We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 Star Price for 1 Star Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Chandler, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 Star Price for 1 Star Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been in resorts all over Mexico, Belize, and the US. This hotel has horrible service for the price paid. This is the most money I have ever paid for a hotel with NO service. After a nine hour drive we waited half an hour for a luggage cart. Finally, we just lugged our luggage up to our room ourselves. We asked the front desk three times for a luggage cart and never did they ask to help us in leu of a luggage cart. There was never an explanation or offer to help. They just shrugged their shoulders.

The service there is about equal to a Motel 6 twenty years ago. In the Schlitterbahn park some of the rides were closed because of construction (which was not stated when we booked our trip nor is it on the website). Also one of the lifeguards told us that several lifeguards called in sick because they got hung-over from the night before. When were leaving to go to the park, we went to fill a small cooler up from the ice machine. A lady came running around the corner and told us to stop. This was a HUGE ice machine. All that money we paid and they are worried about 50 cents of ICE.

I would say this hotel is worth about $120 a night because of the beach location and the newness. $300 a night is way over-priced especially if you are not going to the water park. If you are going to the waterpark with your family it is a good deal. Just expect to do some work yourself and beware of the ICE patrol lady.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback about the hotel. We do offer luggage carts for guest use that are on a first come first served basis. We are in the process of adding Bellhops that will be assisting guests with their luggage as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    130
    65
    31
    36
See reviews for
283
40
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here last week for short family vacation with out 2 yr old toddler. As it was beginning of the season, we got lucky and it wasn't too crowded yet.

This is a brand new beautiful brand new hotel/waterpark resort by Schlitterbahn. Staff at check-in was wonderful and pleasant. Architecture use of wood from Bastrop area was a great touch - beams, tables, etc. Note, there is still some light construction - they are not yet finished but it didn't take away from the experience. I'm sure when it's all done, it'll make this great resort even better!

All the rooms are in brand new condition - we got upgraded to ocean view, was great value. We walked to the beach in just a few minutes, nice cafe/pool overlooking ocean, too.

Indoor waterpark for our toddler was tons of fun for our toddler - pirate ship, lazy river, tube rides. We tried the main outdoor waterpark the next day and that was a blast, too, for kids and adults.

Food at resort part of hotel was okay but a little pricey but too be expected. Food in the outdoor park was more fried food - typical park stuff - noticed many people brining in picnic baskets, was unaware was an option.

Overall, a big thumbs up! If you're looking for a family vacation with the kids on the beach - with a massive waterpark to boot - this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. It sounds like you got the complete experience and history of our Hotel. We look forward to having you come back and visit, especially when the tunnel that connects the two parks is completed, so you can see it without the construction fence up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We live 45 minutes from this place & didn't hesitate once to pay what we paid. If you do the math for going to the parks, you would understand. I'm coming back over & over again as long as the prices remain around the same. In addition we received a beach front room with a view because our room was not ready. They did not ask if we could wait they just gave it to us with a smile on their face. This place is fun for families with children.

Room Tip: elevator takes a while even though there are two. (2 minute estimate but seems longer when wet &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. The word is starting to get out about the "Stay-N-Play" package. You always get a bonus day in the Waterpark as a resort guest complimentary. We have also added "Exclusive Ride Times" for resort guests only at the indoor waterpark and for the world famous Boogiebahn as well. Call us anytime for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First and only thing to keep in mind when going to this resort is that its great for adults who want their kids to run, play, explore and enjoy themselves. The indoor park is not the biggest but kids will still have fun, specially when the parent gets involved in the fun or games. The main park is less than a five minute ride away; although the vehicles used to transport people to the main park could use some plastic covers to avoid sitting on wet smelly cloth seats. As long as you stick to the standard rooms the price per night wont be bad. The restaurant food, service and price is descent. They have a beach side restaurant that gives a great view to the Gulf of Mexico without having to pay sky high prices for a nice view. When tired of the resort you can spend a few hours at the beach which is right there. Again, when going to this place just keep in mind that its time to get the kids out of the house, time to get involved with them going down a fast fun winding slide or even just throwing a cheap dollar frisbee on the sand. Would definitely go and play again with my kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROCCO153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I loved your review! Family time is so important, and who doesn't want to act like a kid sometimes? The vans are temporary until our connecting tunnel is completed. This tunnel is underground and will be a walk tunnel and later we are adding a ride to it as well. Leave it to the geniuses at Schlitterbahn to design an under ground tunnel with water ride below sea level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Schliterbahn Resort for the first time. It was a great stay. Other posts had negative service comments, however I fully disagree. Service was exceptional, and when they got busy, they apologized and made up for it. Food quality was great. Especially at the pool side grill. Between the beach and the indoor park, we almost didn't make it to the water park. One negative issue was that the Torrent River went down late Sunday afternoon, and needed maintenance. The wood work throughout the property was very impressive. This resort has all the flare, family fun and quality the Schliterbahn is famous for.

Room Tip: The room facing park or Gulf is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScrapSkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and for giving us a chance! It really is never a good time for routine maintenance, but sometimes it must be done to prevent other (possibly bigger) issues later. I appreciate the understanding and we look forward to having you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Im actually staying here still tonight. Its going on 1 hr wait for for meal from room service! Young lady on phone has poor order taking skills didnt remember she took my order and she said it would be 15-20 mins! They have no towels in pool area so you have to carry your room towels down to pool/park area which is annoying. There is no bell boy service or even one cart for when we arrived! Having two small kids with all the luggage and no cart was so tough especially because parking was still under construction and far! Lobby is always muggy and hot and wet.. bartender took 20 mins to attend to us and we never recieved a drink cause then the parknhad closed! All staff needs so much more customer service training to charge this much! Ridiculous.. fyi my food still hasnt arrived and my kids fell asleep! I will send back the order! Not worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecano79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
My apologies for the troubles you had encountered during your stay with us. We are in the process of implementing a room service department here at the Hotel, it is unfortunate there was a miscommunication about this to you. At the time of your stay we only were offering "to-go" items from our Seaside Grille. I appreciate the other feedback and will look into addressing these issues immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

My stay was booked through my city for a conference. The room was very clean and the linens were good quality. My friends' twins had loads of fun in the children's pirate ship pool. Plenty of friendly staff on hand to help. We dined at the new rooftop Sea4ever restaurant. The Mahi Mahi was excellent and fresh shrimp were delicious. This new dining area features repurposed log beams and even the rope around the pillars were repurposed from the port of Brownsville. Manager Mike was on hand to talk to guests and the musical guest was surprisingly awesome, playing songs from James Taylor to Paul Simon. The conference room was beautiful and well appointed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alltherowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rene V, Manager at Schlitterbahn Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Sea4Ever is a great spot for dinner. The crab finger appetizer and Veal Chop entree are my favorites. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel and Sea4Ever Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlitterbahn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlitterbahn Beach Resort

Property: Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Address: 100 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6505
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Schlitterbahn Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Schlitterbahn Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing