We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Beach Hotel and Very Pet Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Walton, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Beach Hotel and Very Pet Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here while on vacation and had a very pleasant stay. I had brought my dog and she was able to stay for no extra cost. I would not book this hotel for a romantic get away, but it would make for a fantastic family vacation spot at a reasonable price. We went at the beginning of May and were able to get a room for $63 a night with a AAA discount. I would not recommend getting a gulf front room as it would most likely be quite noisy from the pool below and the bar next door. We stayed on the side facing the HIlton and heard very little outside noise. The hotel staff were friendly and there was great beach access. There is also a snack bar by the pool which serves regular and adult beverages.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side facing the Hilton are very quiet. There is a noisy bar on the south sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sere B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you choosing La Quinta and taking the time to leave very kind comments regarding your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our pet friendly environment, great rates, and overall enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be pleased that you found them friendly and accommodating. Please come visit us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank You,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    336
    133
    90
    84
See reviews for
488
341
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lq SPI was a great value. It's a full service hotel right on the beach with poolside grill and bar. Perfect for weekend get away. Spouse and I never left hotel. Right next door stumbling distance you have one of most popular island bar with live entertainment. The hotel next door offers similar service as lq and charges twice as much for their rooms. Spouse already booked next visit, and we're taking the kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank 1dadof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying with us with fellow Trip Advisor users. We are glad to hear you loved our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to read honest reviews of satisfied customers. We can wait to see you back here again during your next visit with the kids.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for business and pleasure On the 2nd of May this year. The best value is stay during the week from Sunday night through Thursday Using the Southwest green value coupon book. This is available for many Texas Welcome Center. Stay on the top floor It is the most noise free do too thin ceilings. There elevators at each end of the hall. Parking is very good. But they should at ballet because it's a long walk to the end of the driveway. Excellent breakfast. Both American and Southwest Mexican style. Great pillowtop beds And every room has a setting balcony ihat viewa the Gulgroad of Mecico.Also a great beach For swimming and surfboarding and sailboarding. Don't forget to stop at Joe's restaurant behind the post office in Port Isabel across the bridge, Fantastic seafood and cheap prices. Adios amigos.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you had a great and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for complementing our breakfast, hotel rates, and rooms. Our staff will be pleased to know that they have been very accommodating and helpful. Thank you for choosing La Quinta Inn and we hope to see you the next time you’re in SPI.

Bests,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I was at this hotel between the 25th and the 29th of April 2013. On the 28th morning, after breakfast I left my purse on the chair in the breakfast area at closing time. We were almost the last to leave. When we did there was only one person still having breakfast and it was past 10:00 am so noone else could have come in. my purse was hanging from a chair that was right in front of the kitchen door in a corner to the side of the room. As soon as I discovered my purse was missing, I ran back to the breakfast area and I was informed by the staff that they had brought my purse to the concierge. There i found my purse. My ID and credit cards were thankfully there but my cash was all gone, save for one dollar. It was about $80.00. I complained to the front desk, but they did not even make the slightest attempt to write down a report, or promised to ask the staff about my purse and its contents, they pretty much just stared back. Unsatisfied by their reaction, I went back minutes later and asked them whther they could look at their cameras, but they said apparently they had none in the breakfast area. I strongly suspect the staff. I will not be back.
Also, there was construction during the weekdays right next door so we were awoken every day to incessant hammering. On the weekend, loud music from a business next door went on until midnight. The pros are that it is on the beach, with a very nice access, it is sufficiently clean, it is close to a bird nature preserve.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TXHUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean, there was an abundence of staff about, especially mopping the tile on the first floor that lead to the pool. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The pool was usually too crowded to enjoy, but thinned out to tolerable levels on weeknights after 9 pm. The front desk desk was very helpful, even gave my daughter some burn cream to help with pain after she encountered a man o' war on the beach. The beach front location was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ru2020bmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us and fellow Trip Advisors users a quality review. We are very happy you had a great time with us. We appreciate you pointing out the cleanliness in our hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. Thank you for choosing us once again and we hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

kids in pool and hot tub all night, constant running and noise all night, no security, and employees at the hotel no help...if you are looking for a get away for two as we were and booked a suite looking at the ocean ? save your time and money as this is not it period...

Room Tip: dont stay here ... is a good ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank connie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing