We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting - Poor service”
Review of La Hacienda - CLOSED

La Hacienda
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brownsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting - Poor service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I waited 25 minutes for our order to be taken. When our meals arrived, hers was not completely cooked. I hate to see this beautiful restaurant with a breath-taking view of the Laguna Madre go down hill. We visited about a year ago and the service and food were superb. But, this time, it was poor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    11
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Do It”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

At first glance we thought we made the right choice for dinner. Nice decor, nice location by the water. Unfortunately, not the case. The food was either overly salty or no flavor at all. The restaurant was not even half full and it took over 2 hours before we got out of there (1 1/2 hrs to get our dinner). All the other tables around us experienced the same thing. Seemed it was a hold up in the kitchen since the waiters were waiting around for the food to be ready. Didn't help that waiter didn't explain or apologize for the extended wait until 10 mins before our food came out. Sorry, but won't be going here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JtMagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
225 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The food and service were ok”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went for lunch and think there were only 2 tables, but service was slow and food was average. Nothing stood out saying we need to come back and we were there for a week. There are better places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst ceviche ever”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Not only was the ceviche so salty a waiter came to ask how I was able to stomach any of it, but the small bowl of chicken tortilla soup which I subsequently ordered was billed at the same price of the $12 ceviche. Perhaps the biggest disappointment was the lack of any sort of apology or visit from the manager who sat at the bar most of the evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Favorite place in SPI”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful view of the bay. Clean & new looking. Our family (2 teenage daughters & infant son) had lunch at La Hacienda and we then made reservations to watch to fireworks on Friday night!! Both times our food was amazing & our waitress was very attentive. They have amazing margaritas according to both my husband & I. Our picky eaters - teenage girls -- loved the beautiful view & had good things to say about both meals. They said it tasted like it was homemade. Both my meals were delicious. We had the place to ourselves pretty much at lunch. Friday night was busy due to the fireworks but since we called ahead to make reservations we had no problem! We all highly recommend this restaurant & will be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank DDNEvTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing