We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Everyone Should Visit and Learn About How We Can Save Our Turtles

This is an excellent turtle rescue facility and education centre. As plastic multiplies in our... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Donna S
A great look at an amazing organization!

This non profit works to rehabilitate Sea Turtles. Their presentations are informative and the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
normana53
,
Bothell, Wa
via mobile
Read all 2,561 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around South Padre Island
from $114.25
More Info
from $39.99
More Info
Reviews (2,561)
Filter reviews
2,526 results
Traveler rating
1,829
567
115
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,829
567
115
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews injured turtles gift shop large tanks permanent residents turtle rescue small donation suggested donation small place these folks learning experience great place to visit all ages entrance fee whole family great job facility rehabilitation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,526 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

This is an excellent turtle rescue facility and education centre. As plastic multiplies in our oceans, these wonderful creatures and increasingly at risk. We were very surprised that 1) Texas governments allow people to drive on beaches critical to turtle breeding grounds and 2) they haven't banned plastic straws. SPI has banned plastic grocery bags thankfully. Take your kids and teach them how to respect our oceans and reduce plastic consumption. The education classroom session is a must during your visit.

Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This non profit works to rehabilitate Sea Turtles. Their presentations are informative and the rehab center has great success in returning Sea Turtles to our Oceans. The cost of admission helps to find their operations. We would recommend visiting to help a great cause!

Thank normana53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Before leaving the Island Sea Turtle, Inc. is a must visit. This is such a wonderful and educational place to visit and learn about the rehabilitation of sea turtles and the impact humans can have on keeping the oceans clean. It was great to see the different types of turtles that were in the turtle hospital, some would be able to return to the sea and some would never leave Sea Turtle Inc due to their injuries. This can be a full day visit or a half day the choice is up to the visitor.

Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sea Turtle Inc is one of our family's favorite places to visit. Cool to see the turtles and to learn about them. Also awesome opportunities to see them release babies!

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would have liked to see more sea turtle but it is a rescue so I guess it depends on need at the time. Friendly staff. Spent about 45 minutes there and it was enjoyable.

Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you visited Sea Turtle, Inc. prior to hurricane Harvey you saw a ton of sea turtles crammed into small tanks in a cramped building. Not anymore, the new visitor facility is open with an auditorium for presentations and a half dozen very large tanks. The live presentations are great and you can still visit the old hospital facility via a boardwalk. You gotta love the turtles and this remarkable place.

Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So glad we visited!! We Had such a great time. We enjoyed seeing and learning about the sea turtles. There is a great gift shop, indoor Fish-tank and a new addition in the rear. These people do such amazing work!! Definitely worth making time to visit this amazing place!!

Thank luv2travel3336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very interesting and informative about the sea turtles and what we can do to help. They did not have many there at the time of our visit but that's a good thing actually, they just had a large release back to the wild.

Thank kennethrebecca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While visiting South Padre last week, we had made plans to do and see a lot of things but were prevented by the bad weather. Our last day here was nice and sunny so we got to cram the whole week as much as we could into one day! One of the places on our list was this turtle rescue and rehabilitation center. We developed a love of sea turtles after seeing them in the wild in Hawaii for many years. I noticed reviews claiming this "wasn't much fun" or "hot and small". We'll it isn't a circus or zoo attraction...it is a serious business of rescuing injured sea creatures and trying to rehabilitate them for re-introduction to the sea. It is meant to be a learning experience as opposed to "fun". Many years ago I visited Sea World (when it was a "learning facility" instead of an amusement park). I went back a few years later and did not recognize the place for all the rides and "fun"...the lessons of saving our oceans and the creatures in them was totally lost. Off my soap box...we were given a look at what some of the things man does that affects these turtles. Giant fish hooks, nets, motor boat propellers, trash...all things that endanger ocean creatures such as these turtles. I learned a lot. We were able to be there at feeding time which was interesting if not "fun". The facility does seem small however there is a huge amphitheater, exhibit area and gift shop just a short stroll along a boardwalk directly behind the main building. There you can view holding tanks for some of the largest turtles, aquariums of colorful reef fish, gift shop and nice bathrooms.

1  Thank mhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s small but worth it. I enjoyed this trip so much! The staff is very friendly and informative. And you can adopt a turtle!

Thank elizabethg4114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews