We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Padre Island place”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Unionville, United States
1 review
“South Padre Island place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

OK place to stay. Was there in Off Season, early October. Staff was friendly but not able to help with recommendations about where to get early morning breakfast. The beach at the hotel is nice. The hotel pool is too shallow for any diving.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. We continue to train our staff and improve our level of service to better serve you. We hope that you give us the opportunity on your next visit to South Padre Island.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    402
    296
    185
    130
See reviews for
560
507
33
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Experience the friendly staff. A very clean place to lay your head, and great food on the plates. It's great for couples, family, and great for business. This is a place we would enjoy returning to. Ladies check out the Sapphire, you'll enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay and I am happy to hear you enjoyed clean rooms with New Beds our great food. We have a beautiful Ocean Front View and South Padre Island is a year round destination for everyone to enjoy. I hope you visited the Sapphire Spa which is Managed by our Property. We want to continue to be your choice hotel when planning your next getaway.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldthwaite, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband, two children (9 and 3), and I recently stayed here for a week. We booked the King Parlor Suite. I was skeptical as there was not a good picture of that room on their website and I definately wanted the room to be spacious enough for us all. The room was actually two adjoining rooms which was fine. It was actually better than expected as each room had it's own bathroom! Upon arrival the rooms looked very nice. The furnishings are good and the room was clean. Only after closer inspection do you begin to notice that the rooms are pretty old. However, the housekeeping crew did a great job of keeping the hotel clean and smelling fresh. The best parts of this hotel were -the location (right on the water!) This condo is on the "quieter" end of the island with only a few large condos nearby. It is also near Schlitterbahn. further down the island it is very crowded due to lots of condos, hotels, and residential areas. -the pool (large!!! with lots of shallow areas for toddlers and a seperate kiddie pool) - the room service was very good quality and was fairly priced -the service was very good (everyone made you feel that you were their number one priority). Overall it was very nice. We were able to have a nice, quiet, enjoyable, and relaxing vacation. Lots of fun things to do on the island. Our favorites were Sea Turtle Inc., Schlitterbahn, and the Birding Center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your experience. The King Parlor is a great Suite with the separate living area. I do want to inform you we also have One and Two Bedroom Condos with full Kitchen and Living Areas in the Hotel. Our Director of Housekeeping Rosalinda takes great pride in Training her hardworking associates to provide a high level of service. Our Ocean Front Property has a beautiful relaxing pool and all the kids love the Kiddie Pool with the Mr. Frog. We continue to improve our hotel and we want to welcome you back on your next visit to South Padre Island and be your choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Pearl. The restaurant food was great, waitstaff were great and room service was fast. Our room was on the 10th floor, facing north, so we had a great view of the entire length of the island. The room was a little small, but we did not spend much time in it. The pool had a heated area around the swim up bar and the hot tub was very relaxing. You can sit in the restaurant and watch the waves coming onto the beach. The staff was friendly with one exception. We found a baby seagull on the beach and they were reluctant to let the Animal Rescue Staff have a hotel towel to wrap it in. Even after the staff member told them they would return the towel :( A couple of other things to be aware of - Valet Parking is $10.00 per day and the water in your room is $8.00 for 2 bottles. Other charges include a $50.00 per day incidental costs that are refunded if you don't charge anything to your room. We got a great rate since it was the off-season ($87.00). The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on and the room was nice and clean. I would stay at the Pearl again.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view. If you want a view of the ocean you must be on the North or East...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkwickedangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Our Staff & Management thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay. We have great restaurant staff that takes really good care of our guests and fantastic food in the Beachside Bar & Grille Restaurant with Ocean Front View. The Palapa Bar is opened during the high season but the heated section area is always opened. We continue to train our staff to better serve our guests and the towel would have to be disposed since we would not be able to reuse. We offer our guests Valet at a low cost of $10.00 and the bottle water is for convenience to guests needs and the $50.00 incidentals is standard for all Full Service Hotels. We offer great rates and packages during the off peak months and we are so happy to hear you took advantage of the great rates. We are also in the process of replacing all the mattresses in our hotel and we are delighted to hear they are comfortable. We want to continue to be your choice hotel for your next getaway.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The beds are very uncomfortable. Room is so humid the tile floor gets very, very slippery. Lobby and grounds are beautiful. The swimming pool and pool bar are nice. Beach area was ok. I will only go back if it is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We continue to make improvements to the hotel and one of them is replacing all the mattresses which we have started. I would like to inform you that the humidity accumulates due the environment and when the balcony door is left opened. We take all comments and concerns very seriously and our Management Team will continue look at this issue to better serve you. We hope that you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to make your next getaway a great one.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

San Antonio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The outdoor pool area was very nice with the tall palm trees overhead- very neat and well kept. It was just a short distance to the ocean from the pool area. The room was bigger than expected and very comfortable. Thanks so much for our memorable experience! We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Guest Relations Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and we exceeded your expectations. We thank you for taking the time and for sharing your experience. We hope we continue to be your choice hotel and be able to serve you on your next visit to beautiful South Padre Island.

Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very poor customer service. Make sure if you do late check out, get your key revalidated the same time you request. Otherwise, the front desk would make you come back to ground floor and get it revalidated as key will not work after 1200noon even though you have requested for late checkout. AC in room is very loud. I am sure it is more than allowed decibels for accommodation standard. Very difficult to sleep. Mould in the room. Dirty balcony. Balcony does not get cleaned everyday. Or at least it felt like that. Bath eminities were not refilled daily. Coffee and coffee cups were not provided or refilled. I had to ask for coffee and condiments on the day of check-in. It was very surprising not to have coffee and condiments on the day I checked-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dhaval Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Property: Pearl South Padre
Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing