We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled 1500 miles to get here: Second time staying...”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surf Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you want your money's worth, then this is the place in SPI.
But if you want to spend more, then there are lots of other choices...

A reviewer below summed up the Surf Motel experience well by saying, "The Surf Motel is one of the last vestages of "the way things used to be." It is the true beach side experience."

I can't agree more.
And I made a reservation weeks ago to make sure I got the same room I had two years ago!

Perhaps it is just a guy's choice, but I do not care much for extravagence, while the atmosphere, amenities and surf are more important. Locals, travellers and tourist are here and are an eclectic mix of a times' past experience. If you prefer new and perfect accomodations, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimmer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 67 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Gross...Never again
Very old and filthy...glad i brought my own shampoo.they dont give you but 2 sm bars of soap..water pressure a joke. I feel ripped off badly. Choose another place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Stayed for a week. I guess my only complaint is the age and lack of maintainence. Location is awesome, has a great deck in front of every room with outdoor funiture and BBQ pits. Great to hang out, have a beer and visit. There's a Tiki Bar right on the beach with a grill that serves good food, reasonable prices. Big burger and fries for $7. Beer is $3. Lots of locals hang out there to give you the island feel. Staff was as helpful as possible. Hot water took 5 minutes to make its way to the shower. Water pressure was bad. Beds and sheets were comfortable. Had a small kitchen that was convenient. Overall it's a cool place to stay, don't go expecting the Hyatt. Had some trouble with housekeeping, seemed like they work their own schedule and don't do a through job unless you're there to push. I guess it's an island thing. I'd stay there again. Ask for extra towels when you check in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This place is great! If you are looking for a place to just hang out, and not too worried about having the worlds finest, but are looking for a place to kick back with friends, hang outside your room, get to meet other people staying there....This is a great place. We met lots of people, the band members that were playing, danced with other people that were staying there. Right on the beach, you can just get up and walk down off the boardwalk anytime, you are right there. It is a little old and frumpy, but it is like an old pair of shoes, that you love, and keep going back too!!! If you are looking for worlds finest, this is not for you....If you are picky this is not for you....Their is a tiny pool that they clean early mornings, even it is not the lap of luxury...It is what it is...a neat little place on the beach......With a nice little bar that is handy, and a cool shady place to hang out with tables and grills outside the rooms. And even they are not that clean! Let you know up front, Bring your own foil!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oiculs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had read the reviews, but made a reservation anyway since a friend recommended this place. Like us, she had a daughter and grandchildren here from out of state.
After we paid the non-refundable $850 for two rooms for three nights, we went to the room. I was going to just let them have the money and go somewhere else, but was convinced that it would be wrong to just let them have our money. The room was clean - I never saw any roaches or other bugs - but the bedding was stained and the towels were so thin they wouldn't get us dry. You always have to ask for towels. I did note that the maids were taking off dirty sheets and washing them, they were just very old and stained.
I thought we had a Murphy bed, but it was a old stained matress that had been stored in the closet. We pulled it out so we could hang stuff up, so the matress became the focal part of the room. The toilet was unstable and everything was just ancient. Not quaint and charming, just old, stained, and tired. When I asked for a coffee pot, I got an old one without a lid which quit after two days. One bright point was that the window A/C unit was so loud that it drowned out any noise. Another not so bright point was that the parking lot is very small and most of it is taken up either by construction workers who are building a big condo next door, or else by people going to the beach, since there is public beach access between the condo and the motel.
The worst part was that when you opened our door, the bar ice machine and large bags of trash were right there in front of you. Not a great sight at 7 am. Plus a hose that people used to clean off their sand was right outside our window. If you took a right out of our door and took five steps, you would be with the bartender behind the bar. Luckily, we were there during the week and the bar closed at about 9:30. However, no one cleans the bar area after they close, so food such as half-eaten chicken wings and burgers are left on the tables. Plus the drinks and beer cans are left on the tables.
We were having a drink there one night when the bar closed and as soon as the lights went down, a baby possum mosied up to check out the food. Plus early in the morning we saw stray cats, roaches, and even a coyote, all drawn by the food that's left out.
Our friends had adjoining rooms and one door lock never worked so they had to all go in the same door. My friend told me that one woman who had been at the bar all one afternoon got locked out and couldn't reach anyone with the hotel, so she slept outside her door.
We ended up having a good time because it is right on the beach, but will NEVER stay there again. There are too many other, better hotels around. We checked out the Palms, which is also on the beach. It has been beautifully renovated and has a great looking restaurant and bar. Although it is $50 a night more, it would have been well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We just got back from a great stay at the Surf Motel. For 99 per night we had a very clean room with a kitchenette on the beach. Keep in mind that it's called Surf Motel, not Surf Resort. The building is old, but the owners are obviously working hard to keep it up, there was fresh paint and new lounge furniture. There is a large patio with grills to cook-out, and on-site beach bar & grill. The beach area in front of the motel has volleyball courts and there is a chair/umbrella rental service. The rooms have tile floors and they don't charge extra for pets.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We have stayed at the Surf Motel several times. The rooms are not fancy, but it was nice. We will stay there again, this year, and hopefully SOON.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#17 of 32 in South Padre Island
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Condominiums 302
Edgewater Condominiums 302
#12 of 35 in South Padre Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2612 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6940
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel is a beach motel located directly on the beach with access to a long boardwalk so your feet wont burn walking on the hot sand, definately a bonus during our hot summer months! All of our rooms have two double beds, microwave, fridge, sitting area, phone, cable, free wifi, and air conditioning. We have complimentary grills available on our large sun deck right outside the rooms with mulitple seating areas. Our motel has two floors with a large balcony on the 2nd level with a great view of the Gulf. We also have a full bar and resturaunt located right on site, and live entertainment Saturday and Sunday (wether permitting) Swimming pool and beach volleyball courts located right on the beach and we are walking distance to the Islands Entertainment District (Louies, Laguna Bobs, Tequila Sunset, Coconuts), Dining and Shopping. We are smack dap in the center of the island and every where you want to be. The island also offers free bus rides (The Wave)and there is a bus stop right out front of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel South Padre Island
Surf Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing