a packet with resort info and address any questions when you check-in.

We had a standard queen room, and it was nice. I liked the fact that there is a safe to lock up your valuables. Beds were comfortable, and there is a nice sized table with two chairs. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room; our refrigerator wasn't working when we got there. Maintenance thawed it, and it was fine after that. The bathroom is so tiny that it's hard to close the door. It would be great if they would add an extra clothes line in the bath tub, as I have seen at other hotels. You end up with a a lot of wet clothes, and no place to put them to hang dry.

It's very convenient to stay at the hotel if you're visiting Schlitterbahn. You can charge to room so you don't have to worry about carrying cash or credit cards around. The indoor waterpark opens early and stays open later for guests. It's isn't as busy during these times. It's easy to go to your room and relax when you're tired. We would take breaks and do different things during the day, and come back at night. The tunnel to the main park is open too, which makes it easy to travel between the parks. There are several restaurants to eat at in the resort. We tried the Seaside Grill, and it was decent. The beach access is a big plus, as well. We didn't spend as much time at the beach as I had imagined, since my son absolutely loved the water park.

Last, check-out could be faster. They are very busy with people checking in and out, and giving out new bracelets for the returning visitors. We waited in a line for a good ten minutes. When it was our turn, the front desk attendant decided to stop and go to a side line, and put bracelets on at least 10-15 people which made our wait even longer. Also, they could give a better itemization of extra charges. It's itemized, but your extra charges are mixed in with the standard room charges.

All in all, we had a good visit. I could see some room for improvement, mainly at the front desk. They need more people to assist, and more space would be nice. However, in the eyes of my 6 year-old it was "best hotel in the world".

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ja_Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We do try to give our guests the information upon check in about the hotel, and my apologies for them not being clear with you about this. I'm glad that you and your family had a great time, and please tell your child that we think he's "the best six year old in world!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Overall, it was very nice. I have 5, 4 and 2year old. It was perfect place for the little kids. One thing, When you borrow beach towel make sure return it. I left in the room and when we got back, house keeper clean our room and took all the towels. If you don't return it they charge $20 each. Kids had blast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luluh867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I'm glad to hear that you and you your children had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr Tx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Usually when we go to the beach we get RED like a lobster(even with sunblock lotion)..However, because we didn't stay in the outdoor waterpark all day and we decided to be in the indoor waterpark, we didn't evn get burned..Very different experience since it has that carousel and the kids loved it.My husband loved it too and wants to book our next reservation at their hotel.Shrimp Haus Restaraunt was AWESOME! Probably the best food I have ever eaten at SPI and that's because I live about an hour away and have tried them all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekameka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
The Torrent River at the Indoor portion of the Waterpark is one of my favorite rides. I'm glad to hear that your vacation was such a huge success. I will be sure to pass on your comments about our ShrimpHaus Restaurant to the kitchen staff, they take extreme pride in the quality of food that they put out to our guests and will be excited to hear your review. Whenever you're ready to book your next trip please give us a call. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort for our summer vacation. The hotel staff was courteous and friendly, and our room was clean and new. My 9 year old son had a great time in the indoor waterpark. My son, husband, mother and I all got in the rapid river, and enjoyed the slides and the tubes. The bar in the indoor waterpark had cold, fresh drinks for the adults as well as icees and dipping dots for the kids! Something for everyone! We spent the next day on the island. We rented an umbrella and lounge chairs from the resort, and spent the whole day playing in the ocean, building sand castles, and of course burying each other in the sand. The Seaside Grill (one of the restaurants at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort) was steps away from the beach. So we were able to enjoy cold Pina Coladas on the beach. We had lunch at the Seaside Grill, and the food and service were excellent. We were able to relax, have fun, and spend quality time as a family because this resort was so convenient. My only tiny complaint is that the restrooms in the rooms were tiny. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casauceda730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We like to say that with the options that we provide our guests that if you wanted to stay on property for your entire stay that you will not get bored; and from the sound of your review its true. I'm glad to hear that you and your family had such a great time, we look forward to having you back with us on your next visit to South Padre Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The price for the stay AND two days admission to the park is unbeatable!!!! The rooms are great, and the beds are very comfortable!
The staff was also beyond great! Before we arrived we had to modify our reservation and the person on the phone was quick, courteous, and friendly, and when we arrived everything was taken care of. The staff gave us our park wristbands even though our room wasn't ready (we arrived 2hrs. before check in, which is at 4pm).
The price point for this place is
spot on. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amguzman1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review about our Hotel. I am glad to hear that from the moment you made contact with a Schlitterbahn staff member that they delivered excellent customer service. I will pass this on to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was booked when we checked in. Didn't take too long and room was ready on a high floor as requested. As others have stated bad elevators. Very slow and we took the stairs down from the 6th floor most of the time. Room was clean and new if not very sparse and lackluster in decor. Bed was okay but kinda hard. Bathroom was VERY small. In my opinion slightly overpriced for what we got, but it was conveinent to the waterpark and the beach. Food was okay and reasonably priced. Kids loved Schlitterbahn and I had forgotten how nice the beach was. For Texas the water was very clear!! No roomservice??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Our elevators are piston driven and do take slightly longer than a cable driven car, however the ride is a lot smoother. South Padre Island does have the best beaches in Texas by far, and one of the best beaches in the USA as well. There have been several USA Today articles and polls and Travel writers that have published articles on our great destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,523 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing