We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great motel. The rooms are gigantic and fully...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 South Padre Island
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Reviewed January 26, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DR THOMAS A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 South Padre Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 516 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a nice room complete with table and chairs, couch, queen beds , fridge and microwave. Staff were friendly and helpful. The super continental breakfast was fairly standard. They also hosted a happy hour at 5:00 p.m. with popcorn, nachos, pop and wine. Our only issue was the morning noise. Luckily we planned to get up early anyway but the winter texans gather for their coffee by 6:30 and start talking then (if not before). The manager did apologize to us for the noise. We were located right next to the breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in you might ask the front desk what is the best room for that
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyDArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed over the MLK holiday. The property was very well kept. This may be the nicest hotel we've stayed at in this price range. The $25 per night pet fee almost knocked our rating down a notch. There was no protein on the free breakfast menu. In the wintertime, the hotel is full of snowbirds. The only difficulty with that is we had the room next to the breakfast area, which was full at 6:30 am. If you want to sleep in during the winter weekends, don't take an inside room. But the staff was very nice and everything looked great.

Room Tip: Room 300 is right by the front desk and breakfast room. It's very convenient, but also very loud...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregturcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Addie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great value for a stay on the Island. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Shower and bath tub we good. Bed was comfortable. Noise was minimal. Only down side was the hot tub was cold. Washer and dryer also functioned well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellatravelingshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank DonAR210
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

South Padre Island is a possible winter retreat over Xmas vacation. Though cold snaps occur frequently, usually there are enough warm days to make a good Xmas vacation. By closely monitoring weather forecasts one can determine when to go. However, there are usually strong and unpleasant winds and the surf is too cold for swimming. Because of the weather liabilities winter is the off-season and hotel rates are attractive. Over the last decade I have vacationed 6 times at South Padre Island during Xmas vacation and the Super 8 is the only hotel I have returned to.
The Super 8 is an older hotel. It is typical of most lower priced properties in that it does not have much curb appeal. The hotel is non-smoking ( a real plus), and another plus is that this have a large number of cable channels. The rooms are all tile rather than carpet and with the problems with sand and mold this is another plus. Mainteance of the hotel is fair and the rooms are fairly clean.
The breakfast is better than in the past, but still below average. Occasionly a smoker is out in front of the room smoking so this fouls the air of nearby rooms. The management of the hotel gives the impression of trying to grub a few extra dollar from each guest. In my case I found that the reserving the room through the Super 8 number was cheaper than calling the hotel directly. Then they slip an extra $1.50 safe charge on my bill for a safe I never used. If I return to South Padre next Xmas I will consider this hotel, but there is a lot of competition on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#16 of 32 in South Padre Island
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
227 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,595 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 South Padre Island

Address: 4205 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $39 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 South Padre Island 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 South Padre Island Hotel South Padre Island
Super Eight South Padre Island
South Padre Island Super Eight
South Padre Island Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing