We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good... but not great....”
Review of Pearl South Padre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pearl South Padre
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel was previously the Sheraton. It has been revamped; however, it still needs work. The first room we stayed in, the air conditioning did not work. We were moved to another room, which was identical to the first. The room smelled musty, furniture was stained, etc. Took at least five minutes for water to get hot in the shower, even longer in the sink. Phone did not work, no drain plug in the tub. Both issues were reported, the tub was fixed, the phone wasn't. Pool/Hot tub area was beautiful- Drink prices were extremely too high $5.50 for a 12 oz canned beer. Pool towel process was annoying - signing towels in and out. Our room door was left open by hotel staff.. thankfully nothing was taken. Would think twice about returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaraA401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hotel management will allow you this type of obnoxious behavior. They will only kick you out if you are breaking a law. Apparently disturbing the peace is not on their list of laws. My wife and I had to change rooms @ 3 am because of a wild & noisy party in the connecting room next door. They allowed the party to go on while we lost three hours sleep and had to change rooms in the middle of the night. I had to get the key to the new room myself from the desk and the clerk who rented the room to my noisy neighbors said to me "I knew they were trouble when they checked in." Totally ruined one day of a two day dance competition I paid $4,000 to attend there at the Pearl. The hotel has shown no remorse and I only got to speak to the fool who allowed this situation to continue. Hell Raisers book your reservations now before they go into bankruptcy for running off guests who stayed there to get some sleep!

Room Tip: Bring your boombox!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaChaFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlSouthPadre, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

While we always appreciate any guest feedback - either positive or negative - this review unfortunately does not paint a full picture of this guests stay with us. While he did experience an issue with a noisy neighbor, on his first call to the front desk, we asked the room next door to quiet down, which they complied with, as well as offered to move him to a different room which he accepted. The guest also spoke with our Director of Operations during his time at the hotel and was able to address his concerns. We do everything we can to ensure every guest leaves the hotel satisfied, and are upset that we were not able to accomplish that in this case. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel was in bad shape. I believe the positive reviews are from the staff. If you are reading these reviews notice the same negative comments about this hotel over and over again. They were spot on with our stay. The hotel rooms are dirty, rusted lamps, stained chairs, broken tiles, black mold in shower, and on air conditioner. Our vacation at south padre was ruined by our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sturedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlSouthPadre, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

TripAdvisor has a very strict policy and monitoring system in place to identify and remove false reviews. We do not have our staff or anyone associated with us writing a review of our hotel. We are working our way through the rooms to ensure they are all updated, and appreciate your comments regarding your room and will get these corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Pearl a long weekend just before school started with our grand daughter and had the fantastic time. The staff was vey friendly and the apartment was clean. The pool and swim up bar was amazing. At lunch they made amongst other items the longest hot dogs I have ever seen.
The beach was just a few steps away.
We rented a 2 bedroom apartment with pool and gulf view and could not have been happier. There are so many things to do in South Padre, we will be back again.

Room Tip: we saw the regular rooms sometimes when some one left the door open on their way out and found they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed at the Pearl last weekend for a conference. I was there Weds-Sun in a condo. Free parking outside was great, check in was easy. The condo was nice and spacious - 2 bedroom/2 bath, kitchen, dining, living room and a large balcony overlooking the gulf & pool.
As many places are down on the gulf coast, it was nice, but well worn and not newly renovated. The air conditioner in my room barely worked. There was actually a window unit - haven't seen that in years in a hotel. The window unit in the living room was really loud, but worked. I slept well and the conference spaces were really comfortable. I did see a giant roach on the snacks table next to the brownies & cookies at the conference break time. Ruined my snack time - couldn't eat. That was the only sign I saw the entire time there of any bug problems.

The walk to the beach was short and fantastic - the pool was nice and warm from the great temperatures outside, and the swim up bar was nice.

Free WiFi was a nice plus - worked well!

Hotel restaurant food was good - nothing amazing, but it was good.

Great restaurants nearby, and easy walk to dolphin tours. The conference food was pretty good (breakfast was the best), and the banquet staff was very attentive.

I would possibly stay here again, though I think some renovations need to happen to really up the quality level.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fotopunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a honeymoon here at the beginning of July. We had just moved to Texas and thought this would be an affordable place to spend a week. If only we had known all the issues that would arise, we would have gone elsewhere.

The problems started at check-in. My father-in-law faxed a credit card authorization to the hotel two week prior to our arrival. However, upon check-in, they had somehow lost that authorization. With him in MA, we had to wait until he was able to get home and fax a new one. Additionally, the hotel's fax machine was having trouble receiving faxes a that time, which led to us waiting almost two hours to check-in.

After all the wait, we were finally given our room keys. When we opened the door, we were more than a little disappointed. Several floor tiles were cracked, the patio table was cracked, there were (what appeared to be) new water stains on the ceiling with what resembled mold, and the bathtub was dirty and worn out. We were not going to accept this on our honeymoon.

The next day, we were allowed to move rooms. The second room was run down, but without the cracked items and water-related flaws. We were going to try to just make the best of it. This is when we discovered how lax the pet policy was. We were forced to listen to dogs in the surrounding rooms bark at each other from morning until evening. Judging by the time that dogs were barking, we could only assume that the owners were leaving their dogs in the room while they left to go elsewhere. When we brought it up to the staff, they said they would look into it because that was not permitted. After two complaints but no improvement, we could only guess how serious our complaint was. We hoped to spend more time in our room on our honeymoon, but that was anything but a relaxing atmosphere.

We tried once more to find something positive about the honeymoon, but struggled to find much. There were straws floating in the pool because of the swim-up bar. Sand coated the bottom and the water was cloudy. The hot tub was just as dirty. While we came here for the ocean, we were hoping to relax in the pool/hot tub as well, but that plan failed.

After four nights, we were finished with trying to find the best in this honeymoon and left a day early. There were other additional things we wish we had known prior to deciding on this as the place to go. The lobby was always slippery due to people running in and out. While this in inevitable, it could have been attended to much better. Also, the restaurant's prices are much higher than we expected, and they charge extra to the credit card (in the event that you don't tip). We were told it could take up to a week to have that money credited back to our account. The Sunday morning brunch was the only good meal we had on the entire island. It included unlimited mimosas and everything you could possibly want from a breakfast buffet, plus more. However, we found it impossible to eat $40 worth of food apiece, but considering how every other restaurant around (even Dairy Queen) had either messed up on our order or check, we were willing to pay a lot for one decent dining experience.

One final thing I feel is important to note is that prior to making reservations, we called ahead and asked when renovations were last performed. We were told that many renovations were conducted when the hotel switched owners, and it was stated in a way that we were led to assume we would see the outcome of a renovated hotel. Experience show us that that in order to receive this benefit we would have had to book a suite, not one of the regular rooms. I was skeptical of this place after reading other reviews, but we decided to overlook all the warning signs. This was our fault for being optimistic.

Given a couple years, this place may work on all of these issues. The hotel has excellent location and could really use that to their advantage. However, location is only a small fraction of a vacation for those of us wanting more than a stereotypical Spring break experience. We have made sure to inform anyone we talk to about our dissatisfaction in the hotel, and we have no intentions of ever returning. We hope to find a honeymoon redo location when my husband returns from his deployment that followed not long after we left our honeymoon.

Room Tip: If you want a room that is not run down, pay extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlSouthPadre, E-Commerce Manager at Pearl South Padre, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel, and we apologize that this stay did not meet your expectations. We have been working very hard to correct these issues and over the last few months have made great improvements. We are disappointed that your honeymoon stay did not live up to the expectations that you had or that we have set for ourselves. We know that if you are able to come and stay with us again you will see the vast improvements that have been made. We thank you for your feedback and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This hotel was awesome. Had great service and people we nice and happy to help u. Everything was very clean. R room was so nice. What a great job on all the upgrades.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payj4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
241 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
242 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl South Padre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl South Padre

Address: 310 Padre Boulevard, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501 (Formerly Sheraton South Padre Island Beach Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: $111 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl South Padre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the island's southern tip, the Pearl South Padre is a premier oceanfront resort for families and couples who want to experience tranquil views and soft sand beaches in South Texas. Warm rays of sunshine and tropical breezes await your arrival. From the moment you drive down the palm tree lined brick road and discover our lush landscaping and pristine beaches, you'll know why the Pearl South Padre is South Texas' "Best on the Beach" resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Pearl South Padre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl South Padre Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island Sheraton
Sheraton South Padre Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing