We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont go there, theyll have you arrested”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“dont go there, theyll have you arrested”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

i was there with my wife on our honeymoon. there were only about 6-8 people in the hotel, we were one of two honeymoon couples. each afternoon i went out and exercised just like i have for twenty years in countries, states, towns all over the world. headphones on, kicking a hacky sack, pushups, pullups, situps, stretching. third day there, third day of exercising on the hotel grounds at five in the afternoon. the desk clerk called the police on me as a suspicious character. cops showed up baffled that any idiot would deem exercising as suspicious. they were irrritated that they were even called. one cop said that it offended him as a hacky sacker. they had to run my license and i had a misdemenor traffic warrant out of nueces county. i was arrested.. on my honeymoon. i spent twenty hours in the cameron county jail in brownsville. 500.00 cash bond. thats not even the worst part. my wife was left alone to fend for herself in unfamiliar territory. she drove 40 miles in the dark out in the middle of nowhere to find the jail. no help or even acknowledgment from the front desk. once she got there she found out that it would be the next day before i got out. she went back to the hotel, packed and checked out. still no assistance or acknowledgement. and they went ahead and charged the 200.00 bucks for the night neither one of us was there because the management had me arrested. my parents had paid for the stay as a wedding gift. when they found out they were quite irate. called the management.. desk clerk lied on me to cover her own self because she was outside the office smoking a cigarrette when she called the law on me. i saw her across the parking lot, didnt think anything of it at the time. she said she tried to make contact with me and i ignored her. i was wearing big white headphones to my mp3 player and exercising. the cops watched me for several minutes before approaching me and found me decidedly unsuspicious. desk clerk never left her smoking post 75 or so feet away to approach me. she lied. i was arrested on my honey moon., my folks were charged the 200.00 dollars for me to go to jail. my wife was left to fend for herself although the hotel knew that they had me arrested and the management stil prevaricates. the place stinks. dont go there. they will have you arrested. i have police statements backing my story. they have nothing. i am attempting to find any security camera video from the surrounding area. let me wrap this up by stating that i was stone cold sober. i dont drink or do drugs. i was exersising on my honey moon. i am a veteran marine who has done those exercises all over the world. never was accused of strange behavior or was arrested for it until i stayed at the palms resort in south padre island texas on my honeymoon.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank steve0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
30
92
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

When we first checked in we were put in a room poolside, but realized that with 2 dogs beachside was much better for us. The manager rearranged some reservations to make sure we were accomodated with beachside room. without inconveniencing anyone else and was very polite and accomodating to us. Room was very clean and very relaxing, almost like an apartment on the beach. Great food at the cafe and worth the money. Filet was outstanding!! I cut it with a plastic knife! Servers at the cafe were very friendly, especially Gilbert and Havier. Hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We have traveled to a number of beaches around the world and found the definition of a "perfect" stay unique to the location. Fortunately, with a bit of research we usually end up fairly satisfied with our hotel and location. That had never been true of our trips to South Padre...until now.

The Palms Resort reminded me of the best of the Florida-type beach hotels we've stayed at: neat, clean, convenient, fun. You can stay more cheaply on the island - or find some place with free breakfast - or some place with more elegance. But, for a clean room, good bed, nice bath, kitchen, and beach access, this is about the best spot on SPI.

We came in from the beach and had margaritas and a meal at the Cafe - only to watch the moon come up over the Gulf. Pretty awesome.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort hood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

The rooms were good size the location was great you could see the ocean from the balcony the service was great the food was a little pricey but very good loved the fact that the free shuttle would stop right in front of the motel or the restaurants were in walking distance. We had such a good time we cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keicorcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

I wanted to add our comments on our stay at the Palms and read the one from the wedding guest. I have to wonder if it was their problem...
Anyway, the staff was so helpful to us and the staff always seemed very happy and pleasant. The room was great, very clean and comfortable. The Cafe on the Beach has the best seafood baskets and the pancakes are #1 in our book. A must stay at place for comfort, friendly service, great price for staying right on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachluver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALLEN, TEXAS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

Where oh where do I begin?! This did not live up ot the good reviews on this site at all!
My husband and I were there for a best friend's wedding and we occupied 7 of the maybe 20 rooms available. When we checked in, we were told that we were to be checked out the day of the wedding!! That they were completley booked but they would check into it for us to see about staying longer! How nice of them huh?! They said we had made resevations that way and so it was our fault. WHatever!! why would you be part of a wedding party but check out that day? Come to find out the bride and groom had their resevations messed up too!! So we went searching for another hotel with another couple to try and find some place to stay should we get kicked out.
We found La Quinta to be soooo nice and helpful and we wished we could have stayed there. So they had room for us and when we called to get out of our reservation becasue of THEIR fault, they somehow contacted their manager within 10 minuetes to say they could move us to another room and we were ok to stay. They provide no refunds and so we were stuck. They moved us to another room. Our ceiling was leaking!! we just put a cup in the doorway, we knew there was no changing our situation.The bed was the worst part. All of us complained about our aching backs and horrible beds. The place was kept very clean.
I said to the girls at the front who could not seem to get one thing right, that we should free t-shirts (they were cute) for our troubles. They said they would check w/ the mgr. We checked out and of course, not even a freakin free t-shirt was given to us!
The view was nice, the beach acess was nice. The breakfast was horrible service and very strange tasting, and costly.
The wedding turned out beautiful so all was forgotten but DO NOT STAY HERE!! There seemed to be much nicer places to stay around us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEAHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2009
As an owner of the Palms Resort, I am always grateful to our guests for taking the time to give us feedback. We appreciate all input, especially that which allows us to learn and improve. We also appreciate that Trip Advisor allows us to respond to postings that are incomplete or misleading. I read the comments posted by "Very Disappointed" with a great deal of concern. The experience she outlined was disturbing because we work very hard every day to make sure each guest has a great experience.

I met with our staff and reviewed all the paperwork on this particular reservation to understand why there were so many issues with this guest. There were five separate reservations for guests associated with this wedding. Each couple called separately to make their own reservation. As is often the case with a group, not everyone arrived and departed on the same dates. It is interesting to note that the only problem was with the reservation for "Very Disappointed". This reservation was made on January 6th for arrival on February 20th and departure on February 22nd. When we take a reservation by telephone, we reconfirm arrival and departure dates, room type and rate, and credit card information before the guest hangs up. We also send a confirming email within 24 hours. "Very Disappointed" did not wish to provide an email address, so we reconfirmed this information with her over the telephone.

When "Very Disappointed" checked in late Friday night, the problem with the Sunday departure was identified. As she stated in her posting, we were fully booked on Sunday the 22nd. The front desk staff offered to work over the next 24 hours to see if they could free up a room for Sunday night. This involved many hours of work on the part of the front desk staff. They contacted in-house guests as well as those that were planning to arrive on the 22nd to reconfirm arrival and departure dates. The following morning another guest called to cancel their reservation for Sunday evening. The front desk staff then reviewed every room assignment and were able to move "Very Disappointed" into the room next door to their best friends. All indications from both guests were very positive and they seemed genuinely appreciative of the extra effort made. You might imagine how our determined young ladies at the front desk felt when they read the comments posted by "Very Disappointed".

We weren't able to substantiate any of the comments in this posting. We even contacted some of the other guests to get their feedback. Without exception, the other guests were very pleased with their rooms, with the hotel staff, and with the quality of the food and service in the restaurant. There were no problems with any of their reservations. We also checked the ceiling in the room occupied by "Very Disappointed" and found no evidence of a leak, nor was one reported by them at any time during their stay.

We are not perfect, but we work very hard every day to delight our guests. We are rewarded with guests that return year after year. Couples that get married on our beach come back every year to celebrate their anniversary with us. When our guests come back, it's like having good friends return for a visit.

We are also constantly investing in and upgrading our property. This past summer we installed new mattresses in every room. Last month we installed a state-of-the-art wireless internet system to offer our hotel and restaurant guests complimentary broadband service everywhere on our property....even poolside! And even though we couldn't substantiate the claims in this particular posting, we are making two changes that may help in the future. We will now require an email address so we can confirm all reservations in writing. We will also now repeat back not only the arrival and departure dates, but also state what day of the week they fall on. In this case, when we reconfirmed the February 22nd departure date to "Very Disappointed", it is possible that she did not realize that the 22nd was Sunday.

Thank you once again for allowing us to respond. And thank you to our many guests that have taken the time to give input. On behalf of the Palms Resort and Cafe on the Beach staff, you have our promise that we will always work hard to delight you ... every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valliant, Ok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

Clean neat rooms, limited maid service on request only, made bed and clean towels only. Check in staff unfriendly. Reasonable price. Small dressing area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadefValliant_Ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 3616 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Palms Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing