We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Odd place, not horrible, but not too good either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
grand parairie, tx.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Odd place, not horrible, but not too good either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Started off with high hopes, found rate on web, so emailed the hotel to see if they wanted to match rate and save 3rd party fees. GM agreed to do this. Turned out that we were able to extend our stay by two nights, so we asked for rate for two extra nights. GM quoted a really high rate for the extra nights, so looked on web for rates, found a reasonable rate and forwarded it to hotel GM to see if she wanted to match again. She refused, and cancelled out previous reservation. We then booked through a website at a rate about $50.00 lower than GM offered.......odd that she would rather pay 3rd party fees than match rate.....oh well.

When we arrived, hotel had a musty smell, and the reception lady was indifferent at best. Went to room and elevator was quick and clean. Hallway had the same musty smell as did the room, which was simply old and tired. 1970s furniture (old sofa with rips, old mattress, 1980s refrig, tube tv, no coffeemaker) but morning view from balcony was magnificent!

Housekeeping ladies were very nice and pleasant. My g/f is hispanic and we conversed with HK in Spanish and they were the nicest politest folks at this hotel without a doubt. Front desk folks were not so pleasant.

Friday night the drunk folks across the hall came in @ 2:30 and were running up & down the hall laughing and yelling for about an hour before we finally called front desk. First call to front desk went unanswered for 15 rings, hung up and called again and answered in 6 rings. It is not management's fault that other guests are inconsiderate, so we do not hold them against the management....not at all.....just know that this is a party area and this CAN happen.......the test is what management does about it.....in our case, the noise did stop aboput 30 minutes after our call to the front desk was answered (about 4:00 in the morning)

Check out was just like check in, cold and robotic.

Decent value for a family with kids, rooms big enough for a family of 4 for a fair price. Probably good for a group of teens/young adults to share a room to save cash and go to SPI to party. Would not recommend for any other visitors. There are many other options for couples or other vacationers that are a better value and a lot nicer properties.

Room Tip: SOuth side had morning sun, north side has evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank councilman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    32
    18
    29
See reviews for
71
32
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were looking for an overnight "get a way" on the beach and found the Padre South Hotel.
A very good rateand a room with a small balcony with an ocean view. The hotel is built so that each room has the view. We were on the 6th floor and enjoyed the sunset from our balcony. The rooms are set up for long stays with a kitchenette, full size refridgerator, stove, dishes, pots and pans and a couch with a very comfortable queen bed.
The hotel is older but has been updated and is very clean and the staff was very helpful.
We would stay here again if we have a chance to get to the beach!

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor, the hotel has 8 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I got a special rooms rate for a queen and sofa room on the internet Trip Advisor / Easytobook.com . Didn't know what we would get for a view, but it was great...a small balcony viewing a big stretch of ocean on the north side of the hotel. The hotel is positioned so it looks like most rooms will have a great ocean view even if not an ocean front room. Short walk to the beach, big wooden chest was an easy marker to find to get back to hotel from the beach. Nice foot wash entering the hotel area from the beach to get rid of that sugar sand. Extra clean room, good carpet, bedspread, big refrigerator, set up for those staying more than the 1 night we stayed with stove, cupboards, kitchen sink. Would have preferred 2 queen beds, but for the special low price ($52 tax included) we were very satisfied with 1 queen and sofa on a Friday, January 25, 2013 . Friendly staff. Easy check-in and check-out. Great location. Great stay. Quiet night, good bed, good rest. Air conditioning was on when we got there and kept the room the right temp without touching it.
No breakfast but complimentary coffee in the lobby. Friday night rate was higher at most hotels than the Sunday thru Thursday rates, so were very happy to get the same rate rather than the higher rate as that's the night we needed to work with our Port of Brownsville Tour via the shipping channel, after which the 4pm check-in worked great. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. If we need a hotel room on SPI again, this will be the one we'll go to.














  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As stated in many other reviews, this hotel is dated in appearance and amenities. Beyond that, it offers a decent room for a reasonable rate. The staff were friendly and the lobby and room were clean. The availability of the kitchenette was a plus as was the close access to the beach. If you're looking for basic lodging, and frills aren't part of your plan, this place should fit your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellaspasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I are both in management in hotels and after the brands we work for would'nt come through for us on an employee rate, we just decided to go with something inexpensive and on the beach (those were the requirements). When we arrived we were given a room on a high floor with a great view of the beach and the bay. The room was large and more than suited our needs for our stay. It is true tho that if you're between the ages of 18 - 30 the staff won't aknowledge your existance. But that was'nt a big deal to me because I did'nt feel that was what I was paying for anyways.

Room Tip: A room on the north side to see the sunset, a room on the south side for nice lighting all day and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

I had visited this hotel before, the pool and Jacuzzi anyway, as one of my best friends always stays here when she visits the island. Great, large, cold pool and big, hot Jacuzzi. Having actually stayed in this hotel overnight, the pool, Jacuzzi and beautiful beach views are worth the very reasonable rates. While the rooms are in serious need of updating, the kitchen with full refrigerator, stove, sink and all dishes, utensils and pots and pans is very convenient. The 4th floor room we stayed in was very spacious with a queen bed, sofa sleeper and, best part, roomy balcony with an awesome view of the (#1 reason I love the beach!) the beach! I am already planning my November vacay at this very hotel :) FYI, no one likes to talk about it but I will...the bathroom didn't have a vent or window so do pack air freshener ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornchita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Property: Padre South Hotel
Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing