We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel & Pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel & Pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in a King Jacuzzi suite Dec.22nd - 24th. Booked on Hotel.com for $60 a night. Great price for the room. It was very large and had a nice sitting area. The room was clean and bed was comfy. Not much of a view because we we're on the first floor. We chose this hotel because we we're traveling with our dogs. There were a lot of dogs at the hotel so if your not a dog lover it's probably not the place to stay. Beach area was nice. Pool was like bath water which was great in December.

Room Tip: We would probably get a room on a higher floor with a view next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrystaAlongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Krysta, I appreciate you taking the time to leave us wonderful comments. We can’t be more satisfied knowing you had a great stay and enjoyed yourself in the pool. We are glad you loved the 2 nights you stayed. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    321
    130
    88
    83
See reviews for
470
323
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We use LaQuinta almost exclusively, because of the pet friendly policies. This hotel is very nice! We stayed on the third floor overlooking the beach to the north (odd numbered rooms). An added bonus for us was the natural setting and plenty of wildlife to see right out the door to the balcony at the state park, next door. Very quiet setting, and one of the better LaQuintas we have stayed in. Staff is very courteous and knowledgeable about the area. Beach and pool are easy to reach and very inviting.

Room Tip: North Side (Odd numbers) on the 3rd or 4th floor are great if you like serenity!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konglish1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Konglish, thank you for your nice words. We are pleased you loved the natural setting of the wildlife, our staff, and the beach and pool. Our staff has enjoyed your company as well. Next time you’re in South Padre, please come see us again. Once again thank you for choosing La Quinta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed one night on December 13th, a very good time to avoid crowds and get low rates. We were on the third floor, beachfront, for less than $100 including tax. The pool and beach were only a few steps away, The breakfast was very good with bacon and three choices of eggs as well as other standard La Quinta fare. The TV reception was below average, but the wifi was very good. Across the street is great bird watching at the Birding Center and around the Convention Center. Also saw alligator and turtles there.

Room Tip: Go third or fourth floor toward ocean. Beachfront good, but not a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCWazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff will be pleased to hear you also enjoyed the breakfast and location. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you once more for choosing La Quinta during your visit to South Padre Island.

Best,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Some people will love this hotel. We might be a bit too hotel "snobby" for it. We do typically like Starwoods (Sheratons, Westin, etc) and this place isn't remotely close to one of those. I found the breakfast inedible (no fresh fruit, or fresh baked items... just hot waffles and some scrambled eggs with "stuff" in it). I also found the hotel to be less than clean.

However, is there a good value to be found here? Sure. The pool area is pretty nice and warm (although broken - the hot tub is crumbling). The views from the north facing rooms are very nice (avoid south facing rooms if you can). The beach area (minus the giant sewer pipe) is decent but not as nice as the southern South Padre beaches in my opinion. The "free" drinks include beer and wine from a box. For a modest upcharge you can get better stuff.

Again - cleanliness is in the eye of the beholder, but the hallways and rooms felt like they could use a bit more TLC. The first floor area is newly tiled and looked nice. The stairways were especially dirty.

Staff is nice and accommodating. The next door Hilton Garden Inn (owned by same people) is much nicer (and much more expensive).

The hotel allows dogs, and you will see them everywhere. Our favorite hotel (by far) at South Padre is The Pearl.

Room Tip: Avoid South Side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlight206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, extra clean rooms, big free breakfast, and the best mattress my back has ever felt. I have stayed at more expensive hotels in my travel assignments, but this was a last minute thing. I don't regret it, and recommend it to all my fellow nurses and doctors that I work with. You can choose the ocean water or swimming pool. You can sit in the sand with a beach umbrella or by the pool , either way you can't beat the view. What a hidden treasure your hotel is. Check them out. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra to see and hear the ocean at night, it's worth your attention to recognize some of GOD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 80RUBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron R, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ruben,

We appreciate you choosing La Quinta and taking the time to leave very kind comments regarding your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your bed and your stay with us. Our staff will be pleased that you loved your time with us. Please come visit us again the next time you visit South Padre Island.

Thank you,
Aaron R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

pleasantly surprised!!! we arrived early and to our surprise the front desk was happy to let us check in at noon!! (might not always work as they were pretty slow for december), but we were very grateful for it. Rooms were clean, maintenance was painting walls and performing upkeep. Breakfast was great. We'll definitely be back!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MeiselTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service
The GM came buy several times to inquire about service
Oysters on the half shell were well prepared and better than good
Cevechie was amazing
Try the capt Morgan shrimp
Yummmmm
Wonderful service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShAronmarie3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
3.9 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
Address: 7000 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a Texas Beach hotel located on the north beach on South Padre Island. Hotel is located directly on the beach, featuring an ocean-side swimming pool, restaurant and bar. Enjoy free wireless high speed internet in your room, throughout the hotel, and outside to the pool and beach! Free bright side breakfast every morning featuring fresh Belgian waffles and a made-to-order omelet station. Host events for up to 200 people in our grand ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
La Quinta South Padre Island
South Padre Island La Quinta
s Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing