We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly staff”
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palms Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are very clean and the staff couldn't be more friendly. A great location just to walk down the beach. Has a restaurant with a view of the Gulf which is very convenient. The only suggestions we would make is the coffee maker is very small (just two mugs, basically) a challenge for java-holics, and there wasn't much space around the sink to lay out our toiletries. Otherwise good value for the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosawest74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
94
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

OK, it's on the ocean, but don't expect to see it, unless you go to the restaurant. The front desk was accommodating but not overly welcoming. The room, yuck. Very old, beat up, NOISY air conditioner, just icky. As a "suite", it was the smallest I've ever seen. Not worth the cost.

Room Tip: Nice chains on the North end of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parthelynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I’m so sorry that our guests from Ohio were disappointed with their stay. They stayed with us last week in one of our most popular rooms (#102). It is on the 1st floor at the northwest corner of the building. The best views of the water are on the 2nd floor of the south side of our building. Those are also our most expensive rooms. We never want to “over promise”, so we explain to our first-time guests that our rooms face north and south and the water is to the east…so they won’t have direct water views from most of our rooms. Having said that, this particular room is one of our most popular rooms in part because it is just a few feet from the beach access. The water views from the beach access are spectacular.

I was surprised by the “yuk” and “icky” comments and that the room was old and beat up. This particular room has several upgrades including granite counter tops in the kitchen area and the bath, a wall-mounted flat panel TV, and some cute beach-scene art. We work very hard to monitor the condition of each of our 28 guest rooms and address maintenance issues immediately. In addition to our daily housekeeping inspections, we do a thorough 47-point cosmetic and mechanical inspection of each guest room every 30-45 days. I checked the last inspection report for this particular room to make sure we had addressed everything found during the last inspection. The closet door needed some paint touch up, which was taken care of in mid January. The room has been occupied almost non-stop since then so we haven’t been able to do this month’s inspection yet. It is certainly possible that there are new items that need our attention, although none of the guests that have occupied that room in the past month, including these guests from Ohio, brought anything to our attention during their stay. The current occupant of that room is a repeat guest that always asks for that room. They’re staying for a week, so as soon as they check-out, we’ll do a complete inspection to see if we need to do anything else to that room. We called them as soon as we saw this posting to see if the a/c unit is making noise. They said it was fine….but one guest’s “white noise” can be just plain “noise” to another guest. Regardless, the customer is always right so as soon as we can gain access to the room we’ll take a closer look.

With regard to the size of the room, all of our rooms were originally built as one bedroom condominiums. They’re each about 340 s.f. They have a sleeper sofa sitting area; kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker; dining table and chairs; and a sleeping area with a full bath – most with an oversize walk-in shower. We refer to our rooms as mini-suites mainly to differentiate them from ordinary hotel rooms. I know some people prefer the big chain high rise hotels. We offer our guests a more personal, laid back atmosphere with clean, well appointed accommodations, direct beach access and an outstanding restaurant with breathtaking views of the ocean. We’re not perfect, but we sure work hard every day to be better than we were the day before.

Thanks to those that take the time to post on Trip Advisor ….you help make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Palms Resort twice and thoroughly enjoyed it. Keep in mind that I'm a female in my mid-50s and I prefer a laid-back down-home feeling as opposed to upscale modern amenities. I like the fact that the rooms feel like a little apartment as opposed to a hotel room. Even though I've only spent a night at a time here, I am certain I would be comfortable spending a month or two here. They have a fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, internet and cable TV. They are right on the beach and have a restaurant on-site. I will have to say that I think the restaurant is a little pricey, but then again, I think ALL the restaurants on South Padre Island are pricey.

This is just a small, two-story property, and not a large resort-type hotel. Be prepared for that, or you will be disappointed if you are expecting frills. It is cute, clean, and the employees are courteous and helpful. It all depends on what you want in a vacation. If you want top-of-the-line amenities with all the luxuries, go to one of the high-end resorts on the island. If you want just a comfortable homey and cozy feel, you'll feel at home at the Palms Resort.

One thing I would suggest is that they update their TVs to larger flat screen units that sit lower on the walls. Even though I don't watch a lot of TV when I'm on vacation, the units they have near the ceiling that tilt to the living and bedroom areas are dated and small and it's kind of uncomfortable to have to look up so high to watch TV. Just my opinion.

I would have posted pictures of my unit, but they look exactly like the others already posted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isladeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

While 'resort' may be a little grand for the size of this hotel, it's a very pleasant place to stay by the beach. The rooms are small suites on the order of an efficiency apartment, nicely decorated, clean , and comfortable.

The freshly painted canary walls are hung with unique paintings and prints with a beach theme. Curtains and lampshades display tropical leaf motifs. The sofa-sleeper in the sitting room is small and firm but serviceable.

The place is quiet and relaxing.

The Cafe on the Beach is a fun little spot to eat or drink within sight and hearing of the surf.

The beach is a short walk across the dune, and of course it is the finest in Texas, with clean sand and beautiful aquamarine water.

Padre Island Brewing, the execellent pub, is a few blocks walk toward the bay.

We were a little non-plussed to arrive to find the sign out front advertising a rate much lower than the one we got with our online reservation. Vouchers for a shrimp basket were a small consolation. Next time we'll call ahead a few days in advance. Even so, our online rate was pretty good.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the east end have the best beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FT Worth
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After eating at the Cafe many times, we finally decided to try the Motel. We usually stay at the Hilton and pay $$$ more. What I like about the Palm's is a direct beach access and you can actually see the water from your door or window if on the second floor. The room was clean with everything in order. The bed was a little above average and the shower was a walk in and not a tub shower. One of the best parts is the restaurant is right out your door and is one of the better spots to eat on the Island... the Don Julio margaritas are lethal. After having stayed at the Isla Grand, Hilton Garden Inn, La Quinta, etc.. It may not have all the amenities of the others, but it has a lower price and the essentials that make for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Texazstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just spent a weekend there. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the restaurant had some of the best food on the island. It was great having the hotel on the beach with the restaurant over looking the ocean. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BluewaterMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My love and I took a short notice vacation and looked up many places we could stay at we booked, checked in and had such a great stay that we extended our stay here! The staff was helpful and friendly.... Thanks especially to Matt (who really made memorable moments) and Sarah (for recommending to check out Sea Turtle Inc!) No other place can offer a low key and comfortable stay! And yes "that's a ship." Thanks Matt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 3616 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Palms Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the white sand beaches of South Padre Island, The Palms Resort is a relaxing oasis boasting beach front access, stylish, comfortable accommodations, and friendly, attentive service. Our resort offers guests the personal service of an intimate boutique hotel with the modern amenities of larger business hotels. Our award winning beachside retaurant (The Cafe on the Beach) is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Start your day with Eggs Benedict and a mimosa. End your day with steak and lobster and a fine wine. Enjoy mojitos poolside from our full service bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms Hotel South Padre Island
Palms South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing