We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

Very clean, Superb location and friendly staff. Will definately be staying here again. Love your beach area.

  • Liked — Beach area
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    350
    136
    91
    86
See reviews for
505
352
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We were registered for a conference that was going to be held at the LaQuinta. We normally stay at the Holliday inn but since our conference was at LaQuinta we decided to give it a try. When we arived we were so impressed with not only the size of the rooms but how clean they were. Everyone was very friendly and made us feel right at home. We could not beleive how close we were to the beach. It was so close that my mother who is in a wheel chair and could never get to the beach at ht Holliday Inn had no problems at LaQuinta. We have found our new home on South Padre Island.
Sincerely,
Mr. Hoover

  • Liked — Attitude of Staff and Management
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

We were so impressed with how clean and friendly the staff and management was. We did not expect to be so close to the beach, we were litterally 100 feet away from the water. The happy hour was nice with the free drinks and free nachos. We have found our new home away from home on South Padre Island.

  • Liked — Beach right outside of our room
  • Disliked — weather was very hot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sglenwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Stayed at this property a few months ago and what a difference a few months can make. The hotel is probably not more than three years old but you would never know it. Very worn down and not kept up. Loose bricks in the walkway, filthy, filthy pool, dirty carpet. If you want a place that is right on the beach, this place is for you. But if you want a clean, well-maintained hotel, go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AlamoCityLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

I had heard nice things about this hotel. We visit SPI at least once or twice a year and this was our first stay at La Quinta. Based on what other people had told us about this hotel we were excited about our stay. Let's just say, we were wrong.

This hotel, while only a few years old, is used and abused. It shows the wear and tear of frequent use and the ever popular Spring Breaker. We got a family suite, what an odd configuration. The front room, assumed to be the sitting area, had two double bed and a small couch right in front of the door to the hallway. One of the beds was right in front of the refirgerator so you could hardly open the door. The back room had one king bed. The room smelled musty/moldy and led to an allergy reaction for my two children and myself. The sheets were very worn and uncomfortable to sleep on. There was trash under the sink in the bathroom, hair on the floor, old food under the microwave on the counter. All in all the room was awful.

The pool area was dirty and had broken, old chairs around a small pool. The small room they served drinks in near the pool was dirty and the door looked as if it had never been cleaned.

If you don't mind a dirty room, old sheets, dirty pool area then this is the place for you. We will never stay at this La Quinta ever again. The Island has much new development. There are other choices to investigate before choosing this motel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

the hotel was dirty. I am not overly neat but the breakfast room carpet looked like skid row. I found the all Mexican staff was pleasant but seemed especially helpful if you were Mexican yourself. that would explain the approx 70% Mexican visitors there unlike the much lower remainder of the island. Juan the GM was cutting them deals by giving them rooms at 50$ per night less than available at ANY website. the parking lot would only hold about 80% of the cars needed and you had to walk a distance. it was nice that the hotel was so close to the beach and the staff at breakfast tried hard.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ptgarner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

This hotel is right on the beach, and is probably the most affordable “new” property on the island. I think the hotel is less than 2 years old. Walking distance to the beach is very easy and short, compared with other hotels. The service is horrible hands down. The front desk staff is not very nice or attentive and always came off as bothered probably because they are always trying to solve management and facility problems (more on that later in the review). Overall this is a hit or miss place and I would probably not stay here again, as the Radisson or Sheraton are your better options.

Facility in general:
Although new, the developer definitely cheeped out with the quality of construction, which has lead to many problems and maintenance nightmares. There are two VERY VERY slow hydraulic elevators. The center elevator also serves as the house-keeping elevator so you stop at every floor to let a staff person in thru the back elevator door. The one on the east end is quicker because it is only used by the guests. There are icemakers on all four floors, but only one was working at the time, and was usually empty. Washing machines were broken on the third floor and 4th floor hallway AC was out of order and HOT. Parking is difficult and although there is a large long parking lot, when the hotel is full you have to park in the fire lane. The parking lot is very long making your haul to the room very cumbersome, although they do have a golf cart to shuttle people to and from the front door. The breakfast area is spacious and has an okay offering of foods. I would recommend getting there before 9:00 as this seems to be the busy time and all tables are taken, even the overflow spaces.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice in appearance mostly because they are new. Try and request a room on the north side of the building as these rooms have way better views of the ocean. I originally started out on the south side of the building, which overlooks a 1960’s nasty looking building. I was then moved to a room on the north side which had great views. The balconies are very shallow and hard to navigate. Each balcony has 2 cheap plastic chairs which had broken backs. The balcony doors are hard to lock, mostly because the strike plates are rusted and the doors are cheap. The beds are horrible and flatten to 1/3 their original size when you lay down. The pillows are cheap and provide no support and in my opinion need to be replaced. During my first night the AC system was leaking condensate water onto the floor and it smelled like dank mold, fortunately I was moved then next day. Also 3 light bulbs were out and this made the room dark at night. Being there with two other families they had similar problems with their rooms; broken patio chairs, ceiling fan did not work at all, phones did not work, sink drain stopped up. This place really needs a maintenance overhaul if you know what I mean.

Pool area and Snack Bar:
The pool area is on par with other hotels on the island. Small pool, but good for a La Quinta. All pool furniture is PVC tubing and they are shaky and some were broken and needed to be thrown away. The pool area has a snack bar that serves hot dogs, nachos, beer, soda and ice cream bars, this was a nice feature. The pool area does have a fence but the locks on the gates did not work very well.

Beach:
Access to the beach is easy and is probably the best part about this hotel. The sand was great and had many seashells. Since you are positioned at the end of all the hotel development, the crowds are less and leaves a lot of room to spread out. There are umbrella and beach chair rentals, I think operated by someone other than La Quinta. The cost is $25 per day for one umbrella and two lounge chairs

Summary:
In my mind, the hotel developer took a joe-blow anywhere La Quinta building and dropped it on the beach. They failed to realize that beach hotels get a lot more use and abuse than a hotel on any old interstate and is shows. Because of the poor service and continual facility problems I would not stay here again. I wasted a lot of time at the front desk and waiting for maintenance people which detracted from my vacation. There are better options on the island for beachfront lodging.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chupahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta and Orbitz so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing