We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beware!! Stay at your own risk!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware!! Stay at your own risk!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Loud music, filthy sheets, sand in the shower, nail sticking out of boards, fly stick trap full of dead flies above the microwave and a spider on a pillow are just some of the reasons not to stay! My 9 yr. old daughter actually cried when we arrived! We made reservations for two nights, based on the pictures from their website, and requested a refund, but they refused, stating that this was their policy. I have pictures to prove it! You have been warned!

Room Tip: No good rooms available..find another hotel/motel. If there are none available stay in your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    7
    10
    26
See reviews for
23
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were only staying one night, so for 89 bucks on a summer Thursday, it was OK. Checked in, went to beach, came back for a shower, then out again until time to sleep, then gone by 11am. For this it is just fine. If you are staying longer, I would pick another place. It is a motel and it is very basic. My room was clean and the air conditioned worked. The shower is tiny so if you are bathing kids, it may be easier to wash them outside with the hose! The location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the condos they rent out @ Casa De Sol.The only good thing about it was the location. The room was very dirty it hadn't been cleaned it quite a while. The furniture and everything in the room was old fashioned. There was a nice and helpful girl in the office during the day but the one at night was not as nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDStAr_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stay away from this place. The only thing that they have going for them is that they are on the beach. My husband, son, and I checked in Monday July 2 knowing that the motel was old so were not expecting a fancy place, just a clean secure room. Well lt was absolutely awful to say the very least. The door lock was broken, the telephone had some kind of brown liquid leaking from it. There was a thick layer of grime on the bedside table and the kitchen was filthy, it looked like it had not been cleaned in quite some time. I walked into the bathroom and that had a thick layer of dust and grime as well. The shower stall appeared to have been painted several times with pain flaking and pealing off. As I was walking out of the bathroom, I noticed a painting that had several small dead bugs on it. My husband also pulled back the bed sheets on both queen sized beds only to find what looked like dark brown stains on the mattresses. They had put a mattress pad and foam cover over this disgusting thing. When I went to get the young lady behind the check in desk to show her the horrible state of our room she showed no emotion and did not apologize at all. She offered to switch our room, so with my stomach very queasy I agreed to look at another room. After looking at two more that almost as disgusting I said no and got a full refund to move onto another hotel. This all right before the 4th of July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Don't stay here! It is gross! I am not a picky guest, but this motel has really gotten worse. Stayed here once before and it was okay, but this time it was unbearable. It ruined our trip and even my boys were grossed out. Dirty sheets and towels, dirty and rusty sink, bugs...and much more. The staff was friendly and it was very close to the beach--it is beachside but NOT worth it, even for the price. You are better off staying at Travelodge for the same price but much, much nicer rooms. Unless you don't care about where you sleep and the condition of your room, then stay here. If you care, spend your money elsewhere.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank judydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you want your money's worth, then this is the place in SPI.
But if you want to spend more, then there are lots of other choices...

A reviewer below summed up the Surf Motel experience well by saying, "The Surf Motel is one of the last vestages of "the way things used to be." It is the true beach side experience."

I can't agree more.
And I made a reservation weeks ago to make sure I got the same room I had two years ago!

Perhaps it is just a guy's choice, but I do not care much for extravagence, while the atmosphere, amenities and surf are more important. Locals, travellers and tourist are here and are an eclectic mix of a times' past experience. If you prefer new and perfect accomodations, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Gross...Never again
Very old and filthy...glad i brought my own shampoo.they dont give you but 2 sm bars of soap..water pressure a joke. I feel ripped off badly. Choose another place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#19 of 32 in South Padre Island
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
South Beach Inn
South Beach Inn
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Edgewater Condos
#14 of 37 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at South Padre
The Inn at South Padre
#14 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing