We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok, but don't expect luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wanna Wanna Inn
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Boracay, PH
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ok, but don't expect luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Situated right next to the beach, this small hotel has rooms with fridges, microwaves, and ensuite bathrooms, on two levels. Most bedrooms had standard doors but ours had sliding door for entry - and the lock was so worn that the key wiggled up and down 45 degrees in the lock, and was difficult to lock/unlock. The bed was comfortable and the room itself was ok. The shower is not usable when (apparently) they're filling the swimming pool, which is in the mornings, which is when most people take showers... not good planning there.

The hotel has an open-air bar overlooking the beach which is very popular, not just with hotel guests. The food they serve is fried and mediocre but edible and plentiful. They had live bands playing up until midnight which one can enjoy from the comfort of your bedroom even with the door closed. Only the noisiest air conditioning I've ever heard in the room drowns it out.

If you're going to party then it's probably a great place. Quiet relaxation? No.

Room Tip: Probably slightly quieter to have a bedroom at the road end of the hotel instead of the beach end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    20
    8
    18
See reviews for
13
31
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stay at Wanna Wanna every year for the 4th of July weekend. We always get great service. The front desk (Junior) tries to accommodate us in every way he possibly can however when the rooms are in such desperate need for updates, it is hard for him to do anything. Shower pressure was non-existent. The pressue was worse (if that is possible), if they were using the hose to fill the pool; there was only a trickle of water. Water had a rank smell that lingered on your body and hair even after a shower. Our fake balcony had a sliding glass door that would not completely close letting in humidity. Beds were very uncomfortable.

As other posts have mentioned, this is a great location, right on the beach with a fun beach bar serving excellent shrimp however it is very apparent that the specialty drinks are watered down. Not worth the $12 to $14 a drink!! (Bring liquor to make your own.)

All in all, it is not the same place it has been in years past. The really need to spend some money and update the rooms and facility including the volleyball post and net. We will continue to come back but we will reserch to see if our money could be better spent elsewhere for lodging and just walk the beach to visit the bar.

As always, thumbs up for the Bongo Dogs and the gentleman playing acoustic during the day!!

Room Tip: Room 110 and the room next to it have the best view however you will have to deal with the water pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Made reservation and room wasn't ready so I was given a great room with siding windows toward the Beach, Swimming Pool & Outside Bar view. Great Room. Had a great time while I was there, Outside Bar had Live Music and music was great.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view and room 110 has the beo beach.st and the ones next to it which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reymundo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was looking for small, friendly hotel on the beach, but also with views of the beach. Wannawanna is small (about 15 rooms), everyone very friendly. It is right on the beach. For me, other than the friendliness, the main draw was the chairs on the balcony from which one could view the ocean. The common area around the bar/restaurant is huge. Ask for an upstairs room where the ocean view is better. The room was very clean and all the appliances (fridge, air conditioning, microwave, etc.) worked very well. The week I went there was live music at the attached bar/restaurant on weekends, including Thursday. You will hear this from your room, but this could be a good thing. If you want silence, book a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday evening. Management may give you a discount if you go on "off days," Monday through Thursday. Added plus were novels on loan from the office. One negative feature was the state of the door locks; difficult to open the doors from the outside. Perhaps they had rusted from the sea air? Whatever the reason, the management might do well to completely redo the lock system. I felt the accommodations would suit all ages, including myself, elderly single lady travelling solo. Would I go again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better ocean view from the balcony. Ask ahead of time if live music will be pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elinor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a friend suggest staying here. What a great choice! Can't beat being right on the beach with a bar and restaurant right there. Rooms are clean, nothing fancy, but just what you want when you're hanging at the beach! The bands were great, and you can hear them if you go to bed early, but they only play until 11. Can't wait to go back and chill with a pina colada or the Wanna Wanna!!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a nice view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bblack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well the place is good for couple. Staff is friendly and helpful.Room is cozy and clean. Best part It's right on beach. One will love to go for a long walk and enjoy the view. Prefer to book in advance. Have love music on weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankspune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was what we wanted and expected. It is not the best, but it is what we were looking for. Rooms were clean and acceptable. We were looking for something right on the beach and somewhere to eat and drink without having to drive. Only issue - we had a sliding door that could only be locked from the outside (it had a chain for when we were in the room). Did get the best price from booking online.

Room Tip: We wanted a view of the waves and for this you will need to be on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandbinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachside Inn
Beachside Inn
#24 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
#18 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Property: Wanna Wanna Inn
Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7440 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing