We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Inn the place to be”
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanna Wanna Inn
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“Island Inn the place to be”
Reviewed June 22, 2004

Island Inn on the Beach is a small Motel compared to some of the large ones around it-but it makes it nice because its easy to just walk out to the beach, the pool, or the tiki bar--we loved it so much we stayed an extra night. The staff was real nice-and the food at the Wanna Wanna was great too.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    20
    9
    18
See reviews for
17
32
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2004

The checkin people were absolutely RUDE. The rooms were filthy and they didn't seem to care about anything. The food was horrible. I can't say enough bad things about this place.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 13, 2004

PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THE ISLAND INN OFFERS HORRIBLE AND UNCARING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!My daugheter made reservations for a five night stay in April of 2004. She had her bags packed and was very anxious to go when one day prior to arrival her grandfather had a massive stroke and died. My daughter called the Island Inn and cancelled her reservation.
My daughter was told that due to policy she would be charged $89.67 on her credit card due to cancelling so soon to the reservation date. Upon hearing this and due to the unique situation I decided to call the Island Inn on 04/14/2004 and see if they would consider waiving the charge. I explained the situation and let them know about the death and was informed that she should have called and let them know 10 days prior to the reservation date. I again explained that her grandfather had just died this very morning and there was no way possible that she could have called ahead. I asked if they please would be considerate and waive the fee bedcause my daughter has limited income. They said absoulutely not. I mentioned that this was not very customer focused and the Island Inn representative acted as if he did not care about this at all. My wife called a short while later and again was told by a man claiming to be the manager that we should have let them know "10 days" in advance. My wife patiently explained (once again) that with the sudden death my daughter could not possibly have known and would they please consider waiving the fee due to my daughters's limited income. The manager then said the we should have called at least "two days" ahead to let them know. Again, my wife said the with the sudden death in the family there was no way to call ahead. THE MANAGER THEN HUNG UP THE PHONE ON MY WIFE. Whatever happened to proper care and customer focus and customer service??? Would it have been such and injustice or financial burden for the Island Inn to waive the charge and keep a customer satisfied??? My daughter is planning to reschedule her trip to South Padre in the Fall of 2004.....There is NO WAY that she would ever consider staying here again. My wife and I travel to South Padre and have always been treated with respect and excellent customer service while there...until now....I strongly suggest that the Island Inn puts more of a premium on customer focus and keeping existing and potential customers happy.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2004

We stay at the Island Inn whenever we are in South Padre. We enjoy the mom& pop atmosphere and the Wanna Wanna club is the greatest. The staff at the hotel and the club are terrific and I never hesitate to recommend both to my friend and family.

We are planning another trip to the island this summer and will definitely be staying at the Island Inn.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2004

Upon arrival we were very unhappy with what was discribed to us as an Oceanside view. For over $100.00 a night we had to share a balcony and look across a parking lot to see the ocean. Later in the bar, we saw at least 4 very large cockroaches on the counter tops and one on the balcony outside our room. We were so disgusted that we packed our bags and went back to the Holiday Inn. The manager refused to reimburse us our money and I found out they charged me for the room a week before we checked in. I wasn't able to stop payment on my account. From now on I will only stay at a 3 star hotel that is clean, gives excellent service and fantastic views.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 17, 2004

Really enjoyed the laid-back attitude of the ISLAND INN. In spite of my presenting a rather unplanned & erratic schedule,the hotel staff were willing to go to whatever lengths to accommodate & assure a pleasent stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2003

I spent the weekend at the Island Inn earlier this month. The Inn is small (24 rooms on 2 floors) but quaint and clean. The cheery rooms are decorated in a Carribbean-type motif with murals on the wall and painted furniture. My room had an awesome view of the beach, as do most of the rooms there. There was a small refrigerator and microwave and even a ceiling fan in the bathroom! The beach bar, Wanna Wanna, serves great food and drinks and the people-watching is the best. The Island Inn is convenient to beach sports, fine restaurants and within walking distance of a day spa for all your resort-type amenities. I will happily stay there again the next time I am in South Padre Island.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,506 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Property: Wanna Wanna Inn
Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7440 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing