We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“for us folks that truly love the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“for us folks that truly love the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

this is an old property and it shows. don't stay here if you're expecting a bell boy, concierge, or for anyone to even care that you're there. don't think you'll be pampered or doted over. it's sorta like an, old, highrised motel 6. it needs some renovations - ie the floor in our room had a definite slope (on the 6th floor)! the ceiling tiles would flop around if the sliding glass door to the balcony was open! scared me half to death - haha I thought we had a ghost!
bottom line:
the rates rock
bed was comfortable and clean (the pillows sucked - bring your own)
kitchenette was nice, there were dishes, silverware and pots & pans and everything worked
all rooms have view of the beach - make sure to request that your room isnt facing the hotel's bar/restaurant next door
air conditioner was good
one major thing - check the sliding glass door before you unpack. I happen to be very fit, but getting that door to slide open & closed almost pissed me off. the door and the track weren't made for each other.
one small thing - there is a path from the hotel, straight onto the beach. BUT the sand is fairly deep - its ok for me, but kids, old people, and pregnant women looked like they were never gonna make it! certainly not any handicapped access that i could see. it would be nice if they built a narrow wooden walkway? stepping stones?
I must say, if the beach is where you wanna be and you can't afford luxury (as I), this is your place
marena, erica, lisa were very kind (as was all the staff)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gostephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    44
    30
    17
    29
See reviews for
62
30
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

As a lot the reviews say, this hotel needs a major facelift. The rooms are still stuck in the 70's. Tv was old, buttons didnt work. Remote also broke. Only one burner on the very old stove worked. But at least the rooms did had a stove, fridge, with plates and utensils. We stayed on the 8th floor with a great view. Pool was nice. And of course the beach access was awesome. There are lots of things to nit pick here, but we paid $66 a night, so im not gonna complain much. Cant beat the price for a hotel on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickygunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Staying in this hotel is a BIG MISTAKE. We got a 2 bedroom suite ( were a family of 6), at $350 / day. Here's the problems - the room was dirty and smelly, toilet flush is not properly working (it took them forever to fix it), air conditioning is weak, room service is BAD, the worst part - the staff are really rude (it felt like they are not happy that you're there). I honestly felt "scammed". We are never coming back to this hotel. It's a nightmare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I don't understand people that complain about this place. Yes its a bit old but it's a beach hotel. We stayed for 9 days and the views are amazing. Decent room. Loved the kitchen and staff. Definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkinbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room was humid, out dated and had tiles in the ceiling that would displace every time a door was opened due to the vacuum effect. The room service was awful and we could tell that sheets were not replaced nor was the room vacuumed or the toilet cleaned. The air conditioning was very weak. The whole hotel needs a renovation because it looks like it was built in the 1960's and has never been maintained. Staying in this hotel was a BIG MISTAKE. We'll spend the extra money next time and stay in a nicer place even if it means we won't be on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel could use some updating but the rooms were clean and well maintained. Had a great time and trip. Will definately be returning to South Padre Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungGun8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The view was awesome 8th floor and through room was perfect for our needs.we had a blast and would disregard all the negative posts. its the best bang for your buck. we will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnergunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachside Inn
Beachside Inn
#26 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Property: Padre South Hotel
Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing