We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"A Nightmare"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A Nightmare"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Staying in this hotel is a BIG MISTAKE. We got a 2 bedroom suite ( were a family of 6), at $350 / day. Here's the problems - the room was dirty and smelly, toilet flush is not properly working (it took them forever to fix it), air conditioning is weak, room service is BAD, the worst part - the staff are really rude (it felt like they are not happy that you're there). I honestly felt "scammed". We are never coming back to this hotel. It's a nightmare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    32
    18
    29
See reviews for
71
32
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

I don't understand people that complain about this place. Yes its a bit old but it's a beach hotel. We stayed for 9 days and the views are amazing. Decent room. Loved the kitchen and staff. Definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punkinbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The room was humid, out dated and had tiles in the ceiling that would displace every time a door was opened due to the vacuum effect. The room service was awful and we could tell that sheets were not replaced nor was the room vacuumed or the toilet cleaned. The air conditioning was very weak. The whole hotel needs a renovation because it looks like it was built in the 1960's and has never been maintained. Staying in this hotel was a BIG MISTAKE. We'll spend the extra money next time and stay in a nicer place even if it means we won't be on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel could use some updating but the rooms were clean and well maintained. Had a great time and trip. Will definately be returning to South Padre Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungGun8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The view was awesome 8th floor and through room was perfect for our needs.we had a blast and would disregard all the negative posts. its the best bang for your buck. we will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnergunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3x. The rooms are clean, the pool & huge outdoor jacuzzi are kept clean. The staff is very friendly. One reason I stay here is that the rooms are $10/night cheaper if you walk-in or call first, rather than booking online, the hotel is on the beach with outdoor showers to rinse off, a change house next to the huge hot water jacuzzi, the pool water is cold, refreshing & clear, the restaurant/bar next door has live entertainment on the weekends, a meeting room for 75 people, every room has a balcony with partial to full ocean views, fully equipped kitchens in all rooms. The downside is that although it is very clean, it seems a little shabby (old carpeting, dated furniture/bedding). You have a short walk to get onto the beach & the rear elevator & steps are usually wet &/or sandy from people coming in from the beach or pool. One major drawback with this hotel is that there is no breakfast. There are vending machines & hot coffee in the morning. Although there is a bar/restaurant beside the hotel, it is not open early, & the hotel is quite a few blocks away from any place serving hot food in the morning.

Room Tip: The Two-Bedroom/Two-Bath Suites are well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antchralx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pharr, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was just there this weekend, April 27 thru 29. This hotel is one of the older hotels at south padre, I had never stayed here, and after reading the reviews I was a bit concerned. But Im happy to report that it was not at all what I expected, yes the hotel fittings and appliances are old, no LCD here, but why do you go to the beach, to watch TV? the room is spacious, clean and fresh, I have stayed on newer hotels where there is a musky smell for the humidity, not here. I did not saw any bugs on the hotel or the room, which is always a good sign. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the beach. It has a fully equipped kitchen. One more thing I loved was the balcony, most hotels have open railings which was concern for me with two toddlers, not here, it is a completely closed railing, with a view to the ocean. If I have to be picky, definitely bring your own pillow, but that is me I cant sleep without my own. In conclusion, this is not a hotel to impress or brag about, but it is in an excellent location, clean, well maintained budget hotel. I will definitely return here, and can safely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Property: Padre South Hotel
Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing