We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pearl South Padre to your Saves list
Pearl South Padre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited South Padre the week after Memorial Day and I expected a crowd but we were pleasantly surprised by the light turnout. The reviews on the Pearl were spotty but we decided to try it, and no regrets. I liked the tile floors throughout the ground floor and especially in our room. I've been in hotels by the beach with carpet and wow, you are walking on a goopy mess of sand and spilled drinks. Tile cleans slick as a whistle. The standard room has a couch and a small table. I would have preferred to have some kind of desk for the laptop, there was just a little pullout shelf. I guess we had a newish mattress because it was very comfortable. We were on the 7th floor and liked the nice view from the balcony. I could hear people in the adjacent rooms at times, the soundproofing was less than optimal. I asked for a wakeup call and nobody called me, but fortunately I had set a backup alarm. Room cleaning was really early, if you sleep in you may need to tell the maid service working its way down the hall that you want a touchup on your room, otherwise your have to call the front desk for some fresh towels at least.

The pool is very good. They even played well-chosen music there. The hotel is in a great location at the south of the island and near a lot of good restaurants and places you will want to sightsee. The rooms are not cheap but this is a nice hotel. You can stay at a Motel 6 for less than 1/3 of the price but its a small nasty room many blocks from the beach and no pool, take your pick.

Its a short boardwalk directly to the beach and a convenient shower on your way back. There is a swim-up bar but the drinks are expensive. We took a small rollaround cooler with us as checkin luggage and stocked it with our own adult beverages purchased at a nearby store. The room had a minifridge, the nearby icemaker worked, each floor has a coin laundry room. The hotel is 12 stories and I would have liked an observation room up top, no dice.

The beach at South Padre is luxuriously broad and clean - and it is all public. We saw chairs and umbrellas in front of the hotel and figured they were for us, but not so unless you pay extra. Only about a sawbuck but I felt like they should have been included with the price of the room. People walking down the beach sometimes tried to claim chairs, the concession nazi would assiduously run them off which made for occasional drama.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    343
    258
    163
    117
See reviews for
488
450
29
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I pulled up to the hotel and was chased down by the bellman in a golf cart offering a ride to the front desk. Excellent. I then checked in, late on a Wednesday, and was upgraded to a king suite by the great front desk ladies. The room was fantastic, the bellman carried luggage to room and retrieved ice for me. I couldn't find anything wrong, so I went looking. The only thing I could find was a peice of chipped tile in the sitting room (minor). Changed into swim trunks and hit the pool.
Awesome. Hot tub, perfect, pool temp, great as it was divided between warmer water at the swim p bar and cooler in the main pool. Staff, cleanliness, beach amennities, all great, until it was time to sleep. It was the absolute worst mattress I had ever slept on period. I sunk so deep in that bed it was like sleeping on a "V" I even went out and tried to sleep on the tiny sofa.
Never slept. bad headache. Isn't the bed the reason we pay a hotel? O.k., I'm venting because I was mad. In their defense, I looked over the balcony in the morning and saw new mattresses being loaded into their dock area. I hope they have the mattresses changed out now because I would like to recommend this hotel and use it again as the people and venue are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twelveiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

You will truly enjoy the size of the rooms. The food is ok. Service could be better. Not sure if its because Im so spoiled by hotels out of the states that tend to give better service. Overall it is nice.

Room Tip: get a room that has a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff at the Pearl South Padre were exceptional. All were very friendly and accommodating. Location was wonderful - beachfront - with a short walk via boardwalk to the beach. The pool, hot tub, swim up bar were all very nice.

We only ate one item from the restaurant, and it was quite tasty. Bar drinks, on the other hand, needed some improvement. Our drinks were mediocre and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V1Ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Pearl during Memorial Day Weekend, only planned on staying 2 night but stayed an extra night. I had mixed feeling after reading some of the bad reviews but don't know what people could complain about. The hotel staff was very, very friendly all the time. Even know many guests were tracking sand and water through the hotel, they were always on top of it, mopping the areas. I can only describe the beds as sleeping on fluffy white clouds, SO comfortable. I will say the pull out couch is not comfortable at all. I will be returning I was so pleased with the staff, food, location, and price. They even provided lemonade and cookies to watch fireworks over the bay one evening, what a wonderful surprise. My friend and I brought our little dogs and they were very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mr. & Mrs. Lou Vasquez Mesquite Tx. 5/22/13 - 5/25/13

My wife and I went to Padre to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. We hadn't stayed here since it was the Sheraton but we decided to check out the Pearl after all these years, considering we had been coming here for the past 18 years. We were not disappointed!! From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a friendly greeting and alot of familiar surroundings but with a fresh new look. our room was on the 9th floor looking over towards the bay and of course the gulf. it had a very nice view since we always use to stay overlooking the pool and the room was just awesome and of course those wonderful beds. To mine and my wife's surprise we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries courtesy of Ms. Lisa Garcia and the Pearl staff. And on Friday we were treated to dinner in the hotel by the asst., mgr. Raul!!
Of course everything else was as we remembered since this place has so many wonderful memories for me and my family. my wife and I just reminisced about all the times we spent with our own children and even our grandchildren. The Pearl did not disappoint but delivered everything my wife and I were hoping for. THANK YOU staff for making our stay another one for the memory book.
We plan to celebrate our 25th Silver Anniversary here next year with a renewing of vows and ALL our children and Grandchildren here. Thank You once again for helping us create new memories. God Bless

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VasquezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had a training seminar for Court here and was very pleased. First time in South Padre. It was cloudy & rainy. I was a little confused when I got there because I wasn't sure where check in was. Once I found it everything was great. The lady who checked me in was Very friendly. Check in was fast and accurate. I had booked an extra night before and they made it so I didn't have to move the next night with my group. The beds were awesome!!!! Room was clean. We were served lunch while at our training by the hotel and it was great. Had a great view from my balcony of the ocean. It was a great trip next year I will stay the whole week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LipseyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
La Copa Inn Beach Hotel
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Property: Pearl South Padre
Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing