We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Padre South Hotel”
Review of Padre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padre South Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3x. The rooms are clean, the pool & huge outdoor jacuzzi are kept clean. The staff is very friendly. One reason I stay here is that the rooms are $10/night cheaper if you walk-in or call first, rather than booking online, the hotel is on the beach with outdoor showers to rinse off, a change house next to the huge hot water jacuzzi, the pool water is cold, refreshing & clear, the restaurant/bar next door has live entertainment on the weekends, a meeting room for 75 people, every room has a balcony with partial to full ocean views, fully equipped kitchens in all rooms. The downside is that although it is very clean, it seems a little shabby (old carpeting, dated furniture/bedding). You have a short walk to get onto the beach & the rear elevator & steps are usually wet &/or sandy from people coming in from the beach or pool. One major drawback with this hotel is that there is no breakfast. There are vending machines & hot coffee in the morning. Although there is a bar/restaurant beside the hotel, it is not open early, & the hotel is quite a few blocks away from any place serving hot food in the morning.

Room Tip: The Two-Bedroom/Two-Bath Suites are well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antchralx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 232 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was just there this weekend, April 27 thru 29. This hotel is one of the older hotels at south padre, I had never stayed here, and after reading the reviews I was a bit concerned. But Im happy to report that it was not at all what I expected, yes the hotel fittings and appliances are old, no LCD here, but why do you go to the beach, to watch TV? the room is spacious, clean and fresh, I have stayed on newer hotels where there is a musky smell for the humidity, not here. I did not saw any bugs on the hotel or the room, which is always a good sign. The hotel has an excellent location, right at the beach. It has a fully equipped kitchen. One more thing I loved was the balcony, most hotels have open railings which was concern for me with two toddlers, not here, it is a completely closed railing, with a view to the ocean. If I have to be picky, definitely bring your own pillow, but that is me I cant sleep without my own. In conclusion, this is not a hotel to impress or brag about, but it is in an excellent location, clean, well maintained budget hotel. I will definitely return here, and can safely recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Before you book this hotel decide what you want from your vacation. If you enjoy instant access to unbelievable ocean views and to the beach, without breaking the bank this is the place for you! The best time to stay here is off season. The staff is polite and go out of their way to accommodate you. This is the second year we have come done here, and we knew before we booked our airfare we wanted to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shermansbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

STOP!!!! DON'T STAY IN THIS AWFUL HOTEL...We asked to see the room before check-in and the room was old, it stunk. Everything was old; carpet, etc. My husband was not going to stay in such a nasty room. She still charged us $136.00, even though we called and asked not to stay in that room...it was their policy.

Room Tip: Renovate...the whole building is old, old, old and stinky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank dianaga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We arrived around 11 pm the Friday of July4th weekend. Family of 4 with two boys ages 10 and 9. Our room had several issues. By the following morning we realized there was no hot water, the patio door would not open and there was something wrong with the humidity in the room (beyond normal for the beach) as the floor was visibly wet, towels damp etc. We requested another room and were accomodated with another room without any problems. The next room was perfect. The hotel is older, clean and the employees were responsive. The location is right on the beach. The pool and spa area was great. Lobby area has a microwave (as there is not one in the room), coffee, screen tv, couches, pool table, and many tables and chairs that allow you to watch out of the pool. Walking distance to CVS, Denny's and other eateries, shopping. Each room has a kitchenette with basic dishes for 4, pots\pans, dishwasher detergent,silverware. It was reallly a great vacation and we saved tons of money eating in our room. We will likely opt for the larger room next time. It was a bit small for the four of us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TexasBOB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This Motel seems to be an older hotel...but we had no complaints at all! We were right in the middle of all attractions. It was the best place for the money. We could walk to beach and kids had a blast in the pool and hot tub! We will stay here if return to South Padre again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,604 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre South Hotel

Address: 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6738
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: $58 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Padre South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Padre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre South Island
Hotel Padre South
Padre s Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing