We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to see”
Review of Whaling Wall

Whaling Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I didn't know much about Wyland until my husband read a book about him. Wyland has done 100 wall murals around the world, as a large canvas on which to work and to promote preservation of the oceans, particularly whales. This wall on South Padre Island is his 57th wall. His wall murals are worth seeing and we will search them out from now on when we are on holidays. He complets them quite qucikly. He once di 17 in 17 weeks. That he able to keep his perspective while painting on such a large "canvas " is amazing. His sculptures which we saw in hawaii are incredible.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KLMRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    26
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibbon, Nebraska
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Photogenic Creatures”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Whole families stopped to have their photos by the wall.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peacenplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
280 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wyland's Whaling Wall”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I love Wyland's art work and especially his whaling walls. This is one of his best and biggest.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KSMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“must see”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

it is so pretty. There is also a little bit of stuff to see around the building. WATCH BIRDS. Alligator walkway. Butterfly garden. Plants. All must see.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank June8912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can be appreciated by all”
Reviewed May 15, 2009

This is a must see for any artist or sea lover. I thought the three-wall mural was a nice stop and great photo opportunity. The detail is incredible and the fact that there are about 100 of these throughout the world makes it rare and a pleasure to take in.

Helpful?
2 Thank scoobster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaling Wall also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Whaling Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing