We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Wanna Wanna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wanna Wanna Inn
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well the place is good for couple. Staff is friendly and helpful.Room is cozy and clean. Best part It's right on beach. One will love to go for a long walk and enjoy the view. Prefer to book in advance. Have love music on weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankspune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Wanna Wanna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 105 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was what we wanted and expected. It is not the best, but it is what we were looking for. Rooms were clean and acceptable. We were looking for something right on the beach and somewhere to eat and drink without having to drive. Only issue - we had a sliding door that could only be locked from the outside (it had a chain for when we were in the room). Did get the best price from booking online.

Room Tip: We wanted a view of the waves and for this you will need to be on the second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeandbinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

First off its not a place I would stay, been there several times over the last year and have never heard someone say, oh best room ever! But for beach access and sitting and drinking the turbo Colada's, it can't be beat...

I love this little bar, I don't eat fried foods often, and that's really all they serve. But it is right on the beach, the sound and smell of the ocean, beautiful people and good music, don't short change yourself, check this place out. Might be your new home away from home as well...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank thirstycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were looking for a place in SPI on the beach that would allow our dog. Wanna Wanna fit perfectly. Nothing special, but right on the beach with a good bar (limited menu but good seafood, and good drinks) that has live music on occasion. Friendly staff.
Room is what you would expect for the price, clean room with ok bed and A/C. Shower was a little small without the best flow, but completely usable. Wifi worked well, had access to the lobby one stronger, but could see another one they had set up for the rooms farther from the lobby.
Lobby only attended through 7pm so if you're checking in late make sure to call and they will set you up.
Several rooms are pretty close to the bar/restaurant area so if you don't want to deal with noise you may want to stay away from that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skwatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

While vacationing in SPI, I learned about this place/hotel. We all went and ate, drank (fantastic drinks) and just a few steps - literally to the beach.

We could hear the music coming from Wanna Wanna which was a mixture and it made the perfect place to be at.

The staff there were really nice too!
... the one draw back that I would like to say is "on any given Holiday, your'e going to pay $199.99". OUCH!!!!!!

It's not the fancy hotel so therefore, I will state to look else where to spend the night. And if you do stay at Wanna Wanna, be ready to hear plenty of noice.
Otherwise, it's a cool place to be at.

Regards,
Sam E.

Room Tip: You will hear noices on every room. Your'e right by the beach and the music is feet away.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Housam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place gets four stars for its location, atmosphere, service and all around laid back South Padre vibe-- not for its beds, which are definitely two-star hard.
Formerly Island Inn, Wanna Wanna has taken the name of its adjacent beach bar and grilll, where you can get a "world famous" pina colada so good it will knock the flip flops off your sandy feet. The grill has a small menu of pretty good food, too.
Our room didn't have the fancy murals shown on the website, but it did have a full kitchen ,which was nice. The motel provided coffee for the pot, dish detergent, and paper towels. Need ice? Stroll down to the Wanna Wanna and fill your in-room bucket.
There was no phone in the room, but the office was right around the corner. There was also no remote for the TV, but a quick trip to the office took care of that. Don't be afraid to ask for something-- they probably have it. Parking is crazy because part of the side lot is public beach access. Motel guests get a parking permit to put in the windshied, whioh means you can park some designated spots on the side, front and front row in a lot across the street.
Although it only has 15 rooms, Wanna Wanna is a busy place where people come to eat, drink and party. If that sounds like fun, this might the the place fo stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are furthest from the bar action and probably quieter. Only second floor rooms wi...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne1973Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

So, for starters, don't expect the Ritz Carlton. This is a no frills place. Rooms are basic. They are clean and have a fridge and microwave. It is right on the beach. In my opinion, this is the coolest place on the island. Beach bar is great,strong drinks, pretty good bands, right on the beach. This is a really cozy place. It is a party place but, it is not crazy. It is very laid back. I had a blast. If you are a fancy person and have a hard time relaxing without luxury, go to he Ritz. If you like to have a good time on the beach, go to the Wanna Wanna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmonkey60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.8 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
1.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,547 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanna Wanna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanna Wanna Inn

Address: 5100 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7440 (Formerly Island Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $90 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wanna Wanna Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wanna Wanna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanna Wanna Hotel South Padre Island
Wanna South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing