We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2006

We just got back from staying here for three nights and thought this was a very nice clean hotel. The pool is rather small as is the jacuzzi but both will do. The hotel seemed to be full of seniors who really enjoyed the free breakfast and the two free beers/wine at happy hour. Next to impossible to get to sit and eat a continental breakfast if you come down around 8 A.M. I guess the early risers just liked to sit around and talk after breakfast so we carried ours back to our room every day. Same thing at happy hour. We didn't even bother going back to the happy hour party after the first day, just found it more enjoyable going out to see the sunset and relax with a drink elsewhere.Easy access to beach and quiet areas as this hotel is the last place on the island and a few miles down from most of the lively places.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEACHBUM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,325 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pennsylvania
12
Reviewed February 3, 2006

Spent 2 nights at the La Quinta and enjoyed it. Built approx. 2003. Guests friendly, mainly snowbird seniors from norther states. Got the room we reserved, facing the ocean, curved balcony in the center..see exterior photo. $90 + 13.5%tax.Clean. Micro & fridge. In room phone did not work, reported it x3. Laundry, $2 to wash and dry. Happy Hour = Free, 2 tap beers or box wine, pp/perday, nachos & popcorn. Brkfst= standard options + cappichino machine. Nice patio/pool area to view the ocean, hot tub. Ramp to the beach, can walk for miles,shelling & fishing. Computer (3)access, gym, concierge on first floor. Ample parking. We would return.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
13
Reviewed January 4, 2006

Stayed during December, considered off season and it was somewhat cool for the first few days. I have to say what a nice place. Very clean from the moment you drive in the parking lot. The entry and check in was also very neat and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice, more than I expected. Wireless internet in the room free. Computers downstairs if you didnt bring a laptop, very nice. Cool veiw of the ocean, I doubt there is a bad room in the place. Nice pool area on the ocean side. This hotel is right on the beach. We stayed 4 days and were given a rate of $48.00/day, what a deal. First Class place!

Stayed: December 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We went during the high season, so my biggest priority was location. The La Quinta is wonderfully located, on the quiet north end of the beach. The beach itself is a few steps away, past the pool area.

The room itself was spacious, with 2 queen beds and a pull-out sofa. However, the moldy smell was pretty strong. A microwave was supposed to be in the room, but it was not. However, I couldn't see that we'd need one during our stay, so I did not request that one be brought to our room. The room was carpeted, which is nice in a beach hotel, and the daily cleaning was thorough.

The bathroom was bare bones - a few skimpy towels and 2 small bars of soap and a bottle of shampoo. There were no lines to hang one's wet bathing suits, which was a nuisance. We ended up hanging our suits on the teeny balcony, weighted down by rocks so that they wouldn't blow away. And the sink had an awful odor emanating from it when you turned on the water - they checked it out, but could not find the source of the problem.

The balcony was so small that we really couldn't enjoy the view. There was barely enough room for the 2 plastic chairs, let alone enough room to sit down and stretch your legs out.

The breakfast was pretty basic, but they did have a waffle maker. The pool was teeny and always packed. They have a lot of space, so I have no idea why they made the pool so small.

If you want an excellent location and an okay place to sleep at night, I would recommend the La Quinta. When we return, we will probably stay at the Holiday Inn Express, which is very close to the La Quinta location but is not on the beach. Since we couldn't enjoy the beach from our room anyway, we'll save some money, and enjoy a better breakfast and a cleaner room.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SmithsAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2005

My wife and I stayed at La Quinta over the Thanksgiving holiday. Based on another reviewer's recommendation, I cancelled my "oceanfront" room and booked a normal room (and was glad I did). At check-in the friendly receptionist gave us the option of which side and we took the recommended side with the better ocean views. The room was large and clean, and our view was nice.

The positives about the La Quinta are many: new hotel, great views, right on the ocean, rooms have small fridge and microwave. The area of the beach where the La Quinta was located is spacious and not right next to other hotels. The included breakfast buffet is not spectacular but was free. The included happy hour was not anything to change plans for, but is a nice thought I guess.

Negatives: dogs allowed, small pool and hot-tub. As a non-dog owner it's odd being in a hotel with several dogs (though we didn't notice any "messes").

The beach was not pretty when we were there but that is not the fault of the hotel. Probably due to the recent hurricanes.

If you have realistic expectations (and understand that this is a 2.5/3-star hotel), you will definitely enjoy your stay at La Quinta. We would not hesitate to book again if we were to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ATXhoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2005

Booked on La Quinta website and asked for oceanview room. $90/night. New hotel with 4 stories on the beach. 3rd floor room had small balcony which overlooked the pool, jacuzzi, beach and ocean. We opened the window and door and enjoyed the breeze and surf sound. Hotel shaped like shoe box. Our room at end of the rectangle. Other rooms on long side of rectangle also have small balconies and have diagonal view of ocean. Our room had microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, internet access. cable TV. The hotel had a fitness room, business center with computers to check e-mail, activity desk to book excursions. It gave us coupons for a free drink at happy hour. A light breakfast was also included. From the pool area, one could walk down steps to the beach. Many guests brought their dogs. The only problem was ants in the bathroom but maintenance sprayed and we didn't see the ants again. Would return for another holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d33j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Weslaco TX
12
Reviewed October 14, 2005

When we made our reservations online we were looking for the best rate and not actually the best place. We do not get to take vacations very often but when we do we normally go to south padre island. When we arrived to say the least we were suprised. We had no idea that we were going to have a room that had such a breathtaking view of the ocean. When we booked the room it was the cheapest room they had so we didn't think we were going to get a view at all. We had every ammenity we could possibly need (microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, internet access, and a sofa sleeper that we did not expect that came in very usefull for our two small children. I spent most of my time on our balcony reading my book and occasionally looking up and watching the waves come in. My husband and my children spent most of their time on the beach or in the pool. My husband also booked a fishing trip at their activity desk which was very convienent. They also have a happy hour room where we were able to sit back and have a couple of drinks by the ocean. Out of all the trips we have made anywhere this was our most enjoyable. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. We will definatly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,560 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,602 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
340 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $90 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing