We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“November stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 South Padre Island
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Woodville, Wisconsin
1 review
“November stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My sister and I along with our husbands switched hotels to the super 8 with the kitchens, very happy with our stay there. Very clean and the staff very helpful. Nice location to the restaurants and had a pool and hot tub. Only thing that would have made it better was the weather, a little windy but warm enough 70's. Had a wonderful time!!

Room Tip: Room 109 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you switched to the Super 8. There are many other budget properties on SPI but most do not compare to our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    158
    66
    40
    42
See reviews for
156
162
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

trip was excellent although the weather wasnt so pleasant, i still had a good time. the staff here at this motel were very friendly and attentive. I was afraid of one review i had seen about the room being smelly but had no complaints myself. Came here for a wedding from england and enjoyed every minute of this paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayub p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights... We booked 5 nights and didn't even want to stay the entire trip because the hotel smelled like moldy mint and the staff was unfriendly and didn't seem to have a clue. Honestly pay the extra a night and stay somewhere else. I read all the good and bad reviews before I went on the trip and ignored the bad reviews..... I should have listened to the bad reviews....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciaramarie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Sorry you had an issue with your room. In the future please contact the front desk immeadiately upon noticing any issue. We should not have any mold issues as we have tile floors (no carpet because of mold in a coastal environment) and no sheet rock. Our walls, ceiling are all concrete. But whatever you smelled we could have moved you to a different room while investigating the source of the odor. We would like to earn your business but where ever you stay please contact the front desk as soon as possible instead of making the issue known at check out or later. Thanks, MK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights, was clean and cool. Quiet at night and got a very good nights sleep. We stayed in a double room very spacious for the family and staff were very polite and helpful. Surrounding area was lovely and the community are very friendly and approachable.

In all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackbrown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at a great rate, but the room was just okay.
++Positives: Very large room with 2 beds, had a very nice refrigerator, smallish flat screen TV with HBO and a microwave. The lobby was clean and nice, and they had a nice area for borrowing books and games. It was chilly, so I didn't check out the pool.
--Negatives: Found a huge cockroach in the bathtub and the faucet where one turns on the shower was coming out of the wall and it was treacherous to turn it on without breaking it! The housekeeping staff never replaced bags for the ice container, nor gave up anymore shampoos or soaps when cleaning the room.
The breakfast was terrible. 2 cinnamon rolls for about a dozen people, absolutely no yogurt in the display; watered down juices and terrible coffee. The hotel staff in the morning was less than helpful at the breakfast area. I asked if they could put some yogurt in the yogurt display area for choice and they said they get around to it, when another staff member showed up! Rude and I never did get yogurt and of course, by this time the cinnamon rolls were gone and not replaced.

Room Tip: Some rooms are remodeled with cute bars in the room...ours didn't have this...ask to see the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharyland, Owner at Super 8 South Padre Island, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Sorry that you did not have a great stay. If you look at our competitors in our price range we have a better breakfast than they do. Guessing most people that want a restuarant style breakfast would take the money they save by staying with us and use that money at a restuarant of thier choice. Please check out our competition many of whom do not have a breakfast room if they do it is much smaller than ours and they offer less than we do. Please contact the front desk as soon as you notice anything wrong with your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My experience at this hotel was great. The receptionist was very helpful. Don't remember the young gentleman's name. I believe it was Eric but anyways. The options for breakfast were better than other hotels that serve continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zomby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#20 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.9 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Property: Super 8 South Padre Island
Address: 4205 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing