We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 South Padre Island
Reviewed January 18, 2006

The Super 8 Hotel in South Padre, TX, is a pretty good deal in winter: the rooms are fairly large and clean, some have jacuzzi tubs, and they have a daily complimentary happy hour in the lobby. Additionally, the manager is quite a nice and reasonable fellow--there was a discrepancy between the price quoted to me by my travel agent and the price the hotel was going to charge me. The manager diplomatically handled the situation and charged me the lesser price. I would go back again.

16  Thank abc4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2006

I CAME BACK !!!

After many winters in Florida, my first experience with South Padre Island was last winter. My elderly parents, who joined me, still speak highly of their stay at the Super 8. Although Dad's failing health no longer permits any travel, I notice how his eye's light up at the mention of the Super 8.

Josh (the Manager) his wife and staff made my parents stay as comfortable as possible. They were very acommodating and understanding of Dad's limitations.

Without hesitation, I returned this year alone (regretably) to a very warm and personal welcome by Josh and Usha.

The accomodations, cleanliness, affordablility, facilities, beach, sand dunes, great weather, and friendly staff/locals make this place a hidden jewel. I no longer desire the costs, crowds, crime and unpredictable weather of Florida.

I've scouted out the area and spoken to others and confirmed that the Super 8 is by far SPI's best kept secret. The number of regular's that return each year for extended stay's speak's volume's. Need I say anymore?

Happy travel's,
Steve
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

14  Thank PMOL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, Ohio
18
Reviewed January 6, 2006

This is our third year to stay at the Super 8 here on S. Padre Island. Each year we have stayed longer--a month this time. The manager and his wife are so friendly. There is a happy hour each afternoon with snacks, drinks, and even little sandwiches. This provides a great opportunity to get acquainted with other guests and learn from their experiences about the area. This sharing has increased our enjoyment of our time here and helped to bring us back year after year. The facilities here are excellent, considering this is an economically-priced motel. We enjoy watching the beautiful sunsets from our balcony overlooking the Luguna Madre; palm trees sway in the breeze and many varieties of birds can be spotted.The motel's mid-island location makes it an ideal spot from which to explore. We have checked other motels on the island but none come close to this "home away from home".

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, Texas
16
Reviewed November 16, 2005

I'd like to thank the Front Desk staff for their friendly service and helpful information. I'd especially like to thank Estela.

She made sure that I had the correct directions, and helped me get to the motel with no problem. I called her several times throughout my route to the motel and she did not mind making sure I was still on track. She gave me precise information! She's a very lovely girl.

Wendy helped me in the day with useful information on dining and activities.

The housekeeping made sure that my room was touched up everyday. I received clean towels everyday. Thank you girls.

I will definitely stay again. I look forward to seeing the staff on other occasions.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1311 Seminole Drive, Riuchardson,Texas
16
Reviewed October 18, 2005

Have stayed at Super 8 units around the Country for last 25 years and we want you to know we believe this S.Padre Is. location overall is one of the best
we have used.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Antonio, Texas
14
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Definetly enjoyed my stay at the Super 8 on South Padre Island. The hotel staff was great, and the rooms were wonderful. It is close to the beach and the hotel offered a great pool area as well. Breakfast was a great start to our long drive home --thanks

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago
16
Reviewed October 3, 2005

i recently went on a trip to south padre island, and i had one of the most pleasant stays at the super 8 on south padre island. the room i had was great and spacious very clean. the front desk staff was very knowledgeable of the area,breakfast was great always stocked up,and besides the redtide my stay was wonderful all in all it was a great stay for me and my wife. i will be back!!!!!!!!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,614 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $36 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing