We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Super 8 by Wyndham South Padre Island
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$197
$167
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl South Padre(South Padre Island)
$344
$239
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel(South Padre Island)(Great Value!)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Grand Beach Resort(South Padre Island)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort(South Padre Island)
$227
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
196
182
84
48
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
182
84
48
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflescontinental breakfastwinter texansextra towelsthe breakfast areathe wi fioff seasonwould stay againfront desk staffstayed nightshot tubfamily vacationspring breakmotelpadreislandkitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 558 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed over the MLK holiday. The property was very well kept. This may be the nicest hotel we've stayed at in this price range. The $25 per night pet fee almost knocked our rating down a notch. There was no protein on the free breakfast menu. In the wintertime, the hotel is full of snowbirds. The only difficulty with that is we had the room next to the breakfast area, which was full at 6:30 am. If you want to sleep in during the winter weekends, don't take an inside room. But the staff was very nice and everything looked great.

Room Tip: Room 300 is right by the front desk and breakfast room. It's very convenient, but also very loud especially early in the morning.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregturcotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great value for a stay on the Island. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Shower and bath tub we good. Bed was comfortable. Noise was minimal. Only down side was the hot tub was cold. Washer and dryer also functioned well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellatravelingshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

South Padre Island is a possible winter retreat over Xmas vacation. Though cold snaps occur frequently, usually there are enough warm days to make a good Xmas vacation. By closely monitoring weather forecasts one can determine when to go. However, there are usually strong and unpleasant winds and the surf is too cold for swimming. Because of the weather liabilities winter is the off-season and hotel rates are attractive. Over the last decade I have vacationed 6 times at South Padre Island during Xmas vacation and the Super 8 is the only hotel I have returned to.
The Super 8 is an older hotel. It is typical of most lower priced properties in that it does not have much curb appeal. The hotel is non-smoking ( a real plus), and another plus is that this have a large number of cable channels. The rooms are all tile rather than carpet and with the problems with sand and mold this is another plus. Mainteance of the hotel is fair and the rooms are fairly clean.
The breakfast is better than in the past, but still below average. Occasionly a smoker is out in front of the room smoking so this fouls the air of nearby rooms. The management of the hotel gives the impression of trying to grub a few extra dollar from each guest. In my case I found that the reserving the room through the Super 8 number was cheaper than calling the hotel directly. Then they slip an extra $1.50 safe charge on my bill for a safe I never used. If I return to South Padre next Xmas I will consider this hotel, but there is a lot of competition on the island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews