We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Alternative”
Review of South Padre Motel

South Padre Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Padre Motel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Harlingen, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No Alternative”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all we were not planning on staying overnight at South Padre Island but as it turned out we decided too and it was kind of late in the evening. After searching for a Motel/Hotel for an hour we came upon The South Padre Motel. The room was small and the tv was old and a 12in. There was no soap and towels but glad i packed a towel and had to go to the store for soap as they did not have any at the front office. Bed was old and squeaky and i can go on and on, but can't leave out that I killed a roach. There should be a rating on here that states, Stay Away!

Room Tip: Do not book this Motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hhscard83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    10
See reviews for
6
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

me and my wife stayed here for the weekend. I love the outside area great pool and barbecue area.the room was great very spacious and even had a stove and fridge.the workers are very polite and always waved to us as we passed.we came from San Antonio on our two day stay on South Padre Island, and we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamjr267985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay over the 4th weekend and could not have been more upset over this hotel. Our original hotel accidentally overbooked and we were forced to stay here for 2 nights.
Cons:
Fridge is moldy (they unplug it when previous guests leave)
Kitchen is unusable (rusty and cabinets don't close)
AC cools 1/2 the room (freezing when on and hot when off)
Mattresses are thin and uncomfortable
Trash from previous guests was found under the bed
Roaches....Lots of them....4 found in the room.....(Wife slept in the car the 2nd night)

Pros:
It is on S Padre
Pool was acceptable (once I cleaned it myself)

I have stayed at many hotels, motes, and resorts around the world. As I am a budget traveler, I have fairly low expectations. This met none of them. I feel the owners have given up entirely until the health department shuts them down. I am in the process of trying to contact the owner to air my grievances since this hotel almost ruined my vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Serat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Good rates,,good pool,needs music in pool area..good location,,we will go back in a heart beat

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louielongoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2004

There were 9 girls to share 2 rooms on our trip to Padre. THe staff was wonderfull and surprisingly enjoyed our nudity on the camera overlooking the hot tub :) When we were there, there was most definitely never a dull moment!! We've been to Padre several times before and stayed at the most popular hotels and resorts and this was our favorite place to stay!!!!! -jessica, whitney, haley, nicole b., tracy, shayla, nicole g., tiffany, laura

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2003

This unique motel is a paradise in itself. The atmosphere is true Tex-Mex. Southern Texas hospitality at it's best. The staff was wonderful and made us feel comfortable and welcomed. The other guests were from a range of cultures and also seemed to be relaxed and enjoying themselves. It was contageous. Our room had a microwave and more important, a nice cold fridge to store those essentials. The courtyard pool/jacuzzi/patio area is enclosed and child friendly. The pool was sparkling, only second to the South Padre Stars which are beautiful when viewed from the patio jacuzzi. My son and I enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.9 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#17 of 32 in South Padre Island
104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suites at Sunchase
Suites at Sunchase
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Padre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Padre Motel

Property: South Padre Motel
Address: 204 W Gardenia St, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7215
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Padre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Padre Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing