We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, staff not too helpful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great value, staff not too helpful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2006

The hotel itself was a great value, room plenty big and clean. Loved the access to the beach. The daytime desk staff, however, are LESS than helpful. Bordered on rude. Now, I'm trying to get a refund of the money they overcharged my credit card, and I can't even get someone to answer the phone.

In short, great place to stay if you don't have to deal with the people.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    350
    136
    91
    86
See reviews for
505
352
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2006

I strongly recommend this hotel!! The room was spacious, clean, and well-lit. The location was excellent - the last hotel on the northern end of the strip so the beach was not crowded at all. Somehow we got a king bed, jacuzzi, and sitting area for $63/night - I suppose mid-April is off-season, but we could not have asked for a better price. Breakfast was good - but do get there early. We also found the concierge helpful with finding and scheduling activities for us.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LondonLove330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

Great weekend break for family, we were visiting family in San Antonio from the UK. Whole family and dogs. Rooms really large and could easily accomodate two adults, three teenagers and two dogs!!. Good atmosphere for all the family. Would definately use La Quinta again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, NY (A Suburb of Buffalo)
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed at La Quinta from Mar 31- April 8th. Had a nice time there but saw many glaring problems. Below I've listed the good, bad, and ugly. If anyone would like more information, please feel free to email me harp6614@hotmail.com

The good points-
1. The hotel is at the end of the beach and is very nice and secluded from the other hotels. It's great that the hotel is directly on the beach. The area is great for walks on the beach.
2.Our room 209 had a nice view of the dunes and water even though it was staged back from the beach front.
3.Grounds were pretty well kept and natural beauty of the area was great.
4. Breakfast and Happy Hour were a plus.
5. Rooms were clean and stocked with supplies. Fridge and Microwave a definite plus.

The hotel is average and for the location the price is good.

The negatives-
1.Upon arriving we found that the area to unload bags was small and parking not well planned. We had to lug our bags quite a distance across the parking lot. Check in was brief we got our keys and moved on but the hotel receptionist never mentioned breakfast hours or happy hour tickets.
2.We discovered our room was directly above the maintenance room and could hear workers pounding with hammers at all hours. In the stairwell there were at least 10 broken air conditioners fully exposed for our entire stay. They were rusted out and dirty.
3. The pool area was small. There were definitely not enough lounge chairs. We ended up buying beach chairs to lay on. The hot tub was broken and was barely lukewarm.
4. Breakfast selection was great but we ate in our room most of the time. The breakfast room was crowded and there were flies around. Also the waffle maker would beep each time a waffle was done. I found it annoying. Happy hour was okay. They only served Budweiser and Bud Light along with boxed red or white wine. Soft drinks were also available. Nachos and popcorn were good but resulted in Seagull Fest 2006. Each night someone just had to feed the seagulls. Needless to say they were hovering in droves squaking. People coming out of the bar with drinks or snacks were instantly attacked by birds begging for food. It was unpleasant.
5. I tried to call the front desk a few times but no one answered the phones. Front desk personnel spoke english but some maintenance and housekeepers did not. I found it difficult to communicate with the maid when we needed more towels.
6. Weddings on Saturdays. Both weekends we spent there were weddings on the property. I found that when there is a wedding all else fades away like the hotel forgot there were other people staying there. The first saturday we had just arrived the night before and went shopping for groceries when we returned we found out a wedding was going on and all of the bell carts were being used to bring in cake, decorations, dj amplifiers etc. We were told that no carts would be available for a few hours but we could park in the fire lane to unload groceries. That would have worked except the area was filled with the vehicles of the caterer. Again, we lugged bags of groceries and cases of bottled water across the parking lot.
7. The TV power button was smashed in and the remote was duct taped together.


All in all our stay at La Quinta was pretty good. The hotel was not top notch but the price made up for it. I would stay again, it's hard to find a place right on the beach, in a great location, that serves breakfast and gives 2 free drinks per night and does it all for a low cost. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pack513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2006

Our family of four stayed at the South Padre Island La Quinta 30 March to 2 April 2006. It was a combination business trip and pleasure. We chose the hotel based on the reviews we read on this web site.

First, the location. The hotel is to the north of the main tourist area. The benefit to this is that there are less people along the beach. This makes it great for family walks. The hotel is also across the street (the only street!) from the Sea Turtle Rescue facility, so the kids have something to do besides collecting sea shells. The main disadvantage to the location is that there are no restaurants nearby -- and there is none in the hotel. So you'll have about a three to four mile drive to get a good meal. The hotel has a free breakfast -- waffles, etc. -- but you need to get there early. We showed up on Friday morning an hour before the breakfast was over and they were already out of milk for the cereal. The hotel also has a happy hour (from 5:00-6:00pm) where they serve free hot dogs and nachos. They also have drinks. So, you won't starve, but you'll have to drive to get a good bite to eat.

The hotel advertises free high speed Internet access in the rooms. They did have a wireless network and also a hard-wire network. But neither one of them was working at all during our stay. We told the desk on the first day that we needed to be connected to the net for business. They assured us it would only be a couple of hours before a technician arrived to repair the networks. In fact, every time we asked the desk about it, the technician was only a couple of hours away. This lasted all four days. The guy never showed and we never had Internet access. They eventually offered us 10 percent off our bill, but we weren't paying for it, so it did us no good. They do have a "business center." However, it was often filled with young people accessing myspace.com. I was able to use it to check my mail late at night, but you can forget about using it for business.

We had a great view of the Gulf outside our window. On the other end of the hotel was the parking lot. It was a very narrow lot, so there is always a short walk to get to the hotel from your car -- especially if you show up at dinner time or on Saturday afternoons when there are wedding receptions taking place at the hotel. At least you won't have to worry about parking spots being taken by the general public -- they have a policeman checking the cars entering the lot on weekends.

There are two elevators in the hotel -- one at the front of the building and one at the rear. The rear elevator is located right next to the passageway to/from the pool and the beach. Surprise! The floor in front of that elevator is always wet! But instead of placing mats there to keep you from falling, the hotel placed a "piso mojado" sign there. It was enough to convince us to walk very slowly on the floor there. However, we observed one large gentleman learn the hard way about walking on slippery floors -- he fell right on his hip. It's a good thing he wasn't elderly.

The maid service was exceptional. I was surprised that they turned our room in the afternoon (we had the "do not disturb" sign up in the morning). The staff was kind, but not very helpful.

The pillows were okay, but the beds were hard. We woke up with sore backs every morning. We also experienced some of the really soft towels. The reason they are soft is because the cotton tufts are coming out! After drying myself off, there were little bits of cotton all over my body. But they were definitely better than the hard towels, which is what we usually ended up using.

Overall, the accomodations were okay, but they could have been better. It seemed like the theme for the hotel was: we'll do the minimum it takes to get by, but no more. Next time we visit South Padre Island we are going to try another hotel. The convention I attended was in the Radisson. That hotel looked to be a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank csnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2006

I vacationed with my family of 4 at LaQuinta March 24 through March 31, 2006. The hotel accomodations were excellent. The facility was well cared for and very clean. The staff was very friendly and personable. The pool area was beautiful. I wish the pool had been a little warmer. The beach was beautiful.

If you are going to South Padre be careful of your beach location - some areas of the beach are awful, with black sand, hunks of concrete and fence posts that were buried in the sand at sometime but are now broken off. It looks like there was some type of damage. We were told that the far north of the beach and far south were the best areas but to avoid the middle section and from walking on the beach I can agree. At LaQuinta which is the furthest north hotel, it was beautiful. Be sure to take a drive north on the beach road and experience the dunes - it is beautiful!

We went on the Dolphin Watch and Eco Tour and it was great fun. Great for kids of all ages too!

Very relaxing vacation.

Restaurants we visited were Amberjacks - OK but not great - service was bad and we were charged a tip of $17 for a $40 meal due to Spring Breaker surcharges - good thing because the waiter was horrible - he even had dirty clothes!
Blackbeards - Good food - seafood was very good - get there early there is usually a very long wait.
Tom & Jerry's - Bar type setting - excellent food!
Jessie's Cantina - Mexican food - horrible - we did not like it at all and it felt unclean but the servers were very friendly.
Shrimphaus - Food was good and a quaint atmosphere with the 2 person band performing - it was a shame there weren't more people - it could have been fun!
Marcello's Italian in Port Isabel - (Excellent food and service - wish we would have found it before our last day! Great food!

Helpful?
12 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2006

We visited the hotel during Spring break week so it was very busy and full of kids trying to prove they could drink. As it was so busy it took about 30 mins to check in, all desks were open though. Our rooms were very nice and one of them was upgraded to a seaview on the beach end of the hotel with a jacuzzi in the middle of the room!

The hotel was in a bit of a mess with all the kids throwing beer cans and food all over the place but the hotel staff were excellent at keeping mess to a minimum.

I would definitely visit again - just not during spring break!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maidelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing