We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attraction and a small donation helps their cause!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Turtle, Inc.

Sea Turtle, Inc.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ila Loetscher, the "Turtle Lady of South Padre Island", originally formed our organization to save the Kemp's ridley sea turtle in 1977. Now we are a sea turtle hospital with a mission to rehabilitate and release any injured sea turtles, increase awareness concerning their safety and habitat, and assist with conservation efforts for all sea turtle species. We are funded by donations, grants and gift shop proceeds-- For rehabilitated sea turtle and hatchling release text message notifications, please see our website membership page. See you at Sea Turtle, Inc.!
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great attraction and a small donation helps their cause!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Very informative! My child loved seeing the sea turtles and reading how they had been rescued and why. You look inside tanks and see these amazing creatures swim and eat. So cool that spi has this!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kmthig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,430
    459
    87
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shady Cove
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Care for Damaged Sea Turtles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I really appreciate what these folks are doing to care for the sea turtles who are missing appendages. It's amazing to see how some of them can survive. Allison is the one I remember most because she has only one fin left and has been fitted with a prosthetic fin. She gets around just fine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItchyfeetsLonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was a rainy day on our first day in Padre so we drove around and decided to play here for awhile. What a great idea and what a treasure this place is. The price is right with a $3 suggested donation. The staff is wonderful and will answer any questions you have. The turtles are gorgeous and the only thing that was frustrating is that you can't touch them and understandably so, they are just so neat you want to reach in and touch them. I would reccommend going. They get all turtles from in the bay that float up. What a wonderful place! Great employees!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Neat but overcrowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Think our visit would have been much better had we gone at a different time. We got there as soon as they opened, it's a small area & there was no room to move or breathe. The sea turtles were neat to look at.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss Sea Turtle Inc!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped here on a rainy day to kill time and I'm so glad we did. Kids loved seeing the turtles up close and listening to the educational presentation. We ended up spending well over an hour here which surprised me. Great to hear that they're expanding in the future. Can't wait to come back and see what's new.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim3027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Turtle, Inc. also viewed

 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Turtle, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing