We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palms Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$175
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$111
$95
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island Beach(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
$229
$206
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Condominiums(South Padre Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
81
60
19
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
60
19
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstons of hot watersmall hotelsqueen bedtwo storiesgreat staff and servicebeach themegreat happy hourshrimpoffice staffcomfortable roomsstayed nightsvery nice place to staycoffee makertrip to south padrerefrigerator and microwaveoff seasonsmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 177 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Palms Resort is always a great place to stay. It is clean, friendly, and close to the beach. The cafe is fantastic. The food is always very good and it is open air right on the beach. Very nice views of the beach. We love South Padre Island and the Palms Resort make our stay feel like home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here, room was clean, do put a sheet on the fold out bed b/c ours was really dirty but no bedbugs! coffee and breakfast taco at the restaurant can easily feed 2. Even tho the walls are thin and we heard loud party goers they eventually quieted down. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are traveling to the resorts of South Padre Island, Texas, at the very most southern tip of Texas. You will have a choice of High Rise Rental Condos, Hotels, Chain motels and some homes on the beach. For a wonderful change from these choices for a couple or small family, I reccomend the Palms. It is a 70s era Family owened Motel right on the beach. It has been modernized and imaculate (They need to update the TV's). There is a sitting/kitchen area and a sleeping area with comfy beds. The best kept secret is the Bar/Resturant right on the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is small and intimate with a great view of the wide clean beach and the gulf. The food is great and I strongly reccomend the breakfast menue. From Eggs Benedict to authentic Huevos Rancheros to the best pancakes I have ever eaten you just cannot go wrong. For a long weekend or a week at the beach you cannot beat the Palm

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Resturant/Bar if you go to bed early. Things do quite down by 10
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ETJ36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had been to this hotel before and loved it!! The restaurant and location(right on beach) were awesome!! However, I was disappointed this time around. It seems they allowed the maximum occupancy to be surpassed- the room next door was very noisy and no management on site to complain to and the refrigerator was not working. I will think twice about this place next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jac5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmetty, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

We always appreciate guests letting us know when we could have done a better job. Our guest did let us know that the freezer in her room wasn't working (it had frozen over during her stay). We were completely sold out, so we couldn't move her to another room. We offered to defrost the unit (since she was going to be in the room two nights), but she said she just needed ice. We gave her a 10# bag of ice and told her we would give her more if she needed it. As soon as she checked out the following day, we defrosted the freezer and it's working fine.

Unfortunately, with regard to the noise in the room next door, this is the first we've heard of it. We do have 24 hr coverage. All guests receive our 24 hr/day phone number to call if there are any issues (the number is also posted in all guest rooms). Had we known about the problem, it would have been taken care of within minutes (our night manager is just down the street).

I know we disappointed our guest this time, and for that we are very sorry. In this case, we thought she was satisfied with the solution for her freezer, and had we known about the noise we would have corrected the problem immediately. I hope she will come back and give us another chance to delight her with a great beach-side hotel experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms. The bathroom has a nice big walk in shower. The queen room sleeps two adults and one child, the pull out is just big enough for a child. It's got a mini kitchen in it with a sink, fridge and microwave. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs and it was very good. The burger was big and juicy and my husbands seafood platter was delicious. We will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Haydee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews