We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Room was not at all what we expected. Looked like something out of the 80's, No coffee pot, microwave out in hallway, bed hard and pillows very flat. Hole in ceiling above commode. Elevator slow and out of order one day - two elevators but only one working. Outside stairwell very dirty.
Went there for an anniversary weekend and was very disappointed. Will not be staying there again. It's fine for the Spring Breakers, but not for a special event.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting exactly what your expecting - ask questions re: view from room, is there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel was a nightmare! The lobby,hallways, and rooms smelled so very dingy. The elevators did not work. The stairs were full of trash and smelled of urine. We had to ask for clean towels. The bedsheets were stained. Tried going the economic route and got even less than what we paid for. Maybe a good stay for college spring breakers but definitely not for family with kids. Oh forgot to mention the so called breakfast is just a loaf of bread and reused coffee. No joke. Also pool was yellow. Guess they figure you are here for the beach anyway. Just disappointing .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Everything was so awful from the front desk to the room service. The breakfast was horrible coffee and gross sugar donuts. The elevator was always not working properly. i will never stay here again and warn friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmagggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel just has too many problems. For example, the elevators always get stuck, and when you need to talk to a manager there is never one available. If you ever stay make sure the price is right because you get what you pay for. The deluxe continental they advertise all it consist of is coffee and cheap sugar donuts. The jacuzzi outside doesn't even have a control for bubbles. It was my worst hotel stay ever.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

DO NOT stay here. We stayed here for a wedding and it was not a good experience. The elevators would stop and trap people in them or when you got in them they would not stop and let you off. You could not trust them and when we complained they still did shut them down and let other people get stuck. NONE of the ice machines worked. My parent's bathtub was backed up and they were told at 2:00 when they called the front desk that the plumber had gone home so they couldn't help them. When we complained to the front desk and wanted to talk to the manager we were given the run around. This was the worst hotel experience we have experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel at premium prices, the rooms left a lot to be desired for the prices. In-room coffee maker worked one time. Elevator stuck several times and they would not even put a sign on it, elevator inspection was way overdue. The fire extinguishers were out of date. No signs at pool cautioning there was no life guard. When we asked to speak with manager, we were told we could not speak with the manager. Worst place I have stayed for the price we paid, by the way it was $410.00 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkirtley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We went to this motel to be at a wedding on the beach during our stay the rooms did not stay cool at nite the motel had to have fans blowing on the elevator componets and got stuck in the elevator for at least five minutes when the elevator finally took off again from the bottom floor carring us back up the fourth floor where we started to begin with it felt like the elevator was dropping every time we passed a floor when we talked to the hotel staff they acted like it was funny and it happrned all the time could not talk to the manager building inspection was out of date and when we finnally got to talk to the manager she said it was not her problem and we needed to gat some common sense ( by the way there was 2 small childern on the elevator when this happened ) this was going on all weekend and noone seemed to care that we had several elderly people there for the wedding that was staying on the 2nd,and 3rd floor that had to get in this elevator also

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryharvey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
2.6 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
699 reviews
1.7 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 South Padre Island
Super 8 South Padre Island
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn & Suites

Address: 901 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range: $38 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Bay Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Bay Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Inn And Suites
Blue Bay Hotel South Padre Island
Knights Inn South Padre Island
Bayview Hotel South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing