We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Comfort Food & Great Service”
Review of Kelly's Irish Pub

Kelly's Irish Pub
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
193 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Irish Comfort Food & Great Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Several people had recommended Kelly's and even though we're staying just a block away, we hadn't gone until this Saturday. We will be going back!
The wife had the Reuben, which she couldn't finish, and I had the Shepherd's Pie. Rather than being served in a bowl or crock, this version comes out looking like it had been cut from a huge pan. Real mashed potatoes, peas, carrots, mixed with beef and lamb, all the perfect temperature.
This being south Texas, other offerings are available. One of the others in our party had fish tacos, which she rated excellent. Lots of other Irish staples, such as bangers & mash are also available.
They have 11 different brews on tap including Guinness and Bass Ale. They make a passable Black & Tan.
Very attentive service from the wait staff as well.
We will be going back before we have to go home!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bassn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good service & atmosphere - food is OK too!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for dinner Saturday night. Smaller place than I imagined. Good, noisy pub feel. Waiter was friendly and attentive. Great Scotch Eggs - good value at $4.25, with a pungent wasabi dip. Guinness battered shrimp were fresh and tasty, if a little too deep fried. Will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankerboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romeoville
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We were there on December 30th when the Green Bay Packers were playing. The service was great. The fish and chips were great. The Reuben was awesome. The meat was very tender. We will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank connnery007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
562 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Get the bartender some help”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The food was great. Loved the bangers and mash and my husband loved the Guinness battered shrimp. The service was great but the poor bartender is run ragged. The ambience was very Irish pub and the food quite typical. I would return.

Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband had the Rueben and I had fish and chips. Very good!This is an Authentic Irish Pub with a great atmosphere. They had a nice lunch crowd; not packed but popular with the locals and the visitors. We were there on Meatloaf day. Although we didn't have it, it looked delicious!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunnymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's Irish Pub also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kelly's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing