We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cypress, Texas”
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cypress, Texas”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

beautiful grounds and good location, however hotel is not maintained well......NOT WORTH THE PRICE, but hear everything in SPI is like this......it's too bad they won't paint and update carpet, etc.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tammy1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    413
    304
    189
    137
See reviews for
587
522
33
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Sadly we are checking out today, Aug 5, 2013. We had an amazing stay! The staff is very friendly and always helpful! Easy Beach and Pool access! Amazing buffets, although a bit pricy for the Average family. Bring your own chairs and Beach Umbrella...they charge daily for them, and a utility cart is very helpful in getting all your beach things down there! We went to walmart in Padre and bought a 9ft sport tent, couldnt have stayed all day at the beach without it! Might be helpful to being a rubber mallet! We brought our own drinks (beer too) and snacks to save a bit! A double bed room easily fits an air mattress! We had two adults and three teens! Wifi could be faster but it works. Overall, we will be back next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else! Enjoy your vacay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelAnnEtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was better 2 years ago. Poor maitenance. Old rooms or such a high price. Good view of Ocean but the bathrooms and blaconies need maitenance. Housekeeping poor. Also they promise microwaves but it is upon request and they ended not providing it. Food offer by the pool area is too pricey. They only good thing is guads by the pool to control people sneaking in but that was all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank lorenac369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We had confirmed reservations for july25 till 28. On arrival we were our reservations did not exist. Luckily I still had on my iPhone. After an hour or more the manager of the day was able to find us a room. We reserved a deluxe king suite gulf front and received a gulf view from the side regular room. I was very disappointed but tried not to let it ruin our trip. The room was comfortable and cool. We had no balcony chairs. We call to have some delivered and was told it was doubtful any were available. However, the same Manager arrived in awhile with chairs in toe. Cudos to her. When I called to have a bellman come for our luggage as we were leaving. The message button lite up and there was a message from the coordinator for the hotel for our event. She apologized and offered us a reduced rate on our room or better yet A 2 BEDROOM CONDO for the extent of our stay. Wow! Would that have been nice. Maybe a personal call (cellphone) could defused all issues.

Having said all this the hotel is nice and light and airy. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were soft and lovely.

The staff was mostly great. The Bell Staff is really great. These young men were all happy to see us, most gracious and extremely pleasant. We had gone shopping and came from the parking loaded down with lots of heavy bags. One young man came rushing up to us with a cart to help with our new treasures. He helped us to our room and unloaded each bag onto the bed. Thank you for a wonderfully trained Bell staff.

All in all we did have a nice time. On your next visit to Pearl be sure to try the omelette station at breakfast. They are wonderful and so is the young lady preparing them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank citten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently visited South Padre Island for our family vacation. After searching quite a bit we chase the pearl for its location, as well as the pictures of the property. We got here and were excited to see the ocean in the background. After leaving the lobby on way to the room I started noticing towels laying around on things. Puddles if dirt and water collecting in the elevators, trash etc. Our room was the "luxury" suite. The room stinks of mildew, there is dust and dirt all over the ceiling. The bathtub has chips out of the paint. It was so disappointing I immediately booked us for another place for the remainder of the trip. The pool is old,outdated with mildew on steps. There was food on the ground like oranges, etc. hair clumps etc floating in the water and strung out on steps. I could go on and on on this place. Rather than doing all that, I figured I would write a review, which I will mention, I usually do NOT do. I travel frequently for business and the like. Don't waste your money here. There are plenty of other choices. The people are short. Check in was late. We bought the family package and that was not fulfilled. Won't be back here.......ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrich2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived and were able to get to our room before 3PM that was a plus. Overall not many pluses as far as the hotel goes. I have never been to a hotel with more rules. There more things you could not do than you could do. I have never been anywhere where the first rule to go into the pool is that if you have a communicable disease you should not enter the pool.. The pool towel situation was terrible. There were never any towels and you could not take them to the ocean and yet when we went to the ocean there were plenty. We consistently complained with no results. The air conditioner on the balcony was streaming water so the balcony was always filled with water. There were such heavy stained marks on the wall under our room it was easy to figure out that the air conditioner was leaking forever like that - nothing done. The first morning we were there the alarm went off in the hotel there was an emergency and everyone had to walk down the stairs to the lobby. Then when I returned to the room I put a privacy tab outside the room only a few minutes later did the Maid start pounding on the door and walked in and insisted she needed to clean the room. Of course very difficult to communicate with her as she only spoke Spanish. Next morning we vacated the room early so the maid could clean the room and it still wasn't cleaned by 2PM. For the price we expected much more. Overall the staff were not real friendly with the exception of the valet service but even there if you arrived after hours the security staff tending to the cars and they were not friendly. We will never be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jerezaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. The pool is also really nice.

It was always VERY humid inside the hotel, even on the upper floors (we stayed on 10th). We cranked our A/C down to 60 and it never really got cool in the room. It was up near 100' outside though. The cleaning crew took our dirty towels one day and did not replace them. They also left us with no toilet paper. We had to call down to the front desk and wait for them to bring us some before we could shower or use the restroom.

On a good note, everyone was very friendly. Pretty much everyone we encountered inside and out of the hotel were friendly.

Don't expect too much in the quality of food on South Padre Island. However, I would recommend CapNRoys (doesn't look like much from the outside, but VERY good) and even better than that was Gabrielle's Italian. You MUST try the homemade macaroni and cheese. Delicious! We went back two nights in a row for that. Other than those two restaurants, everything was just okay and very pricey.

Room Tip: We booked the King bed room with a sleeper sofa for our two kids. The sleeper sofa was not a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Michelle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marisa C, Director of Sales at Pearl South Padre, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. We are in the process of updating our AC units which should help when it is very hot and humid. We hope that when you do come back to the Island, you will give us another opportunity. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
496 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Property: Pearl South Padre
Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing