We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a family trip”
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Little Elm, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a family trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The front staff was nice but the maids on the other hand were not friendly at all. I asked for some paper towels and they looked at me like I was dumb and went and got them for me. Also, the breakfast is only powdered donuts and coffee. I guess I should have checked into that before I picked this hotel. The worst thing that we saw one morning was that the lady was cleaning the inside of the coffee urn with Comet!!! We were a little freaked out because its a chemical and lets say we didn't drink any more coffee from this place anymore. The rooms were nice for a beach hotel and for the price. I probably wont stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandalynne1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    12
    6
    23
See reviews for
14
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Me n my family stayed in this inn..The person in front was nice and thoughtful..they let us stay in a room that was clean n towels that we recieved were unstained..The room was well compressed..We surely enjoyed our stay..Besides, the park was right behind it..THE POOL WAS GREAT!!.. i surely recommend this inn for any family that plans to stay over night at SPI..Its nice and cozy..And O so Cheap..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vramos956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandera, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Staff professional, rooms clean ,Bathroom alittle small . I would recomend this hotel to anyone on a budget!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

poor service, shoddy room, noisy, total lack of professionalism.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

i read the reviews, but went there anyway. My impression was that it might be not luxerious, but it was not dirty at all!!! Also the people at the check in were absolutely friendly and helpful!!
I was very satisfied.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank adventureseeker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Second time staying here,will not stay here again! 5am.left my room to let the front desk know that the people staying next door in room #237 are in the hallway,drunk,making a lot of noise,and woke me up at 4:30am.Leo Santos was working the front desk,all he wanted to do was argue with me instead of taking care of the loud party next door.Amanda was nice and said,"Sorry," for the disturbance.This was too late,I was checking out.Went to another place to stay and turned a negative situation into a very enjoyable vacation.David and Connie are the managers,I did not see them or talk to them once.I requested room #200,someone was already in this room.I then requested a room all the way on the other side of the building for a quiet stay. It would have been quiet if the hotel front desk person would have located the party in the middle of the property instead of next door to me.The property only had about four rooms occupied on a Saturday night.I will not stay here again because of Leo Santos attitude and no management on duty.Mike is the owner.I would suggest staying at another property on the beach where you can here the ocean instead of rowdy neighbors.Juice machine was serving water instead of juice.No breakfast available.Pay an extra $15 dollars to stay somewhere else.I was able to upgrade to another property,ocean view,hearing the ocean waves from my room,breakfast,happy hour snacks,great location,quiet,for only $75 dollars per night.Class of people staying at another resort were more friendly,staff professional,and manager was on duty when needed.Huge contrast between properties.Do not settle for less with this Inn.
You deserve better and can find a much better experience on South Padre Island than this place.

  • Liked — Checking out and leaving!
  • Disliked — Noise,location,Leo Santos,No Breakfast,Could not see or hear the ocean.No management.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloha64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

This hotel is HORRIBLE!! Dirty walls (especially in the bathrooms), carpet was so very dirty we had to use our shoes the whole time. Towels were not clean (hair and stains left on them). We reluctently stayed but we do not recommend this place to anyone!!! DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP!!! Service was horrible, the guy at the front desk could care less about the kind of service he offers to his customers. RUDE would be a good word to use too. We still had a good time at SPI but we will never return to this dirty place. We love SPI and will return and definitely stay somewhere else.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank happyparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
278 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
618 reviews
1.1 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 3813 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island Beach & the bay are just steps away!Centrally located in the city center. Walk to various restaurants, night life, shopping & water activities. Schilletrbahn Water Park, Convention Center, Sea Turtle Rescue Center & Birding Center, Isla Blanca Park, Andy Bowie Park, historic Port Isabel - all these are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing