We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, short walk to the beach. The building itself is old and dated, and not very clean. The layout of our room was great, we had a balcony overlooking the pool and beach and a Jacuzzi tub. The king size bed was extremely uncomfortable and our backs were very sore by the time we left (we stayed 3 nights). The cleanliness of the room was ok, but the hallways and elevators and stairways were dirty and smelled horrible. The breakfast was just ok, they did have eggs and tortillas to make breakfast tacos which was a pleasant surprise. The bar and grill by the pool closed one hour early one night we tried to eat there, not sure why. Didn't even get in the pool as it was so small and crowded, same with the hot tub. Were kept awake at night by people in the pool/hot tub at all hours of the night. Wouldn't recommend a room overlooking the pool for that reason. We won't stay here again, the Hilton Garden Inn next door was MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a valued review and for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, the short walk to the beach, and your room. We are apologize that our cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations and we can assure you will not find the same problem if you visit us again. Let us prove this to you and please give us another shot.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    368
    146
    95
    88
See reviews for
549
370
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff is very helpful for your special needs, esp Frank at the frontdesk. Being on the beach directly, only one on the island, it naturally is going to be sandy some of the time. Beds are comfortable, linen white. Breakfast is large and freshly cracked and cooked eggs. Very pet friendly but not much green space for the dogs. North end of the island had less traffic. The beach bar will bring in a younger noisy crowd for spring break. We have been there for 3 months every year x8 and enjoy it. Yes, the hotel is looking worn but each season things are getting updated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your to the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for choosing La Quinta Inn. We are always happy to hear of a customer who really had enjoyed themselves. Our staff will be thrilled you like our large breakfast, pet friendly atmosphere, and the friendliness of the staff. Please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

While the staff and location is great and I suspect this could be one of the better hotels on SPI, our experience was disappointing. Hallways are about 100 yards long and seem to amplify noise. Young kids and dogs running the floor not great for sleeping. Bed was uncomfortable and worst pillows I've had in years. I travel about 75-100 nights year on business and came away with back ache and neck worse than any other hotel.

Room Tip: About 20% of rooms are near road and face hotel to the East. This means your room has a view of bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeinone53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for choosing La Quinta South Padre Island and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff. However, we are truly sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. We hope that you choose to stay with us once again and allow us to prove our dedication to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This property is one of the 'new' style of LQ Hotels (vs. the older style LQ motels). We stayed here one night because of the good reviews. It has very good beach front access and the beach is really nice. Has a small pool and tanning area and bar by the pool. The hotel looks really nice, although it is starting to show its age. They put us on the first floor and as I walked into the room I was awed by how pretty it was, with the 10 foot ceilings, nice fixtures and drapes, and sitting area in the room. The room was very nice and clean!

The "mixed bag" portion is the repairs that have been done to the hotel are done "second" class and quickly, i.e. the door stop on the wall was missing, they just "paint" over marks and the paint doesn't quite match the original. Also, did I mention that on the first floor, the hallways are all ceramic tile? Well, now that i've stayed a night, I know that the ceramic tile acts as a acoustialc enhancer, meaning everything is loud on the hallway. It was a terrible night of sleep because I literally heard everyone going down the halls. (When the a/c was running, it was fine, but whenever the a/c stopped, you could once again hear everything). If you stay here, be sure to pay for a second floor or higher room.

We walked next door to the Hilton Garden Inn. It is REALLY nice. MY TIP: If you can swing it, stay there instead of this LQ. Pool and common areas are much nicer and bigger and everything looks to be taken care of better than at the LQ. Would I pay $100 more for a room at the Hilton? No, but if it's the same price or close, definitely choose the Hilton.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room or higher. Don't let them put you on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you took the time to write such a thorough and informative review. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms to be clean and very nice. We are very sorry you had encountered difficulties during your stay with us. We are going to look further into the tile issue. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that you will consider giving us another try.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

IF YOU LIKE DIRT, LOTS OF KIDS AND MUSIC BLARING TIL 2 OCLOCK IN THE MORNING, This is the place for you! Planned a relaxing 3 days on South Padre. This was our first visit and we were really looking forward to it. Arrived late at hotel expecting to get dinner, relax and sleep. We had reserved the jacuzzi beach front suite. The room was ok, no decor, but you had to get past kids to get there. Balcony tiny and sand everywhere. Buckets of pine sol in lobby, obviously for show, because place was dirty. Right next door on beach was a band playing. It was so loud that the room vibrated! The front desk apologized but said there was nothing they could do about it. We kept tv on trying to drown out music. Needless to say, no sleep was had. My husband goes to get coffee in morning and opens door to a guy sleeping against it! that was it. We weren't staying. Went down to checkout and again was told they couldnt do anything about loud music. Didn't flinched when I told him about the guy sleeping next to our door. Asked to speak to manager. He wasn't in but they gave me his number to call. Have tried and all I get is a voicemail that the mailbox is full. BEWARE! Not what you would expect of a La Quinta.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and really appreciate your business. We are very sorry you had so much difficulty with your stay. Spring break during March can be a hectic week for anyone on South Padre Island. These types of incidents are not common here and can assure you a different experience the next time you visit South Padre Island. Again thank you for our feedback your opinion is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is outstanding. Everything about our stay was tremendous. Not only is the hotel right on the beach but it has a nice pool and cabana area. In addition, the hotel is right next to Clayton's Beach Bar, which is dubbed the largest beach bar in Texas. Our room was clean and spacious with free Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was the best I've ever seen and they have it in a large conference room on the fourth floor. Parking is free. The staff was friendly professional and courteous and the hotel has security so it is quiet at night. I can't say enough good things about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to express them. We are delighted to read that you found everything about your stay tremendous. Our staff will be happy to hear that you had enjoyed their presence. Thank you once again and please come visit us again the next time you are in South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falfurrias, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose La Quinta due to the hotel being pet friendly!! We were able to enjoy our stay while having our pets with us. We hope to make this the hotel that we stay at again. We go yearly for the Spring Break Jam Car and truck show which was walking distance. Very nice and clean hotel and the hospitality from the staff was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Public Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Monica,

We appreciate you choosing La Quinta Inn and expressing honesty. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with your pets this spring break. Thank you for complementing us on our cleanliness and hardworking staff. We hope to see you again when you visit next year!

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom.We also have several electric car Charging Stations available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing